We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical Paradise”

Woody's Rum Bar & Island Grill
Ranked #433 of 2,007 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, American, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Woody's menus has something for everyone including some pretty adventurous menu options. the view from the glassed in 3 rd floor dining and lounge is water front and is probably the best view in Fells. The island the and decor creates an enjoyable dining experience and a fun and full social screen for cocktails with friends

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Srmille12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“adorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is nothing to look at; in some respects it reminded me of the actual Caribbean because of the mismatched plastic chairs & the table tops set atop old 50 gallon drums painted with palm fronds. It was so . . . kitchy, . . . contrived, . . . unpretentious, . . . . I don’t know what the right word is . . . but it was fun & it worked. It must be a blast in the summer. If we lived closer, I know we’d be taking advantage of the weekday specials.

The idea that you have to go through Slainte to get here & the option for “something” different in terms of cuisine intrigued us. Honestly if I hadn’t read the add in the Baltimore tourist guide I grabbed at the rest area in Delaware we never would have found this hidden gem. The food was tasty & cheap but the portions are on the small side. I had enough to eat but somebody with a larger appetite might not be satisfied with just an entrée.

My ciaprianna tasted a bit watered down but I was glad I could bring it downstairs when we went to the Irish pub after dinner. My husband was disappointed that he couldn’t get a Guinness upstairs; but we’ll know to grab him one on the way up next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
182 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stopped in on Sunday evening and enjoyed the Mojitos and nachos special. Great location with a great view of the water and surrounding area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Attkica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, md
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“drinks with a view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

shame it is not a little bigger. but the drinks are good and the tuna sandwich is great. nice place to hang out, enjoy the scenery, and just relax. alot of steps!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6stringer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun in evenings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Tropical drinks (cheap rum's though) but tasty! Fried pub food was ok but over-fried. It can get HOT and humid up there. A cool evening is nice with the view of drunken Fell's dwellers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Klutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Rum Bar & Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Woody's Rum Bar & Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing