We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Local Pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kooper's Tavern

Kooper's Tavern
Ranked #40 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Cross street: S Broadway
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Local Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been going to Kooper's for the last 3 years, and all I can say is it is consistently the best pub in the city. Great food, great nightly specials, well chosen beer list, often has live music, and friendly bar tenders and wait staff. If you want to watch a game there are plenty of TV's and an upstairs bar/seating area that is fantastic with a view of the water.
It is exactly what a pub should be. There are lots of other pubs in the area, and plenty of new places opening, but this place continues to shine! Not pretentious or trendy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RJLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    144
    38
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We are always looking for a great burger place and this was one of the best we found in Baltimore. They have tons of burgers to choose from and they were excellent. Good beer selection and great atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KVacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“breakfast too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went here around 1130amish and didn't know kooper's had a breakfast/brunch menu! Along with $12 bottomless bloody mary's! My friend and I had the cream of crab soup (very yum without it being too heavy of a creamy soup), the crab dip and the macguiness burger with bacon (I think that's a name of it) which was cooked perfectly! This is my third time here and every times been great!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RV3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Decided to stop for a bite to eat in Fels Point on our way out of Baltimore after visiting a few colleges...randomly chose Kooper's Tavern after reviewing several menu's posted outside the neighborhood's restaurants...Kooper's prices were competitive....our late lunch was very tasty ...we shared excellent crab cakes and the fajitas (Monday's special) were also very good...our server was attentive and the atmosphere welcoming....would definitely return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food in Fells Point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Before boarding the Pirate Ship down the street, our group of 8 dined at Kooper's Tavern. We enjoyed specialty beers and drinks in a fun, atmosphere before dinner. The appetizers purchased great, the spicy chicken wings and the Maryland Crab Soup. Notable entrees included the very good crab cakes, the Kobe burger and the lamburger among others. We were in early but the service was a tad slow.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kooper's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Kooper's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing