We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time was as good as the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Hill Tavern

Blue Hill Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Hill Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Canton
Cross street: Dillon
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd Time was as good as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The beer cheese soup was just as good as I had remembered it. I could really just go here for that alone. The food is great though and the service was fantastic. We went on the last day of a Groupon, so they were busy, but our food was still timely and delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Lockwoods_1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    90
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Blue Hill Tavern is located in a bit of a no-man's land between Canton and Highlandtown, two very different neighborhoods. But it attracts a substantial, hip, younger crowd to its sell designed and attractive space.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food in classy space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate here over the summer restaurant week and had a lovely dinner. To start, the cocktails were good and perfect for late summer with watermelon juice. Our entrees were tasty too-- I especially enjoyed the perfectly cooked and paired softshell crab with corn, caper, and potato accompaniment. And dessert was perfect for summer-- we all got the brown butter cherry tart-- it was just the right amount of sweet and tart. The decor in the restaurant is pretty and modern with blue touches throughout. The tile walls are especially eye-catching. Complimentary valet parking meant we didn't have to search for a place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davisellu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Been here several times--keep coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good interesting stylish food, great service, really neat looking interior given the neighborhood is standard row house Baltimore. We go here regularly and we live about a half hour away. The owner is always smiling and walking around taking note of things, asking if you liked your meal, etc. Definitely is interested in making it a good restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chef_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Upbeat, trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We did not really challenge the kitchen but had an enjoyable dining experience. Came for dinner with my wife on a Monday evening. Sat outside and enjoyed the nice weather and urban sounds. A draft beer and a glass of wine arrived promptly. The chopped salad was nicely done although not exceptional. My wife had the burger. Done medium as requested, served on an onion roll, and accompanied by string french fries. My roast half chicken was good but also not exceptional. The included broccoli and Mac n cheese made it a filling meal! Our server was knowledgable and available without being obtrusive. We've always enjoyed our meals here and I would not hesitate to recommend it to you for a casual night out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Knotoncall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hill Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Blue Hill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing