We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Service, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Service, Great Value”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I got this room from Priceline.com. I was a little hesitant about the hotel at first from reading some reviews about it. First it is a great hotel, it use to be a bank at one point but it was remodeled about a year ago from what the hotel staff told me. The rooms are very clean and the staff could not have been any nicer. I forgot a few items like a razor and shaving cream so the staff gave me them for free. The location in not so great located right off the interstate highway about a mile from the inner harbor. Traveling with a young child I did not want to walk there. The hotel offers a free shuttle anywhere in the city within 1 mile which was great. I did not have to use my own vehicle all weekend nor did I have to pay any parking fees except the $24.00 at the hotel for 2 days. About the parking, they have a small parking lot in which they charge $12.00 a night, but you have to get there early, it is a first come first served parking lot. If you are not lucky enough to park in their lot you will have to pay to park on the street. The street is not too busy and there is a big police presents since there is a police station not too far away. So I believe it is safe to park there. The hotel offers a free breakfast which includes hot items (eggs, sausage, bacon, etc) also juice, milk, fruit, yogurt plus alot more. One down side to the hotel there is no convenience store or pharmacy close by so you will have to pick stuff up before getting to the hotel or venture out on your own in the city. In all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants great service, clean room, and great value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    142
    63
    11
    24
See reviews for
121
108
45
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Our family decided to travel to Baltimore for a short-stay. We have two kids-ages 3 and 1 year old, so we try to choose hotels that suit our needs. This hotel has rooms, junior suites and jacuzzi suites. The hotel was once an old bank-they have done a beautiful job renovating this building!! We are members in their rewards program and as such, were upgraded to a junior suite. They are great if you have small kids, because this room has a separate pull-out couch and TV, besides the huge room with the King-size bed. So parents have a little privacy after the kids go to bed. The shuttle service is awesome because they took us anywhere in Baltimore we wanted to go. We could not have asked for better service from ANY of the staff! I would highly recommend this hotel to families or business people. The only negative was that they do not have a pool, so some families may not like this. Also, they had a good hot breakfast that was included.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbzmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Old bank remodeled into a interesting little hotel. Rooms were good sized with nice design. Area of town was a little dicey but a shuttle can take you to and pick you up within a mile radius, which would cover the inner harbor. Decent breakfast also.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

New, clean hotel for a great price in a terrible location. Staff slow and uneager to help with information but will eventually get around to getting you what you need. This is probably due to understaffing.
Location of hotel is in a neighborhood with high crime adjacent to a bridge that shelters the homeless.
There are few restaurants in the area and too far to walk to inner harbor but, hotel does provide a shuttle.
Our car was broken into and window smashed in hotel parking lot that does not contain any security,including cameras, although the police stated that our car was the 10th this month to be broken into in this lot.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

If you don't need to be directly on the Inner Harbor, I highly reccommend checking out this hotel. I found it on Hotwire.com at $39 a night, **1/2 stars. It was exactly what I was looking for. Very cute, very clean room! Flat screen tv, big closet, big bathroom, a comfy bed, and quiet. Getting a room from Hotwire usually means you're near the elevator, but even so, the ambient noise from the hall was minimal. Also, my room was directly across from the highway - more or less just white noise, nothing intrusive. The hotel itself is off the beaten path, 1 mile in from the Inner Harbor. The area is a little rundown, but I never felt unsafe - I suspect the gentrification of Baltimore will be there soon. It's near the Hopkins campus and there are A LOT of people walking around during the day, with a constant police presence. I did not go down for the complimentary breakfast (630a-9a), but the all day coffee/tea service was good. There is free WiFi in the room, which is convenient, but the connection is unsecured and a little spotty. All in all though, definitely worth keeping in mind if you are looking for a great place to stay in Baltimore.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We absolutely loved the hotel. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all of my requests.

My only concern is the parking lot. There's a God-awful limited amount of parking for the guests. Not everyone will get to pay to park in the small lot. I also felt unsafe with just the lighting. There lot should be monitored via CC circuit. The area is not that great at all.

Overall, I would still stay there again simply because of the staff and beautiful rooms!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1classydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was our second experience at a Holiday Inn Express and it didn't disappoint.

The hotel is a newly renovated historic bank building which gives it a unique feel of a 3 or 4-star hotel. The odd thing is that the immediate surrounding neighborhood that is not that great. Holiday Inn has taken a chance putting the hotel here and so far it seems to have worked.

We did walk over to Inner Harbor and little Italy which was no more than a 10-minute walk. There is a Whole Foods in the Inner Harbor area where you can get some tasty items to take back to the hotel. By the way, the rooms also feature a fridge and microwave.

This hotel features a free and quite decent continental breakfast, with one or two hot items as well. I had cinnamon rolls, eggs and cereal.

The staff was polite and courteous throughout my stay.

There's not much bad I can say about this place. My only complaint was that they wanted an additional $12 to park in what appears to be an unguarded lot in back. You can save the parking fee by parking at a meter across the street after 6pm until 8am. If you are staying during the day, all-day parking at the meter is $8.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterPiper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Address: 221 N Gay St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#27 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in downtown Baltimore is now accepting reservations for arrivals after July 26, 2009. Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Baltimore Downtown is conveniently located off I-83 a block away from the city hall in the heart of the city business and government district. The closest downtown hotel with free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Main Hospital and Medical Center, at the back yard of Merci Hospital, and with easy access to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore National Aquarium, Science Center Museum, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Hospital, Art museum Mount Vernon, Fort McHenry, the Orioles Camden Yard stadium and the Ravens M&T Stadium. Baltimore, Maryland will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of outdoor activities such as Baltimore Zoo, Power Plant night life, Historic Fells Point, Pimlico Horse Race Track. The 1920 historic, elegant building offers 68 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 5 suites equipped with deluxe, new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access.This brand new hotel also features spacious elegant lobby and grand room, Jacuzzi suites, exercise room, business center, meeting room. Stay Smart, we are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing