We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just got back from a three night stay. The staff is very friendly and go out of the way to help their guests. The manager, sales manager, front desk people all chatted with guests and made an effort to ensure the went well. The drivers for the shuttle have great attitudes and make the trip out fun. The shuttle is very convenient and quick. Location is great, an easy walk to Little Italy, the Inner Harbor, or downtown. Very nice lobby, adds character which isn't typical in a Holiday Inn Express. Second time I have stayed and would probably choose them again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anotherhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 512 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed here twice. Convenient to Harbour East, canton, and Inner Harbor. Not too far from Johns Hopkins.

True to most downtown areas in Baltimore, th neighborhood is sketchy. But HIE has private parking, so if you go straigh from your car to your room, you're OK.

Rooms are reclectic because this isa renovated old bank building from early 20th centurty. Furniture is good quality (better than HIE Stadiums). Standard HIE breakfast fare.

Room Tip: ask for a 5th floor room on back of hotel far away from I83 for the quietest location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereUg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well, it once was a bank and still has the vault (behind the front desk) and beautifully restored lobby area. The rooms are typically Holiday Inn Express, though the bathrooms was smaller than some. Location is very convenient for most of the things Baltimore has to offer. Parking is limited and they apparently sometimes issue more placards than they have spots for, though they permitted us to park in a crosswalk when we came in late one night and the spots were all taken. It is apparently on a major ambulance route and the sirens are loud; Friday night I was awakened a couple times; Saturday night not at all. The staff is friendly and efficient; the breakfast is better when they have sausage than when it's microwaved bacon. Surprisingly, the rates are now comparable to the Holiday Inn Inner Harbor, except the parking is cheaper and you don't get breakfast at the Inner Harbor. Bonus: if you're there on a Sunday, you can walk across the street to the Farmer's Market.... We will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Probably less siren noise away from the Fallsway/Gay Street corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tireddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is an older hotel in the downtown area in walking distance to the Inner Harbor. The rooms have been updated with flat screen TV's, and some other updates. The location is good, service & staff were great, but next time I would pay more to stay in a better hotel.

Room Tip: West building was very old and could use some cleaning in the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Boston776,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while getting treatments at Johns Hopkins Hospital, and it suited our needs exactly.The discount offered to Johns Hopkins patients was a nice gesture. The staff was very courteous and helpful, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and well kept, and the free shuttle to and from the hospital made life so easy for us. Each morning we enjoyed the well prepared, tasty breakfast. The shuttle also took us to a great restaurant at the Inner Harbor, which is nearby. The lobby is beautiful. Parking is limited, and the neighborhood isn't very impressive, but the ambiance and comfort of the hotel, the delicious breakfast, and the friendly, efficient, and accommodating staff far out weigh any inconvenience. We will definitely plan to stay at this Holiday Inn Express every time we head to Baltimore for medical reasons or return to visit Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your taking the time to share your most recent experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Holiday Express Baltimore-Downtown was great value for the money with included complimentary breakfast and free shuttle service to downtown locations. The surrounding neighbourhood was a bit on the rough side but the shuttle is free and taxis are affordable in Baltimore. I did end up in a tight spot where I had to walk back to the hotel alone but keeping aware of the surroundings was enough to keep me safe. Service was incredible, everyone was so gracious and helpful even though I arrived early from the airport. Breakfast was great with eggs, bacon, cereal, coffee, pancakes, the works!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the highway are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to your returning to visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Located near downtown Baltimore, The Holiday Inn Express offers free shuttle service to Johns Hopkins Hospital, the Inner Harbor, etc. As my mother had eye surgery at John Hopkins and spent a night recovering there, the Holiday Inn Express is a good choice: free shuttle service, a renovated room and lobby (it was formerly a bank), and a good John Hopkins rate. They offer a free buffet breakfast which includes bacon, breads, cereal, coffee, scrambled eggs, juice, milk, et al. It is not an ideal location for walking but worked for my needs as my focus was on my mother at the hospital. If my mother were to return to the hospital, I'd return to the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the expressway; facing North Front Street or North Gay Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Your comments are very important to us and value your business. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 67 in Baltimore
1,161 reviews
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Address: 221 N Gay St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#27 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $109 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in downtown Baltimore is now accepting reservations for arrivals after July 26, 2009. Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Baltimore Downtown is conveniently located off I-83 a block away from the city hall in the heart of the city business and government district. The closest downtown hotel with free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Main Hospital and Medical Center, at the back yard of Merci Hospital, and with easy access to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore National Aquarium, Science Center Museum, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Hospital, Art museum Mount Vernon, Fort McHenry, the Orioles Camden Yard stadium and the Ravens M&T Stadium. Baltimore, Maryland will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of outdoor activities such as Baltimore Zoo, Power Plant night life, Historic Fells Point, Pimlico Horse Race Track. The 1920 historic, elegant building offers 68 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 5 suites equipped with deluxe, new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access.This brand new hotel also features spacious elegant lobby and grand room, Jacuzzi suites, exercise room, business center, meeting room. Stay Smart, we are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing