We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Shuttle to all area attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free Shuttle to all area attractions”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place may be a wee bit far from the local attractions, but the free shuttle is eager to take you and pick you up. The rooms are spacious, clean and updated. The free breakfast had a good variety, from sausage, eggs, pancakes, to fruit and yogurt. The staff is amazing......everyone from the front desk to the driver to the maids was very friendly and eager to help. There is a $12 a day parking fee for their lot, but parking on the street on weekends is free! The fact that this is set in an old bank adds to the experience......gorgeous lobby, and great to see the old safe in use. The old letter drop outside the elevator adds a "quaInt-ness"

Room Tip: Our 5th floor room had a lovely view of the city....room 505 is a corner room with views in 2 direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore Downtown! Thank you for your comments, we definitely value your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our complimentary shutle service to local attractions.

We will be sure to share your comments with the rest of our team members. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    146
    64
    11
    24
See reviews for
124
109
46
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was here for nearly 3 weeks in December and am headed back for another ten days tomorrow. The difference here is most definitely the customer service- the location isn't perfect but standouts like Letitia and Erica and even the shuttle driver (not sure of his name) make all the difference in the world. The old bank is nicely refurbished and breakfast is a great plus but the sheer friendliness and willingness to go above and beyond make this a favorite for home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjason02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore Downtown! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and telling us about your wonderful stay! We are delighted we could be off assistance and will gladly share your feedback with the rest of our staff. We look forward to seeing you and welcome your return "home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lobby is beautiful, breakfast had far better choices than I expected for a self-serve, everything was spotless, including room, which was very nice. Was concerned that it was near The Block, which I had never heard of, but it turned out to be fine. Great location. My only beef was that parking is $12/nite, but there are only 28 spaces, as noted by other travelers (thanks for the heads up, ppl! appreciate it), which I had assumed was included, but you know what happens when you do that! I hear that that's a fair rate for the downtown area. First night we were fortunate to find a spot on the street for free right in front of the parking area, since it was full (was a friday), but we were able to get a spot for rest of weekend. seems like it's a hotel mainly for business travelers, so weekends might be easier to get reservations, cheaper rate and parking space. room was in good taste, good hot water pressure in shower, absolutely no complaints. I used priceline.com to get an amazing rate of $54/nite and asked the hotel directly if we could have a king or queen bed. We got a king and those rooms normally start at $139 or thereabouts, so the only other fee via priceline was the parking for $24 total for two nites, all taxes and fees were included. i highly recommend the restaurants in Inner Harbor nearby. We quite enjoyed the tapas restaurant-excellent food & svc, then went to famous Chap's for pit beef, where every food network star has been, for good reason. get the pit beef and use the hickory bbq sauce. perfect together. and greektown'sSamos, which gets excellent reviews on yelp. parking is kinda tough. byob. Hummus needed more garlic IMO though.

Who knew baltimore had so much to offer? First time using priceline, btw. I'd do it again.

Room Tip: we had room 209. absolutely nothing wrong with it. even got 5 pillows, 2 of which claim to be firm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hooMeeYesU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We value your business and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Battimore as well as your stay with us. We take pride in knowing that our guests can kick back relax in our clean, modern, and comfortable rooms!

As included in your review, we do have limited parking on a first-come first-served basis for only $12.00 a night. Alternatively, guests are also able to find street parking on Fallsway, the street just outside the side entrance of the hotel, and pay the parking meter kiosk in the day and it is free overnight.

We appreciate your comments and welcome your return. Our city is full of wonderful treasures just waiting to be discovered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've stayed here on multiple occasions and have already reviewed the property, but I wanted to do a follow-up regarding the great customer service. The folks at the desk are just tremendous -- very attentive, helpful, and truly interested in making my visits as nice as possible. My visits have been necessary due to medical needs at Johns Hopkins so the kindness of the staff has been especially meaningful to me. I'd especially like to give a shout out to Erica Cooper (sp?). She really went the extra mile to help me out during my stay. Kudos to her and to the rest of the fine staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore Downtown.We understand that sometimes visits to our Charm City may not be for leisure reasons and we are elated to have had the opportunity to assist you during your recent stays. We value your feedback and will pass along your comments to the rest of colleagues!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smyrna
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The staff at this property makes all the difference!! They treat guests like family, how anyone would want to be treated! As a frequent traveler, it is very much appreciated!! will gladly recommend this property in the future!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Your comments are appreciated. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as a valued guest at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore Downtown! We are here to assist you and will pass on your comments with our entire staff. We welcome your return and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was very pleased with everything about the hotel. The service was excellent and everyone was very accommodating. We even used a free hotel shuttle to go to Little Italy for dinner. The rooms were clean and nicely arranged. I also went downstairs for the free breakfast in the morning and was so surprised by how delicious everything was! All in all I was very pleased with my stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heaps88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate your business and would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our Charm City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I had two occasions to be in Baltimore this month in connection with eye surgery at Johns Hopkins. A HIE brochure at the hospital noted a reduced rate for Johns Hopkins patients... and let us stay the night before and night of surgery for little more than what I might have expected to pay for a single evening. Now, having stayed there twice, I'd gladly stay there again if business or pleasure took me to Baltimore, even at regular rates.

Our first sight of the hotel interior blew me away. Since when does a Holiday Inn Express come with a two story lobby complete with Corinthian columns and a mezanine? (The small Christmas tree in the center added a very welcoming touch as well. It was delightful.) On the upper floors, what was once a small bank office building, converted to a hotel just a few years ago, didn't give up it's past without a fight! To say that the floor layout was quirky would be an understatement. Quirky is good. The rooms were small, but certainly adequate.

They were also clean, with the possible exception of a stain on a carpet in Room 311 by the door which we attributed the possibility that a pet might have once relieved itself...but there was no pet odor nor did we feel the room was at all dirty. The bathroom was equally clean and well supplied. The only cable channel that didn't seem to work was PBS, which was a bit disheartening for one who worked for PBS for over 30 years, but I can now live without it for a day or two!

The best part of the hotel might well be the friendly and efficient staff at the front desk. Oh, there was one who didn't appear busy yet passed us off to another who at that moment was busy taking a phone reservation. But that one, Letitia, was so charming then and throughout our stay that we were happy to have been handed off. On our other visit the front desk and shuttle driver were both exceptionally helpful, including some detective work when the driver discovered my cell phone in the shuttle, and called the most commonly called number in the log to determine from our daughter just who she knew who might be in Baltimore that night.

The neighborhood gets lots of comments and I can't disagree too much with the need to be careful; at night (when we made good use of the shuttle), but in the daytime, anyway, we 70 year-olds still managed a walk into downtown without feeling overly nervous. On another walk to the nearest Subway the front desk had directed me to, I somehow missed the close one and found myself walking two more blocks into a seedier part of town where another Subway was between a peep show and an "exotic" lingerie store. I couldn't believe Letitia had sent me there...and it turned out she hadn't!

Overall, a very nice Holiday Inn Express experience. Different (and probably better) than any other Holiday Inn Express experience, usually in some nondescript building on the side of a highway. This was anything but that...and made our hospital visits almost enjoyable. Almost!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stratford64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore Downtown! We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience in regards to the PBS channel, we have contacted our satellite provider to look into the reason why this channel is not transmitting.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed both your visits to our hotel and are as fond of our restored bank building as we are! Your comments will be shared with all our colleagues. We look forward to your return and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 67 in Baltimore
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Address: 221 N Gay St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#27 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in downtown Baltimore is now accepting reservations for arrivals after July 26, 2009. Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Baltimore Downtown is conveniently located off I-83 a block away from the city hall in the heart of the city business and government district. The closest downtown hotel with free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Main Hospital and Medical Center, at the back yard of Merci Hospital, and with easy access to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore National Aquarium, Science Center Museum, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Hospital, Art museum Mount Vernon, Fort McHenry, the Orioles Camden Yard stadium and the Ravens M&T Stadium. Baltimore, Maryland will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of outdoor activities such as Baltimore Zoo, Power Plant night life, Historic Fells Point, Pimlico Horse Race Track. The 1920 historic, elegant building offers 68 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 5 suites equipped with deluxe, new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access.This brand new hotel also features spacious elegant lobby and grand room, Jacuzzi suites, exercise room, business center, meeting room. Stay Smart, we are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing