We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with Great Staff but in a less than desirable location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Kreskin2207
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good hotel with Great Staff but in a less than desirable location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

A suitable hotel in a poor part of town. There are three times as many rooms as there are parking spaces so arrive early!. Parking is $12 per night and if you miss out one of the 20-odd spots, you're on the street. The view out our window was of the lovely Juvenile Justice Center which provided some good people watching (in conjunction with the "takeout" shop across the street.) There was also a lot of street noise at night (from both trucks and sirens which seems like a common occurrence in Baltimore.) The hotel itself is in an old bank, leading to an impressive lobby area. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the room was spacious and clean. The pillows were really nice as well, a mix of firm and soft, which is hard to find in this type hotel. So all in all, its a good hotel, affordable, less than 10 minutes from Johns Hopkins, with a shuttle that runs to and from, but I wouldn't stay here again unless I were visiting the hospital again (which hopefully doesn't happen.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kreskin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We really apprciate your comments. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    137
    63
    11
    24
See reviews for
115
104
44
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

My mother was in Johns Hopkins Hospital for 17 days, and my whole family stayed in this Holiday Inn Express for the duration of her stay. I am not used to staying in hotels for that long and it could have been terrible. However, due largely to the friendliness and understanding of the whole staff, it was really a pleasure. The free breakfast was really handy, nothing too fancy, but super convenient. There was a free shuttle that took us all to and from the hospital every day, often several times a day. The driver was full of great tips and recommendations for restaurants, etc. Such a wonderful man! The front desk staff was extremely accomodating as we extended our stay over and over, always making sure parking passes were updated. Laundry on site, which made the trip much easier. Thanks to all of you - Roe, Tina, and everyone - who helped make our extended visit a much better experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakesnake_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Your comments are valued and I will share them with all the associates. We look forward to your returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Arrived in the evening to be told that there was no parking and I had to park on the street. I had to get up the next morning, go to the front desk, and ask if they had any available parking passes. If they don't have enough parking spots, they should let you know when you make reservations and allow you to reserve a spot at the same time.

This probably would have been a forgotten nuisance if they didn't try to charge me for a parking pass for the night that I didn't have a spot. Between the wait in line on checkout day, and the 15 minutes to convince the disinterested woman at the front desk that I did not have a parking pass for the night that I checked in, I wasted about 30 minutes to get them to remove a $12 charge. I'm not sure why it was such a chore as it appears that this is a regular occurrence at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Mike m,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the confusion and difficulties caused by the limited parking spaces available. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent customer service from everyone I met. Shuttle driver very cheerful and helpful as well as informative. Front desk employees very courteous and anxious to help. Rooms are modern though temperature control proved a challenge (cooling led to draughts). Bed comfortable once I worked out the right pillow combination! Workspace and wi-fi/wired connection worked fine and fast. I walked to/from the hotel on many occasions and never had a problem or felt concerned - felt safer than in many large cities worldwide. The hotel is close to the main police station. Baltimore has some wonderful architecture, so walking is the best way to see it. Hotel location is away from main tourist areas admittedly, but it is 10 minutes downhill to Inner Harbor and 15 to the convention center. Mount Vernon is a spirited 10 minutes uphill walk. Local taxis are reliable and fair priced. If I have a grouse, it is that there is very limited breakfast seating space, but that's a way to get to meet new people! Overall, this hotel is somewhere I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near vebding/ice machines (busy and hot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was never treated so well as I was by the front desk employee by the name of Tina. She took care of a guest's needs and concerns like I've never seen before and went way beyond her call of duty. Also, the shuttle services that were provided by the hotel were top notch and the drivers were so very kind and helpful. Also, the complimentary breakfast bar was so appreciated and the food was very good. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel especially to those who are using the Johns Hopkins Hospital.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Your comments are very appreciated. I will share with Tina and entire associate body. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Although the area isn't the best, this hotel was. Very clean and for the most part the staff was very helpful. Tina in particular was on top of her job. Latisha was very nice as well. The room view was great and the hotel is a short walk to downtown. Maybe 5 minutes away.

The reason I can't give a perfect review for service is Samantha, Samantha, and did I mention Samantha? Horrible....HORRIBLE customer service. She never took off her Ipod at any time while helping me and seemed to be outside more than at the desk. She also talked to guests while eating which was rather repulsing. She spoke very ignorantly to some of the other guests and to me about some of the other guests being annoying or stupid and how much she couldn't stand them. Totally inappropriate. If I were her manager, I would fire her immediately. The WORST customer service I have ever experienced in my life. The other employees were so great and did such a good job that it made how she acted all the more noticeable. Overall great service....but they have do something about the bad apple they have before she rubs off on the other good employees

Room Tip: Stay away from the 4th floor. The wifi barely works up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuccD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the opportunity to have you visit with us. Both Tina and Leticia are Shining Stars and represents the quality and standard we strive to deliver on a consistent basis. I will evaluate further those associates who may be in need of additional training, coaching or counseling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times while in Baltimore for medical appointments at John Hopkins Hospital. The hotel is close by both the hospital and the inner harbor. We have never walked anywhere from this hotel nor probably never would. However, the hotel has a free shuttle service to the hospital and the inner harbor area including Whole Foods. We have used the shuttle many times and find it to be very convenient as parking rates are very high in the city. The staff has always been very pleasant and the breakfast in adequate. Our room has always been very clean and comfortable. There is a parking fee at this hotel but it is very reasonable compared to other hotels in the city. If the lot is full, there is always free parking on the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Your comments are very important to us. I will certainly share with the entire hotel staff. We want to make this a comfortable, safe and secure environment where all our guest can relax and enjoy themselves. Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Address: 221 N Gay St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#27 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in downtown Baltimore is now accepting reservations for arrivals after July 26, 2009. Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Baltimore Downtown is conveniently located off I-83 a block away from the city hall in the heart of the city business and government district. The closest downtown hotel with free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Main Hospital and Medical Center, at the back yard of Merci Hospital, and with easy access to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore National Aquarium, Science Center Museum, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Hospital, Art museum Mount Vernon, Fort McHenry, the Orioles Camden Yard stadium and the Ravens M&T Stadium. Baltimore, Maryland will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of outdoor activities such as Baltimore Zoo, Power Plant night life, Historic Fells Point, Pimlico Horse Race Track. The 1920 historic, elegant building offers 68 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 5 suites equipped with deluxe, new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access.This brand new hotel also features spacious elegant lobby and grand room, Jacuzzi suites, exercise room, business center, meeting room. Stay Smart, we are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing