We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
“Almost Perfection”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Although the area isn't the best, this hotel was. Very clean and for the most part the staff was very helpful. Tina in particular was on top of her job. Latisha was very nice as well. The room view was great and the hotel is a short walk to downtown. Maybe 5 minutes away.

The reason I can't give a perfect review for service is Samantha, Samantha, and did I mention Samantha? Horrible....HORRIBLE customer service. She never took off her Ipod at any time while helping me and seemed to be outside more than at the desk. She also talked to guests while eating which was rather repulsing. She spoke very ignorantly to some of the other guests and to me about some of the other guests being annoying or stupid and how much she couldn't stand them. Totally inappropriate. If I were her manager, I would fire her immediately. The WORST customer service I have ever experienced in my life. The other employees were so great and did such a good job that it made how she acted all the more noticeable. Overall great service....but they have do something about the bad apple they have before she rubs off on the other good employees

Room Tip: Stay away from the 4th floor. The wifi barely works up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuccD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the opportunity to have you visit with us. Both Tina and Leticia are Shining Stars and represents the quality and standard we strive to deliver on a consistent basis. I will evaluate further those associates who may be in need of additional training, coaching or counseling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    146
    64
    11
    24
See reviews for
124
109
46
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times while in Baltimore for medical appointments at John Hopkins Hospital. The hotel is close by both the hospital and the inner harbor. We have never walked anywhere from this hotel nor probably never would. However, the hotel has a free shuttle service to the hospital and the inner harbor area including Whole Foods. We have used the shuttle many times and find it to be very convenient as parking rates are very high in the city. The staff has always been very pleasant and the breakfast in adequate. Our room has always been very clean and comfortable. There is a parking fee at this hotel but it is very reasonable compared to other hotels in the city. If the lot is full, there is always free parking on the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Your comments are very important to us. I will certainly share with the entire hotel staff. We want to make this a comfortable, safe and secure environment where all our guest can relax and enjoy themselves. Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acme, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel has a perfect location, everything is within a mile and they have a free shuttle. Latisha checked us in and she was so nice and really went the extra mile everytime we asked her a question. David was AMAZING!!!! I rate him a 10 on everything, he was a wonderful shuttle driver and someone nice to talk to at the end of a long night when he was working the late shift. He definetly went above and beyond and made us feel right at home. The hotel was very clean and the housekeepers really did a wonderul job on stayovers.
The bad:
Samantha- normally I wouldnt speak bad about people but she is not fit for the hotel buisness, or the buisness of working with people in general. Not only would she keep her headphone in her ears the entire time she was talking with any guest, she also bad mouthed guests to us. Every single time we spoke to her she was talking about another guest and was very rude. One time I asked her a question and she said 'Yea Hold on' finished her texting then got up and got me what I asked for. 90 % of the time she was either on the phone or outside.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear beth c,

Thank you for advising us of your dissatisfaction towards one of our Front Desk Agents. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future.

Again, thank you for all your valuable comments which help us identify areas of improvement. We hope to welcome you back to be able to demonstrate to you the true InterContinental service.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

i am a HI platinum PC member, and a business traveller. I couldn't tell that by my reception on late evening in early April here. No parking spots -you'll have to park it on the street, and get up to move it (where please?) in the morning. And, oh please don't talk so loud when i am mistreatng you at check in- so i walked out . Warning to business travellers-they have limited parking-don't care if there's no space for you, and basically cater to one shot tourists visiting. Not for me.

Room Tip: at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theAdog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
theAdog56,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband & I find this hotel by luck. We were going to a wedding in Baltimore & wanted to stay 2 nights. The hotel that was suggested to us by the couple was double the price as this hotel so we decided to stay here. The hotel staff from the manager to the house keeping could not of been nicer. The hotel was extremely clean & they offered a wonderful breakfast that was more then your basic continental breakfast. The hotel also offered a free shuttle within a mile of the hotel. We used the shuttle to all the main attractions in Baltimore. Parking was easy & compared to other hotels cheaper. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel, a nice refurb of a solid building. I have stayed here a few times and feel OK walking from this hotel to the Inner Harbor or Fells Point with the sun up, but not after sundown. The rooms are nice, and pretty quiet in spite of being in a city. Nice hot shower. Sadly the lobby coffee was cold in the afternoon and early morning put my in-room microwave to work. The cream for the coffee was sour, so I had to toss my cup and start over.

Room Tip: Self-parking is $12, and the lot is open to the neighborhood. OK to walk in daylight, but take a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The hotel is clean, well kept but is too close to the elevated highway and the rooms may be too noisy at times. The lobby is pretty impressive, the staff at the front desk are very nice and helpful. The Inner Harbor and Fells Point are 1 and 1.5 miles away respectively and make for a nice walk. I will definitely stay here again but will request a room on the opposite side of the building.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
ager01,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 67 in Baltimore
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Address: 221 N Gay St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#27 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in downtown Baltimore is now accepting reservations for arrivals after July 26, 2009. Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Baltimore Downtown is conveniently located off I-83 a block away from the city hall in the heart of the city business and government district. The closest downtown hotel with free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Main Hospital and Medical Center, at the back yard of Merci Hospital, and with easy access to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore National Aquarium, Science Center Museum, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Hospital, Art museum Mount Vernon, Fort McHenry, the Orioles Camden Yard stadium and the Ravens M&T Stadium. Baltimore, Maryland will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of outdoor activities such as Baltimore Zoo, Power Plant night life, Historic Fells Point, Pimlico Horse Race Track. The 1920 historic, elegant building offers 68 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 5 suites equipped with deluxe, new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access.This brand new hotel also features spacious elegant lobby and grand room, Jacuzzi suites, exercise room, business center, meeting room. Stay Smart, we are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing