We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value in downtown Baltimore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here in Sept 2011 while visiting a prospective school with my daughter. Very close to Baltimore Penn Station and the inner harbor. It's in an old, historical building, with refurbished interior and modernized rooms. Free shuttle within 3 miles made it a very convenient hotel; driver was friendly and polite. Typical decent Holiday Inn Express breakfast (cereals, fruits, pancakes, eggs, coffee, juices, etc.) which makes this a value for money hotel.

Rooms were clean, bathrooms had high vanities with granite tops. Towels surprisingly un-luxurious - in fact, thin and one was a little worn looking - but otherwise, the bath experience is fine with strong shower, and the usual shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap amenities. The room also had a small ref, and a microwave - not typical in other Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed in.

The main downside seems to be Baltimore's typical safety and security issues: one long term hotel resident advised me while we were on our way to the ice machine, to not leave anything in the car when parking in the hotel car park, as 2 residents had their cars broken into within the last few weeks. Fortunately, we didn't bring a vehicle with us at that time.

We checked in on Sunday evening - at that time, customer service was somewhat spotty as it took some time and 2 calls for the staff to attend to my request for an ethernet line to be provided in my room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 524 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

The room was clean, cozy, and comfortable. The hotel was located within walking distance of the Harbor, even though complimentary shuttle was available. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2petlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We went to Balitimore for our daughter's treatment at Johns Hopkins. Wanted a peaceful stay as we have more important issues to deal with. We came to the hotel on a Sunday evening, the area was deserted, the holtel is located oppossite the Jurvenile Court of Balitimore, with a few not very welcoming people walking around. Lots of cop cars around (is close to a police station too). All in all not a place you would want to bring your kids and family to, a rough neighbourhood.

We did NOT Stay at the property and checked out immediately. Ending up spending a lot more $$$$ (walk in pices in the inner harhour area at a lot higher). I wrote in to the manager seeking a refund as we did not stay at the hotel however no response and a nice fat bill for a service that was far below expectation one that we did not consume.

This Holiday Inn express is 20-30% cheaper for a reason. But the last thing one wants when you are travelling is the risk of getting into a situation. My advise if you have a family travelling with you, dont be penny wise and pound foolish live within the inner city area. I can deal with a poor quality room or service but safety of my family is paramount.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank himmat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Great hotel. Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a free breakfast. The hotel was located in a sketchy part of town, but I had no problems. The hotel shuttle was always offered for trips anywhere around town. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Downtown is about a 10 min walk. The shuttle will also take you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The purpose of our trip was medical, an evaluation at Johns Hopkins Hospital. The staff, especially Brad and Samantha, were most helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. The breakfast is a notch or two above the usual continental breakfasts at such hotels. There is free shuttle service both to downtown and to the hospital. Gracious drivers. This is a very affordable, pleasant experience in a completely redone 1940's bank structure. Interesting lobby with marble pillars and vaulted ceiling. We will stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaCaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed here as a relative underwent treatment at Johns Hopkins. The room was nice and the bathroom had a large countertop for items when getting ready to go-a small thing but it annoys me to have to try to balance my make-up, etc. on the back of the toilet or tiny countertop. The staff was friendly and professional and they offered the best hospital rate I found. The only downside was being from out of state, I was dependent on public transportation or the hotel shuttle. The shuttle was often in the 20/30 minute "late" time frame they made clear in the instructions due to traffic, etc. However, that is beyond their control and the shuttle drivers were all friendly and professional as well. I heard from some that the neighborhood was less than desirable, but I give them kudos for turning that beautiful old bank building into a beautiful, modern hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandhandleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I had to go to Baltimore to John's Hopkins Hospital. I am handicapped and called ahead to make sure the handicapped room I had reserved would meet my needs. The thing I needed most was a tall toilet with bars on the sides to pull myself up on. I was told that that is what this room had. When I arrived the toilet was a normal one, low to the floor with no hand rails. I called the front desk and was told that the only difference in a handicapped room and a regular room was that the bathtub was lower and had a hand rail. So I had to go to plan B and ask them to bring me more towels so I could try to put them on the toilet to make it higher. It took them several hours to get them to me and all I wanted to do was to be able to use the bathroom and get to bed as I was tired after 7 hours in the car to get there and had to be at the hospital the next morning at 8AM. Then another reason I chose this motel was because it had a continental breakfast. Next morning I went down early to eat breakfast only to find that the girl had called in and wasn't coming to work so there was no breakfast for me to eat before I went to the hospital which I was there all day till 3PM with nothing to eat. Knowing nothing about the city I could not go eat anywhere that morning before going to the hospital. However on day 2 the continental breakfast was ready and was very good. Myself and my caregiver and family members will probally be making more trips to John's Hopkins in the future but will think twice before staying there again because of this experience.

Room Tip: Needs to really meet the needs of a handicapped person as we already have enough problems to deal wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#13 of 67 in Baltimore
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Address: 221 N Gay St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $93 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in downtown Baltimore is now accepting reservations for arrivals after July 26, 2009. Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Baltimore Downtown is conveniently located off I-83 a block away from the city hall in the heart of the city business and government district. The closest downtown hotel with free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Main Hospital and Medical Center, at the back yard of Merci Hospital, and with easy access to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore National Aquarium, Science Center Museum, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Hospital, Art museum Mount Vernon, Fort McHenry, the Orioles Camden Yard stadium and the Ravens M&T Stadium. Baltimore, Maryland will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of outdoor activities such as Baltimore Zoo, Power Plant night life, Historic Fells Point, Pimlico Horse Race Track. The 1920 historic, elegant building offers 68 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 5 suites equipped with deluxe, new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access.This brand new hotel also features spacious elegant lobby and grand room, Jacuzzi suites, exercise room, business center, meeting room. Stay Smart, we are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing