We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I didn't think that i was going to like this hotel being that i never heard of it , but i can tell u , i will stay there again it was wonderful u don't even have to leave the hotel if u don't want to, every thing is rt there for u the staff helpful the rooms are cozy my husband and my self highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikvic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    424
    145
    56
    28
See reviews for
300
636
94
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Me and my significate other stayed here for the weekend and it was a wonderful stay. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and has one of the most beautiful bathrooms I've ever saw in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tash2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We were looking for a quick getaway over the fourth of July weekend, and the prospect of a Kimpton Hotel for reasonable price (~$150) THAT ALLOWED DOGS sealed the deal for us. We weren't disappointed. The hotel was in a beautiful restored building (former home of the B&O Railway). The location was not quite central (it was in what felt like a business district, which at night and on the weekend felt a little deserted). However, the hotel itself was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. It was an easy walk to the harbor.

Rooms were large - we had a double room, which worked out fine for four people (2 adults, a 13 and 16 year old). I had noted on my reservation that we would be bringing our dog (no extra charge), and when we arrived, there was even a small dog bed and dog dish of food/water for our pet! Staff was friendly. Room was very clean and comfortable. Only complaint was that we were awakened in the night by loud talkers next door - so maybe the soundproofing isn't as great as one would expect in an old building. But other than that, we had a great stay.

One note: parking at the hotel is $36. However, after 5 or so on the weekend, street parking is free, and seemed abundant (check the parking ticket machines on the street - it seems different parts of town have different regulations and hours). So for our Saturday overnight stay, we just parked on the street right down the block from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

First off everyone at the hotel was very nice and accommodating. We loved our corner room and the toiletries. However, I guess our expectations were really high based on all the great reviews on Tripadvisor. I know the hotel is historic but the halls and entrance was worn, had a very odd smell, carpet stains and just in need of a good cleaning. I also wouldn't recommend walking around here at night. We were in town for a conference at the convention center and thought we'd be okay to walk back and forth. It was only a ten minute walk but those were some scary moments! There are a lot of scary people hanging around outside. Nice hotel itself, but next time I'll stay closer to the Harbour or convention center.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

First the good:
-The rooms are spacious and have very high ceilings which make them seem even more so
-Our bathroom was incredible. We had a giant two person tub with seats and a separate shower.
-The water pressure is great
-Staff is very friendly
Now the bad:
-We checked in in the evening, turned down the thermostat, and went to bed. Tossed and turned all night from being too hot. In the morning found out why--the room was 74 when it was set for 65. We had to be moved to a different room. If I have the inconvenience of having to pack up all my things and move down to a lower floor (in a nice, 4 star hotel), I'd like to be compensated in some day-- a breakfast voucher, have a day of parking taken off, something. We got nothing.
-The first morning we went to the front desk to get our car. They said to go downstairs and it would be ready in 10 mins. We waited 15 then asked the valet. He said they hadn't gotten the request and we had to wait another 10 mins to get the car.
-The hotel isn't really condusive to walking to the harbor, especially in July heat. We had to drive everywhere we went.
-We booked through a third party. I printed out the paperwork before we left in case there was a problem at check-in. After we got to the room I read the fine print and a free breakfast was included in our reservation. We were never told this at check-in. Had I not brought the paperwork, read the fine print, and asked the front desk we wouldn't have received our breakfast.

I really am wowed by all the positive reviews on this site. I don't consider myself a picky traveler and was not impressed by this hotel. Had I been staying at an inexpensive chain, I would be satisfied. But considering this is a 4 star hotel I was disappointed and would not return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The Monaco Hotels have always been pretty high on my list -- I've always liked the chic design, the goldfish, and the Aveda toiletries -- but the addition of zebra and leopard print bathrobes has sealed the deal!

Our room was a little small but we didn't mind because we were only there for a quick overnight. We did appreciate the large walk-in shower and the fluffy towels. Best of all, though were the robes. So fun!!

We enjoyed a glass of sangria at the wine reception before heading out for the evening but were disappointed when we returned that the B&O Restaurant had stopped serving food (including dessert) at 9 pm. When it came time to check out, we had an extremely helpful desk clerk, Christine, who looked up a parking coupon on the internet and offered to print our boarding passes.

It was a short stay, but one we look forward to repeating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WnnaBTrvlWrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying in this hotel last October. My only regret about the entire stay is thy it's taken us this long to write a review. Truly enjoyed the experience, large rooms, amazing staff, originally and uniquely decorated rooms. Complimentary wine reception and milk and cookies were the icing on the cake! Very impressed and would love to return. Many thanks for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingbutterwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
1,070 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing