We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
DC
1 review
“Great Hotel with Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

It was a great experience. Well worth the money. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCA2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    413
    142
    54
    26
See reviews for
289
628
92
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Beautiful Hotel Great location, most of the staff very friendly. We took our dog, and while the experience was good, we requested a sitter for him while at the baseball game. When we returned at 10:30 after the game, "Dewey" was asleep on the bed with his large retractable leash still attached to his collar. I shudder to think of the care he got. I would not take him again.
I'm trying not to let this cloud my perception of the hotel, it is beautiful and I'm sure we will return some day. The parking of $ 36.00 per day is ridiculous however. Once we saw our car parked around the corner with a window down.
I just tried to send an email through their "contact us" on their website. I typed out this long listed of concerns and praises, only to have it returned as undeliverable. That also happened when I emailed questions before our visit. They need to work on that!

That said, the hotel is beautiful, as are all Kimptons. Everyone was very friendly. I loved the city, it was my first visit. I hope to return next summer, but, I won't be bringing Dewey. Maybe the pet experience is better if you have a smaller pet. Dewey weighs close to 100 lbs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyldoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We were fortunate enough to find out about the Monaco on-line through Expedia, but we ended up getting a better price by booking directly through the hotel with a AAA discount. I know these were introductory rates, and unfortunately have heard rates will double or triple as the hotel becomes more well-known. We were so excited to stay in the hotel from the photos of the beautiful historic building and tasteful but interesting decor in the lobby and rooms. We were even more pleased in person! The valet parking attendants and bell staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we drove up. My son loved the warm chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. The room was beautiful and spacious (although an extra chair would have been nice.) The bathroom and shower were gorgeous! Everyone was so friendly, and while the parking was expensive, we never heard a word of complaint as we took our cars in and out multiple times. After only one day, the bellmen recognized us and greeted us warmly as if we were friends. We had a few small glitches (a sliding door that got stuck, the satellite TV lost service) but the front desk was so responsive and each issue was dealt with immediately. The hotel is pet-friendly, and we really wished we had brought our two labradors! I can't wait to stay at the Monaco again, when we visit our daughter at Johns Hopkins! Let's hope the rates don't become too prohibitively high!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coltranemonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

This is our second stay at a Kimpton property and I just can't say enough about their hotels!

The Hotel Monaco Baltimore exceeded my expectations from the gorgeous lobby with fireplace to it's elegant entrance in what was the old B & O Railroad building. Our room was huge and typically Kimpton with it's eclectic and beautiful decor and furnishings.

We had amenities: L'Occitane bath products, plush robes for use or purchase PLUS vouchers for free continental breakfast for all four of us each day. As a Kimpton In Touch member we also received a $10 credit for treats in the in-room mini bar.

Ambiance, style and beauty for a grand opening special price of under $110/night????? What more could we have asked for?? Well be back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShopBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing