We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were in town with our adult kids and grandchild to visit the National Aquarium and see the Orioles play the Yankees at Camden Yards (both are less than a mile away from the hotel). Back in mid-April when we were looking for a room, the Kimpton web site said that they were booked. We found an awesome deal at Hotelsclick.com ($132.25/night) that was almost half off the regular rate. Back to the hotel...When we arrived early on Saturday morning (9:45AM), the desk clerks were quick and accommodating. When the rooms were available, the desk clerks called us to let us know. Upon entering the room, we were pleasantly surprised at how well it was appointed and how comfortable the bed was. Excellent experience all around.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Loyalty Rewards Program to get free in-room wifi and a free $10 credit to the mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedesboro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Swedesboro S:

Thank you for your kind words.
Glad you enojyed your stay. I will share your great review with our entire team.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    434
    145
    57
    28
See reviews for
308
637
94
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Babylon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed for a weekend at this hotel , and we were not disappointed. This is the second Kimpton we've stayed at , and they continue to be impressive. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Rooms are clean, and have nice amenities. The only issue with this place, is it's location. It's a couple blocks off of the attractions at Inner Harbor area. Normally, i wouldn't mind a couple blocks away, but this area is a little rough. We encountered a collection of unsavory characters, who are pretty forward, asking for money etc. I would definitely recommend the hotel, just watch yourself on the streets nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drknite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Drknite12:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with our valuable feedbacl.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Historic former HQ for the B&O railroad. Grand lobby. Free wine reception. We had a large room with high ceiling and huge windows. Downtown Baltimore easy walk to Inner Harbor & Charles Street. Decent restaurant and bar in the hotel. Teenagers congregate on some streets in the area late at night, but we had no problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Dan F:

Thank you for staying with us and for your great feedback.
We appreciate you taking the time to share this with the TA community.
We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I don't spend a ton of time in Baltimore, but I bought tickets to the Jeff Tweedy concert at Symphony Hall and despite the Red Sox being in town was able to book a room at the Monaco.

I decided to plump for the 'Spa Room', and booked it through Orbitz. Arrived at the hotel around 4pm, checked in (super friendly at reception and at the valet btw), changed and promptly went out for an early dinner before the concert. While in the room I noticed it was hot, but hey its summer in Baltimore and I figured it was going to take a bit of time for the room to cool down, thought nothing of it and went.

Returned to the hotel around 1am and the room was still hot. There was a little disclaimer by the a/c panel that said that the rooms take time to cool, and that when you are out, in order to save energy, the a/c shuts off. Fine, no problem. I cranked the temp all the way down and thought it would sort itself out in 10 or 20 minutes, then went to sleep. I woke up a couple hours later and the room was the same temp, HOT, but now it was 3 or 4 am, and there was no way I was going downstairs to get a maintenance guy or switch rooms, so I figured I'd wait it out for the morning.

So, the next morning my wife and I got our stuff together after a leisurely soak in the spa tub, then went to check out and I debated saying anything, but I thought that at least they should know. We go downstairs, and check out, and they ask how everything was and I said it was great, the room was great, but that the a/c was not functioning properly in the room.

They asked if I had called down, but I told them the story and why I didn't call but that it was ok, and they should have someone look at the unit. The front desk manager overheard, and immediately told me that the room would be taken care of and the charges reversed back to Orbitz to credit our account.

I thought this was excellent, obviously, but even more I was impressed with the way that the manager handled it. It wasn't a " if you like I can discount your room" kind of an offer. It was straight and to the point. "Your stay wasn't up to expectations, and I am going to make it right."

The manager gave me his card, which I can't find now, but he was great, and I will be staying at the Monaco the next time I'm in Baltimore, no questions asked. I'm glad to see that hospitality is alive and well.

Just as an aside, everything else in the room was great. It was exceptionally clean, and the bed was very comfy. Also, the deep tub that comes with the SPA room was excellent, and a great place to spend time relaxing.

Room Tip: Spa Room was a good choice, the tub is very big, very deep and very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eygone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear eygone:

Thank you for staying with us.
I really enjoyed reading your feedback. We stand by our products and services and in the event somethign does not go as planned we certainly make it right. I am glad our team took great care of you. We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was great. Great room, staff, amenities, service. Our only criticism was the food and room service. Either the food arrived not prepared as requested or it arrived cold or it arrived much later than we were told it would. In fairness to the Hotel they tried to make it right and when they could not they did not charge us for for the items in question. Overall this is a great hotel and one I would highly recommend and one we will visit again when we are in Baltimore. I should add that the reason for this visit was to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and attend a concert in Baltimore. The hotel had a complimentary bottle of champagne chilled and waiting for us in our room. I also asked the concierge to obtain 40 red roses for my wife and they were waiting for us and they were gorgeous.

If you want to stay at a fantastic hotel then this one is for you.

Room Tip: Any seem to be good. Join the Kimpton Club and you can raid the amenity cabinet for up to $10 per st...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very environmentally friendly and recycle wherever possible.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Philip M:

Thank you for spending your anniversary with us.
It was great to hear how well our team took care of you. I will certainly adress the room service issues with my team to ensure they are not repeated. We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently stayed at the Philadelphia location, and I was happy to find a Kimpton in Baltimore. The location is a short walk to some of Baltimore's major tourist areas- Inner harbor, water taxi, Little Italy)
The valet parking, even on a week day was very smooth, quick,and efficient. Another plus, an ATM is right on premises- not every hotel has that. The lobby is beautiful. Upon walking in, it invites you to stop and admire. The check in was smooth- the staff were friendly and welcomed my husband back from sea. ( He had been on the ship for 100 Plus days) I loved our room- it was actually 2 rooms- a separate bedroom, both with flat screen TV's. I also loved the bathroom- all marble with a jacuzzi tub. Overall, the bathroom and room were very clean. The Kimpton hotel has a minibar with the usual soda and cocktails, but the snacks range from m and m's to more organic fare. And did I mention the bottle of chilled champagne in our room? Nice touch! My husband and I enjoyed a lovely dinner in their restaurant. The server was very nice- we ate dinner and watched Germany beat Brazil. I think to do the restaurant justice, I will write a separate review. In my opinion, a stay here is a treat;yes, the prices are city prices, but the amenities, service, and location make it worthwhile. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmom11236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Dogmom11236:

Thank you for your feedack. I am glad we could make you and your husbands trip a special one.
We look forward to your return soon!

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here several times this year. The facility is beautifully decorated, maintaining the building's historic charm with a modern flair. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The staff was accommodating, professional and polite. We wanted to eat at the adjoining B&O Restaurant but service was horrible so we left without ordering.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oriolezgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Oriolezgurl:

Thank you for staying with us so frequently we truly appreciate it.
I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. My sincerest apologies for the challenges you experienced in our restaurant. Please know I will be sure to follow up with our restaurant in regards to the service. We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 66 in Baltimore
1,093 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing