We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marble everywhere and a fish!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marble everywhere and a fish!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Nice clean rooms. They let my daughter babysit a goldfish for the weekend, a nice touch since went to the acquairium. Rooms are huge, can get loud, but its an old building. Everyone was friendly. Restaurant was good for breakfast, great for dinner. Close to everything.

Room Tip: We had a suite...it was worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cramerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Cramerd:

We do have lot's of marble. The architecture of this historical gem is really something to see. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again soon as wel always have fun new amenities to share with our guests.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    424
    145
    56
    28
See reviews for
300
636
94
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

It wasnt awesome just wasn't horrible. Everything was average hotel quality I guess. Location is nice and resturaunt in the area are nice but tge hotel its self was over priced. Bed was eh ok. Food was eh ok and service was okay I guess

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tifanni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Tiffani R:

Thank you for providing the TA community with your feedback. I noticed this was your first review so welcome to the community. I am sorry we did not exceed your exptectations. I hope you return soon so you can receive the five star experience so many others have.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in many kimpton hotels and while this looks like a Kimpton (logo, room design & furniture) it did not meet the kimpton expectation.

The bed was awful. The sub-par mattress did not distribute the weight evenly and everytime my husband shifted it was like being on a raft at sea (he's skinny by the way). The air vents kept us up all night as each time they kicked in it sounded like a freight train was zipping through the room. Finally, we left at 8am and when we got back at 3pm the room was not serviced. When I called the front desk the response was "so..? It will be serviced sometime today..."

For reference, when I stay at the Chicago location, housekeeping is typically knocking at 8am to see if I've left yet or if I want service. Not the experience I've come to expect for $250 a night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank jdg1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear jdg1770:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to have every guest walk out of here with not only their expectations met but exceeded. I am very sorry that was not the case with your stay. Please know we will certainly use this feedback in improving our services.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I booked this hotel because it was #1 for hotels in Baltimore,I am not impressed, first off you load and unload right in the middle of a busy street, extremely difficult if you are traveling with young children. We had a stroller, baby and 3 bags, the bellhop saw how difficult it was for us to get our belongings out while trying to make sure we don't get hit by a car, he just stood there then finally asked if we needed a luggage cart, after finally getting all of our bags on the cart we had to ride up to the first floor to check in, the decor is old Victorian but dirty looking, totally not impressed, check in went pretty well, we arrived just in time for wine hour, pizza and wine were complimentary, the bellhop left the cart and we had to push the cart to our room. The room was on the 7th floor, facing 2 buildings NO VIEW of the city just 2 walls of a building. The room was spacious and tidy, the carpet is old and dirty, the robes were animal print and dirty. The walk to the harbor was surprisingly far maybe 4 blocks, again for this being #1 I was expecting views of the harbor or city, not the case. If I went back I would definitely look to book elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvnbjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear mvnbjv:

Thank you for staying with us and for providing us with your valuable feedback.
I am sorry that we did not live up to your or our expectations. Please know we appreciate your feedback and will review it with our team.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel had modern features incorporated with its history. Friendly staff and a free wine tasting in the evening. Walking distance to many attractions and bars/restaurants. Would definitely return and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Kathy J:

Thank you for the kind words.
I am glad that you enjoyed the property and our location which is perfect to visit all that Baltimore has to offer. We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Enjoyed the holidays at the Monaco. This was our second time to stay here. You enjoy the historic nature of the B&O building while living in contemporary finished rooms, Clean and very comfortable. The staff make you feel welcome and is very attentive. The complimentary wine and cheese at happy hour and the morning coffee adds to the comfort and relaxation. Valet parking is the way to go as you eliminate the hassle of finding a spot in the city. The B&O Brasserie is a great place to dine or for late night drinks and tapas after a night on the town. We will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Room on the South and East sides for a view and noise of the street. North and west would put in in...
See more room tips
Green Features: You can opt to keep your towels and bed linens for the duration of your stay.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptRobsPortsofCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear CaptRobsPortsofCall:

Great to hear we put the charm in Charm City.
Thank you for sharing your great feedback with the TA community.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

PROs
Space: beautiful building, attractive rooms
Service: friendly, professional, welcoming front desk staff
Amenities: convenient Aquarium package, decent toiletries (C&O Bigelow)
Room: comfortable bed and linens, spacious, mostly clean*

CONs
Location: too far from inner harbor (walking) if you have young children...5 blocks if going beyond margins of IH
Service: bell hop/doorman usually absent, valet staff appallingly unprofessional
Food: uninspired restaurant menu, lack of good alternatives in the immediate area (business district)
Room: *carpet in desperate need of deep cleaning (a single walk across room in white socks is pretty gross; A/C is loud, doesn't run consistently enough to keep you cool, location of vent in our room was in bad location so you get hit in the face with a strong gust while in bed,mans this made it an uncomfortable night
Amenities: no pool, no information on InTouch amenities (including no Raid-the-Bar card at any time), no conveniently-located parking garage, resulting in a choice between dealing with their horrible valet staff or toting your luggage a few blocks to the nearest public garage.

If you want easy access to dining options, or have young children (or less mobile companions), look for a hotel in fact close to the Inner Harbor. To remedy this disadvantage, Monaco should offer complimentary transportation there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miaolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear miaolivia:

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing you feedback.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay but was glad to hear that my team took great care of you. I do hope you join us again soon so you can see that we have adressed your issues.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
1,070 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing