We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“More than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I booked a king room. Check in was quick and efficient. We were in room 707 and it was really nice. We are shower snobs. Meaning we don't like tub/shower combos with a shower curtain. We like walk in showers with tile. This bathroom met our standards. Very spacious room too! We could not find one complaint about the place. Yes, valet is $38 with unlimited in and out privileges, but look at where you are located. There is nowhere else to park in downtown Baltimore. Were from the city and we just booked one night for our anniversary. It was worth it and we will definitely stay again. We also recommend the evening reception. Choice of white or red wine (unlimited). The host even walked around when it was almost over filling up glasses. This hotel is pet friendly and we saw a lot of pets, but they have pet free floors which we were on and we saw no trace of a pet. Which is a bonus because we suffer with allergies. Overall, excellent choice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltime05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear traveltime05:

I was happy to read we exceeded your expectations.
It sounds like you had a great anniversary trip.
Don't wait till next year to come back and see us.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    413
    142
    54
    26
See reviews for
289
628
92
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My favorite hotel to stay in. Everyone was so friendly. The parking was a bit steep but half a block up there was parking where was paid 56 dollars for 4 nights, just make sure you have cash. We were able to walk of the conference center and the inner harbor. We loved having a fish in our room too. The one problem we had was the bunk beds creaked, but we complained after the first night and the fixed the problem and brought us warm cookies and a bottle of wine! All is right in my mind! I would love to have an opportunity to bring my family back here some time!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank guppyamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guppyamy:

We think you are awesome as well!
It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our location.
We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is ALMOST perfect. The hotel offers both Valet and Self park; although their "self park" isn't actually that. The lot is off site; owned by another company; and there are no "in and out" privileges. Meaning you have to pay every time you leave and arrive back at the hotel. AND the Valet is incredibly expensive. I've stayed in many major city's and never once payed $38 for valet parking. Once you're inside the hotel the level of service you receive is excellent. The front desk clerks were very polite and quick; as were the valets. I must say, the room has to be one of the quietest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. Once you shut the door, you could hear a pin drop. Overall I loved the Monaco, I would definitely recommend anyone looking for excellent next level service to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Stefan Z:

Thank you for the five star reveiw!
It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that our team took such great care of you. We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

If I had to pick one hotel to live in it would be the Monaco in Baltimore. Towering marble staircases, polished doors and floors take your right back to America’s golden age of travel. The railroad theme sets the whole place in motion and the staff keeps up nicely. Valet parking could not have been easier, bags magically appear in rooms and when I called for a cup of coffee they brought me my own Kuerig. I was late to the wine hour in the lobby, but a staff member turned my misfortune into opportunity and brought me a glass of Chilean red that was fantastic.

I started every morning out with a trip to the well-appointed gym to get my mind right and then spent the morning in my room working on writing projects. Every time I looked out the window I could tell I was making progress on my journey. I pulled up at the bar every afternoon for lunch—book in hand—and JayMo (perhaps Baltimore’s most congenial bartender) produced ice cold beer and made sure that the food was hot and on time. After an afternoon of writing it was satisfying to step out and hit some fine dining on Charles Street. Did I Raid the Mini Bar at night? You bet, and I did it while wearing my leopard skin robe just like a rock star.

You don’t have to travel in the luxury of private dining cars and spacious sleeper cabins. But you should. And you should do it at the Hotel Monaco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks down towards the Inner Harbor, or one that overlooks Charles Street.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Hotel Monaco makes being green easy with in-room recycling.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Ty M:

We are happy to have you move in!
Thanks for the great review. We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our large group (5 rooms) stayed overnight prior to participation in a 5k. The hotel is very clean, elegant, and updated. Our only disappointment (having requested a 4 Star hotel near the Harbor via Priceline) was the lack of a pool.

The doorman and car valet service people were very helpful and very friendly. We were moving baby equipment (strollers, car seat) from vehicle to vehicle as we arrived and departed and they were there offering assistance with a smile.

Room service was quick and accommodating to our late night request. The in-room snacks and drinks were convenient if a bit pricey. The service in the restaurant was a bit slow, but the food was fabulous.

Overall we were very pleased and would recommend this lovely hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Kelly W:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TA community.
I was happy to hear you had such a great stay and that out team took great care of you.
We hope you join us again next year for hte 5K if not before that.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at the Monaco Baltimore for a long weekend for my anniversary from March 21-23 2014. This was our first time at the hotel as well as using their loyalty program. Everything from the time we checked into the time was checked out was very pleasant and without issue. The valet was quick, the front desk was very friendly and helpful and the room was beautiful!. We were greeted with a smile and told a surprise was headed up to use shortly. A bottle of champagne was brought up in celebration to our anniversary. They sure know how to make a guest feel special. We enjoyed the evening wine reception and the atmosphere was very cozy and inviting. The hotel is in walking distance to the harbor and many local attractions that made it easy to walk and keep the car parked all weekend. We were able to enjoy the city and great restaurants without having to drive all over. The weather was fantastic that weekend so we had the chance to spend equal amounts of time in the hotel and out of the hotel. I would come back again in a heart beat. Very nice hotel with great staff.

I did write a review of the hotel with some pictures and as well as a review on the rewards program.. If you are interested in more info on my stay and the program please check out my blog!
http://trishlistblog.weebly.com/1/post/2014/04/loyalty-will-bring-me-back-again-and-again.html

Room Tip: We had a king spa room and the soaking tub was amazing!
See more room tips
Green Features: I was very pleased with the environmentally friendly practices. It was nice to see a recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmullin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Tmullin22:

Happy Anniversary!

Thakn you for sharing this great feedback and for the post on your blog.
Our location and service really cannot be beat.
We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our room was very nice and the Jacuzzi in our suite was larger than expected. The free bottle of Muscato and the free truffles were an added bonus to our stay. But none of it wouldn't have been as good without having great company!

There were a few misunderstandings, but the Management quickly responded and handled it in a very professional manner! They seem to have a lot of integrity to their customers which is a big plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Autumn A:

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me last week.
I am always happy to listen and adress guest feedback.
I do hope we soo you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing