We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“AWESOME EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Decided to get away for the weekend and Baltimore was our destination. First of all, we were blown away by how beautiful the hotel was and the location could not have been better. The staff went out of their way to welcome us (and 4 dogs!) from the time we pulled up to the hotel. It was such a relaxing stay. The rooms were very nicely appointed and the black-out shades were a big plus to sleep later! Also, kudos goes to the room service......food was delivered on time, in a friendly manner and was piping hot! Thanks, Kimpton! You have a customer for life!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcchuck19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear DcCuck19:

Thanks for choosing us for your weekend getaway.
Our team will enjoy hearing how great of a time you had.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    438
    149
    58
    29
See reviews for
315
640
96
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, MD
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel, great service, amazing location!! Clean, neat, luxury. Wine reception nightly. Pet friendly. This was my second stay at this hotel and I was just as impressed as the first time. This is a pricey hotel but well worth the price. Great place to celebrate (anniversary, engagement…which happened for me!!) Short walk to the Inner Harbor. This hotel does offer valet parking but it is easy to park in the underground garage and take the 4 minute walk from car to hotel door. The garage was $20 for 24 hrs. the B&O restaurant that is in the hotel is not my style but it looks beautiful. There is a Balto Tavern & Tap around the corner (in the Sheraton) hotel is is great. Causal dinning with great food. Check-in and check-out was fast and easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surmanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Surmanator:

Thank you for the amazing review.
Our team works very hard to ensure all of our guests are well taken care of.
It was great to read you enjoyed your stay.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Crowned Royal flew me and several other NFL writers to Baltimore for a fantasy draft on the opening day of the season. They put us up in the Monaco and it is world-class. Very well run and classy hotel. Rates right up to the best hotels I have stayed in over the years. Close to the Inner Harbor and all downtown attractions. Highly recommended if you can afford 150+ per night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Greg W:


Thank you for your kind words.
I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay.
Our location truly is perfect for both leisure and business travelers.
We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, pa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

What a wonderful stay. The hotel was such a neatly decorated place. We appreciated the historic preservation throughout as well as the modern touches.
We were lucky enough to stay in a kid/pet friendly room and both the dog and the kids loved it.
All to often when traveling you run in to one or more unhappy employees. Not the case at this establishment. You can tell customer excellence is their number one priority and it shows! Could not have asked for a more accommodating staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muse4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear muse4:

Thank you for your kind words.
Our team works very hard to exceed the expecations of our guest and I am glad you noticed.
We hope to see you again very soon!

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Monoco Baltimore for 2 nights the weekend of December 21st. We had planned a special trip for my son and daugter-in-law who were traveling from Seattle to meet us for the holidays. To begin, the 1st and 2nd floors of this hotel are gorgeous. We all appreciated the beautiful architecture and you will find it here. Beyond that, I must admit that we were pretty disappointed with the service and hotel in general.

At check in we were not asked if we needed dinner reservations or a map of the city. We walked into the lounge area off the front desk and found a very nicely appointed sitting area that was littered with dirty glasses and coffee cups on just about every flat surface.....not very appealing. What made it worse was that no guests were even using the space at that time so who knows how long the area had looked like that without any staff member addressing it.

When we got to the room we found the bed to be just average, with linens that you would find in any economy hotel. The room was large, but offered only one comfortable chair to sit in. There was plenty of space for a sofa or at least another chair. The bathroom was very nice and offered a large tub as well as a separate shower. The rooms were not sound proofed well and we could hear our neighbors arguing at 2 am. I would highly recommend the hotel invest in the white noise machines that the Hyatt hotel uses.....really cuts down on city/hotel noise for guests. Our bath products were not replenished by housekeeping on day two, so we had no shampoo/conditioner and only one small bar of soap for the remainder of the stay.

Finally, we ate dinner one evening and breakfast one morning in the B&O restaurant in the hotel. The service was spotty. Our dinner server constantly whisked away our plates before we had even finished the course, and our breakfast server disappeared after taking our order and never came back to check on us or offer a 2nd cup of coffee. The food reviews from our group were mixed. If you like traditional Maryland crabcakes stay away from the crabcake entree here, which comes dripping in some form of cabbage slaw that completely takes away from the crabcake. The prices are not inexpensive.....$220 for dinner for 4, and with so many great restaurants in Baltimore I wouldn't recommend.

I have stayed at several other Kimpton properties and have always been so impressed with both the impeccable service and beautifully appointed rooms. Unfortunately, the Monoco Baltimore did not measure up to its sister hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chseipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear hink66:

Thank you for staying with us.
I am very sorry we did not exceed your expectations as we have for so many others.
Please know this is not the type of service we strive to deliver. I will be sure to review your feedback with our team and appropriately adress. I do hope you join us again so you can experience what so many others have.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Baltimore for a wedding. The hotel is beautiful - with a lovely marble staircase and cozy sitting area/fireplace off the check in counter. The staff there is very eager to please and it shows. We had a couple of mix-ups with our room and we were more than generously taken care of. We loved the location so close to the Inner Harbor, LOVED the restaurant and loved our room. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Jill D:

We loved that you loved your stay.
I will be sure to share this with our entire team as the do aim to please.
We hope to see you again soon...maybe a little New Years getaway?

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimfink
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I had a late night arrival with a 7 am meeting. At check in they tell me they are renovating me and give me mapquest directions to the other hotel .3 mile away, like they want me to walk with my bags in the rain at 1 am in downtown Baltimore. When I objected they ordered a taxi. The other hotel was also under construction and they put me in a small first floor unit with no thermostat or ventilation and a lot of street noise. The guy at the desk says they were being paid $99 by Kimpton [Kimpton charged me $176]. He finally moved me to a nicer roon on the 6th floor. Less shabby but clean with ventilation.

Kimpton should be ashamed to treat a guest like that at 1 am and even turn a profit.

I have stayed in Kimpton properties jn Boston and elsewhere, but never again.

Beware the bait and switch.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear jimfink:

Please know that this is not the type of service we are known for.
I would be happy to speak with you further about this so I can be sure we make it right for you.
Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
443-692-6761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 67 in Baltimore
1,115 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing