We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This is how you refurbish an old building.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stuck in MA
Level Contributor
261 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“This is how you refurbish an old building.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the 4th Kimpton I've been to and one of the nicer hotels I've stayed in. Another rehabbed building in DC was not nearly as well done. The preserved marble elevator lobbies on each floor were amazing. The rooms were spacious and had such high ceilings, there was a very spacious feel to a normal sized room. There was a 2 person whirlpool soaking tub in the room which was a nice treat after using the fitness room.

Complimentary bike was at the front desk and complimentary wine hour was held in the well-appointed lounge area with a spectacular fireplace.

Room Tip: It's a city so go higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BixUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear BixUS:

Thank you your review.
It was great to read you enjoyed the hotel and our team took great care of you.
We look forward to your return.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    394
    131
    49
    25
See reviews for
270
602
90
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I love the Monaco. We had two reservations for two nights. I was really struck at how professional the housekeeping team was- really organized and friendly- Lucy Spellman was very helpful to us. The rooms are so clean.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnesnowtachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear minnesnowtachris:

Thank you for the kind words I will be sure to share them with Lucy and the housekeeping team. We hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Cudos to the Hotel Monaco in Baltimore! Attended a wedding last night at the hotel. The staff was very well trained and a lot of attention was paid to the guests. The food was good too! The historical building defines the space and care is given to provide information to the guests about the history of the building and the B & O railroad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear klmaestra:

Thank you for the five star review.
The Monaco is perfect for weddings and I am glad that you agree.
We hope your return soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Boutique style hotel that was clean, well presented, and exceeded our expectations in most areas. Lovely old bank building with beautiful marble staircase and stained glass windows. Valet staff friendly and permitted us to stay extra hours without charge. Valet was only option at $38 per night. Little pricey. They upgraded our room before I made the request. Greeted us with free wine and pizza bites happy hour. Had free coffee and tea in AM but we missed it. Stored our luggage without a hitch. Helped with restaurant recommendations. Free WiFy for rewards members and ten dollars to spend on mini bar. Large jacuzzi tub in suite. Oversized bathroom with nice toiletries. Sitting room could use more light. Comfortable bed and stylish robes. Had to turn off the heat as noise was annoying and it was too hot. Neighborhood was OK in business district. Would have preferred something with more safe walking distance options. Had a nice hamburger in B&O restaurant attached. Very convenient as we were afraid to walk three blocks in darkness with only few people on the street. Twice the doormen remembered where we were going and asked us how we enjoyed it? Very impressive personal touch. Would return.



Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank didi9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear didi9999:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TA community.
It was great to read you enoyed the property and our team took such great care of you.
We look forward to your return as I am sure your next stay will warrant a five star review.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love staying at Klimpton Hotels, they restore great buildings with modern rooms that don't seem cookie cutter. This stay was for 2 nights. I took full advantage -- the wine tasting is lovely by the large fire place. I came back later to read the paper by the fire. The fitness room has 3 treadmills, 2 or 3 ellipticals machines and 2 bikes, along with some weight lifting machines and free weights. Quite large for a hotel.

The room was large enough to do the in-room yoga both mornings after the visit to the fitness room.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. After 3 Klimpton hotels, I am a big fan!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottawa212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Dottawa212:

We love that you love staying with us.
Thank you for the kind words I will be sure to share them with our entire team.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent a night here in one of the large rooms with the soaking tub. Amazing service, great bar, and a beautiful and fun decor. Highly recommended for a quick getaway if you are from the area. Book a room on a high floor for a nice view.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jr2514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear jr2514:

Thank you for the great review!
I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your return.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richpho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Every Kimpton Hotel we've stay has been awesome, this is no different. Very friendly staff, clean building, comfy beds and very cool bathrobes in the closet. If you need a place, this is it... Look no farther. We were within walking distance to the inner harbor, arena and Camden Yards.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank richpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear richpho:

What an awesome review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and team took great care of you.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#2 of 63 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#18 of 63 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing