We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't remember staff members name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Can't remember staff members name”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The bartender and waiter we had was wonderful....my wife and I are trying to remember his name we think it was jay or something like that lol....we were there there evening of sept 16th if you could help us out that would be great...we would love to write a good review thank you and we look forward to hearing back from you soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arceye80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Arcye80:

Thank you for the kind words.
I beleive the server you are referring to is Jaymo.
He has been with us since we opened the hotel and is a pleasure to work with.
I will be sure to share this feedback with him.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    439
    149
    58
    29
See reviews for
315
640
96
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The bathroom smelled like pee when we entered the room. I asked for housekeeping to come clean it while we went to dinner. When we returned, smell was the same. They said somebody cleaned it, but it was unbearable. Too bad. Pretty hotel, great restaurant and bar downstairs, and all of the staff members were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank chellebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Chellebr:

It was great to hear you enjoyed your the hotel and our team took great care of you.
Please know I will look into the issue you experienced with you bathrooom and adress it.
The property and team are fantastic! I hope you return again soon so we can show what a great property we have.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I picked this hotel over other options because I have heard that the Kimpton hotels are uniformly good, but that was not my experience at all. They seem to be more show than tell - i.e., pretty rooms, fancy leopard-print bathrobes, etc., but no customer service. As an example, for some reason my king-size bed had only a sheet (no comforter, duvet, or other blanket) and two tiny pillows (about half the size of standard) that were flat as pancakes. When I called the front desk to ask them for more pillows and blankets, it took them over an hour (and two more phone calls) to show up at my door, and even then they only brought two additional pillows (no blankets). At that point it was about 1 AM and I just wanted to sleep, so I gave up. I requested that housekeeping leave additional linens the next day, but when I returned to my room at 7 pm after being out all day, my room hadn't been made up at all. The housekeeping staff did not replenish the minibar at all during my 4-night stay.

The desk staff was generally unfriendly, and although they did offer to reimburse me for my wifi charges to address the inconvenience, they ended up charging me anyway, which I did not discover until I received my credit card statement. In calling back to address the charges, I was forwarded to their finance manager, who never returned my voicemail (I gave him 2 days before calling back). Although it did get straightened out after several phone calls, it should not have been such a hassle.

I will note that the manager did refund half of the room charge for one of the nights of my stay, but even at the reduced rate (for a single night), this hotel simply wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keldy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Keldy 23:

I was dissapointed to read the details of your stay.
As you can see from so many other reviewers this is not the level of service we typcially provide.
I will be sure to review your comments with your team and we will adress these concerns.
Should you have the time I woudl appreciate hearing from you so I can personally apologize.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
443-692-6761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Whenever I'm in the Baltimore area, I try my best to stay at this hotel. They consistently knock it out of the park in terms of ambiance, service, amenities and the extras. I'm a big fan of Kimpton Hotels overall, but this hotel seems to be the best out of their bunch. The location is great and I've never really had an issue with room cleanliness or broken amenities (I once had an issue where they're iPod speakers/radios weren't working, and they replaced the unit very quickly).

This hotel is especially great for couples looking for a quick getaway, or business travels who have a little bit of free time to enjoy their trip after their work activities. If a suite with one of the soaking tubs are available, go ahead and get the upgrade... it's so worth it, in my view.

One drawback I should be honest about: The overnight valet parking rate is simply too high. North of $35 per night just doesn't cut it in my view. If you have the ability to get there without parking your car at the hotel, try your best to do so.

Other than that, I have nothing but high marks for this hotel. My last stay was the end of September 2013, and all that I've come to expect out of this hotel has remained the same, or exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Biggest recommendation I could make is go ahead and register for the Kimpton In-Touch membership pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob_Dononvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Jakob_Donanvon:

Thank you for the great review.
Our team will be delighted to hear how much you enjoy staying with us.
Thank you for your loyalty! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel property location is great. Rooms are spacious and very clean, no issues there at all. The reason why I rated this hotel average because of the outrageous prices they want to charge you for the business center , and internet. Also the B&O restaurant is no good needs a lot of work ! Every hotel I ever stay at always provides free WIFI not at this hotel 12.00 per day and they charge you almost $6.00 just to print out one piece of paper---- not business traveler friendly at all. The hotel room is fine , nice clean comfy but room service HORRENDOUS probably because of the B&O restaurant. One morning I called for room service a pot of coffee and a bagel. They said 20 minutes ..well 90 minutes later NOTHING so I called and canceled. Then I tried to get seated at the B&O restaurant plenty of tables just no workers yes there was a convention but you think the hotel would of been ready for this and really it was not that busy . After waiting 20 minutes ordered the steel cut oatmeal it was cold as ice and disgusting had to send it back. Finally just went across the street to Caribou coffee. Breakfast no good . The B&O at night was better and then the free wine from 5:00 to 6:00 in the lobby was a nice touch. If they just work on the B&O breakfast service, room service and would give you free internet this place could be wonderful. Good location between inner harbor and convention center....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWADLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear RWADLOW:

Thank you for staying with us.
I was glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel but sorry to hear the restaurant and room service did not provide the same level of service. We do have a business ceneter for our guests convenience however our front office team is always happy to assist with any printing or othe business needs you may have. I do hope you return so you can experience what so many other reviewers have.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stay at this hotel 3-4 times a year when I come to Baltimore for business, primarily because it offers good quality for the price. The interior is beautiful and the rooms are typically neat, clean, and spacious. On my most recent stay, I booked a Mediterranean Suite because they were having a special on these rooms. The suite was the perfect layout because I had my 2-month-old son with me and it allowed me the living room to work and the bedroom for him to sleep undisturbed because it was separated by a quiet sliding door. The pack n play I requested wasn't initially in the room when I checked in, but the staff had it set up when we returned from lunch. I was pleased with the comfort of the bed, but did experience a few minor issues with my stay.

1) The iPod dock didn't work, but I didn't report this...was a minor thing that I didn't feel like taking the time to call front desk about at the time.
2) There were no infant tubs available (not necessary, but a nice thing to have on hand, particularly when it's impossible to give an infant a bath in the huge Jacuzzi tub in the Mediterranean Suite).

Other than these small things, this hotel stay was enjoyable. I should also note that on a previous stay, I had a very bad experience with hotel room service. The food was not as described on the menu and items were missing though I had been charged. I did complain about this to hotel management during that stay a few months ago, and they took the charges off of my bill and brought me some fruit with a handwritten apology note. That was nice. I was nervous about ordering again, but needed a snack while working from my room. I ordered and was pleased with both the quality of the food and the service this time around. Kudos to the hotel for improving on this.

Room Tip: Mediterranean Suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonhunter09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Honeymoonhunter:

Thank you for staying with us when you are in Baltimore.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am excited for your return as I am sure we can turn this four star review into the five star reviews we so often receive.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I loved the interior of this hotel - it is the renovated former corporate offices of the old Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. the ceiling in my room had to be 16 ft high, with two large windows about 10 ft high. It is on the corner of Charles and Baltimore St, so Inner harbour and Mount Vernon are very close to walk to. There is also the Circulator (free bus) stop across the street for the Purple route.

Wine reception in the lounge every evening. As with the other Hotel Monaco I have stayed in (Alexandria, VA) , this one has the "funky" seats and couches.

Overall, a really great stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear anne12345678:

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location.
Our location is ideal for enjoying all that Baltimore has to offer.
We look forward to your return.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#18 of 67 in Baltimore
1,117 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing