We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Convenience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury and Convenience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Upon arrival, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the building is beautiful inside and out! The front desk is on the second floor, which threw me off for a minute, but that's ok. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, and the high ceilings give the feeling of more space, which I loved.

The bar and restaurant is located downstairs, along with a restroom area that blew my mind. Ok, I know that's a little strange to say, but it had mood lighting, some sort of awesome scent in the air, a Rothko painting, and two luxuriously upholstered chairs next to a fireplace...heaven! LOL. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did have a couple drinks at the bar during happy hour; the drinks were ok and the prices were reasonable. During a future stay, I would probably seek out a local bar instead.

Camden Yards, Inner Harbor, Federal Hill, Walters Museum, and historic downtown area are all within walking distance. There are a number of food and drink options nearby as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MellyMel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear MellyMel1973:

Thank you for staying with us!
Glad to hear you had a great stay and our team took good care of you.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    381
    130
    49
    23
See reviews for
266
582
90
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wonderful renovation of the old B&O railroad building. Lovely rooms, friendly staff. Short walk to inner harbor and Camden Yards. Only complaint is slow elevators, but it may have been a temporary situation. Great bar with interesting assortment of drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. Many rooms give out on brick walls of adjacent buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrassist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mrassist:

The building really is something to admire I am glad you noticed.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay I hope you had a chance to read through our history on our panel tour of the building located on the second floor.
Don't be a stranger.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Old charm building with contemporary upgraded rooms. Clean & safe. Walking distance to everything. Incredibly friendly staff. Reliable valet service. Only issue was finding registration desk. I would stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MillersChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Millers Child:

Glad you made the choice to stay with us.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay I will be sure to share this great feedback with our entire team. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed two nights for business in March. Nice place, beautiful historic renovations in the building. If you are an architecture buff or appreciate renovated building, you will love this place. However, take ear plugs because it is pretty loud on the downtown streets.

If you use bar soap, bring your own because there was only shower gel available for use.

I called ahead of time and requested a feather free room. Arrived at 5:00. Had to wait an hour for my room to be "de-featherized." I don't understand this. The hotel gave me a bottle wine for my wait, but it was not needed since the wine is complimentary in the late afternoon.

Meeting facility was nice, food was outstanding for the meetings.

Service in the restaurant sucked, but I have already taken this up with the manager.

I am a Kimpton fan so I would return if I were ever in this area, unless I wanted to be closer to the waterfront. It was not just a hop, skip and a jump away. And probably not safe to walk to alone.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a quiet room location if you want to sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Terriv:

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing this feedback with us.
We love hearing that our guests enjoyed the beauty and history of our building.
We are located about 3 blocks from the water in a down town location so sometimes those city streets can be a bit noisy. I will be sure to follow up with our team on the issues you experienced in the restaurant and at arrival, I can assure this was a one off. We do hope you join us again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times on business. Cant' say enough good things about the hotel staff. Hotel is in a wonderful historic building (I believe that is true for most of this chain). Rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished - bathrooms - at least in the suites (haven't stayed in regular room) - are huge. Located in the heart of downtown Baltimore- though area is a bit dicey to walk at night... You are well taken care of at Kimpton properties. Nice wine reception each evening for guests...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMc1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear JMc1225:

Thanks for taking the time to share you feedback with the TA community.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great Kimpton experience.
We love taking care of our guests and great to hear you felt the love.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed at Kimpton properties in various cities, and the Monaco is one of their premium hotels. This property does not disappoint. The building is originally the B & O Railroad HQ and it is a sumptuous building with fantastic architectural details. My room on the 12th floor had a very modern and luxurious bathroom with a deep and long jacuzzi tub that fit my 6'4 body very well (separate glass shower). Location is very convenient to Inner Harbor, with lots of restaurant choices within 4-6 blocks. I was tired and decided to just dine at B & O Restaurant at be hotel. I have NEVER had a bad meal at a Monaco or Palomar (the two premium Kimpton properties). The meal was not "horrible" enough to send back (we had the lamb sausage/ribs, crab Mac & cheese, Brussels sprouts, beet salad), but it was very forgettable. The bartender was GREAT, and I'd recommend this place for drinks, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear BernardRene:

I wish I could say I had that problem of fitting in tubs unfortunately I do not (If the tubs get any bigger I will need water wings) . Thanks for being such a big Kimpton fan. As you know we take our food very seriously as we will the comments on our restaurant. We do hope you join us again as our new Chef has just finished rolling out his new menu.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. Room was very small, bed and pillows were uncomfortable. The room was always very warm and stuffy. But at least it was quiet. Doesn't have a pool which was a big disappoitment. The worst of our experience was the restraurant. Horribly pricey and the food was just ok, nothing to write home about. I splurged on room service for breakfast and it was the absolute worst breakfast I have ever had. I ordered Rye toast 2 eggs and ham with tomato juice. What I got was the 2 scrambled eggs and ham plus potatoes and A SLICE of rye bread - not toasted. The bread wasn't fresh and was horribly dry. And it was all COLD! You can get a better meal at McDonald's and I have! This Chef should do himself a favor and stop concentrating on ways to make Pork Belly and concentrate on his skills to make and serve a simple breakfast. Oh and maybe lower his prices $100 for a plain fish dinner for 2 people is outrageous! No appetizers and no alcohol just ice tea. Service was ok, but a little slow.

Room Tip: Too expensive to justify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melnmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear melnmissy:

Great to hear you loved the hotel and our your guest room.
We will be sure to share your feedback on the food with our restaurant team.
Our new Chef did just roll out a new menu so we do hope you come check it out.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#2 of 61 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Regency Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#1 of 61 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing