We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for Playoff Football”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay for Playoff Football”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just back from the Monaco Baltimore this past weekend. We were in town as Colts fans on Saturday night for the Sunday Colts/Vikings game at M&T Bank Park. Since there was a Kimpton in town of course I had to check it out.

We got a very reasonable rate as a Last Minute Deal and were upgraded to a suite. At check in they didn't mention the upgrade but boy was it a pleasant surprise when we opened the doors to the room. The corner Mediterranean Suite we had was amazing! It had a separate living room and bedroom area which were both of ample size. The bathroom was also quite large and had a soaking spa tub that rocked. I had informed the hotel we were in town for football and they had the TVs pre-programmed to go to straight to the football channel. Our room was ready with our welcome snacks because of my inner circle status, a bottle of wine, cookies and fruit which were all delicious.

The 5 o'clock wine hour was very popular and in addition to the wine and drinks there was also a small food appetizer that was a nice addition. We ate dinner in the B&O restaurant downstairs the pizza was very large and the deviled eggs were some of the best I've ever had.

All the staff was friendly and helpful even to these Colts fans in a Vikings town. The stadium was a quick walk from the hotel and we were able to leave our bags with the bell man and our car in the valet till after the game and then pick both up and head out. If I ever find myself in Baltimore again its the only place I'd stay.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are very large if you want extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyKitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear JodyKitcher:

Thank you for being so loyal to Kimpton Hotels and Restaurants.
We love our InnerCircle members, our team will be so excited to read this feedback.
We hope you join us again very soon!

Go Ravens (sorry I had to)

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    434
    145
    58
    28
See reviews for
308
637
94
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry Hall, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a wonderful New Years Eve stay at the Hotel Monaco. Hotel is absolutely beautiful The entrance is incredible with the Marble staircase etc... The staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. Rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. The robes were a nice touch... Overall an extremely enjoyable experience and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbull84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear pbull84:

Happy new year!
Glad you got to ring in the new year at the finest hotel in Baltimore.
Don't wait another year to come see us, check us out soon as we are always adding new amenities in services to WOW our guests.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepherdstown wv
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Took the family for our annual Christmas pilgrimage to Baltimore to see the light show, etc... and was not disappointed. The Monaco is a lovely old lady that has been updated without losing it's origingal character and charm. The staff was warm and welcoming from the minute we pulled up and piled out! The suite was spacious, and the walls of windows with wide sills were perfect for sitting and staring at the views of the harbor.The sofa bed in the living room had a 6' mattress that was very comfy. The only down side is that there were not any extra pillows and blankets in the room, but housekeeping was happy to supply them. But the real winner was the bathroom! Large enough to throw a party in, with an amazing soaking tub,and walk in shower, it was hard to leave the room to enjoy the city!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor and harborview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shetown12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear shetown12:

Thank you for spending your holiday pilgrimage with us.
I was happy to see you had a great stay and loved your room.
Don't wait another year to come see us, we always have some great packages and promotions so keep an eye out and join us soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and we had a very pleasant stay. The front desk person did not seem fully informed and needed to go to the back office several times to get information while we were checking in. However she was very welcoming and we did get a reasonable rate. We did not sample any of the food. The room was lovely and well appointed - modern in decor. We visited the inner harbour and had a lovely Christmas Eve meal at Phillips restaurant. The door man was very helpful. We were directed to park at a nearby underground facility which was considerably less expensive than the valet parking offered by the hotel. We enjoyed a lovely quiet evening watching movies.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank myroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear myroes:

Thank you for spending your holiday with us.
We hope you check us out again soon and when you do you have to try the food.
B&O American Brasserie is an excellent choice for Cocktails and a great dinner.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were invited to a holiday party in Baltimore so decided to make a getaway of it from Annapolis. Chose Monaco Baltimore and boy, were we happy with that decision. This property is elegant and old-school. You feel like you're in a 40's movie but the service is definitely 21st century. There is a wine reception every afternoon; the only drawback to this was that we were sharing the lounge space with a pre-wedding reception. We were told we could only be in certain areas of the lobby (what I would consider a public space) and were asked to leave once the wedding was over and the wedding party was coming to the after-wedding reception. That was odd and a little off-putting. However, that didn't affect our stay. The rooms are clean, with nice amenities, and they are quiet. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleiblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Bleiblum:

Thank you for staying with us!
Good to hear you had a great stay and were able to enjoy our amenities and service.

We hope you visit again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the Monaco Baltimore last week for two nights. Great old building that has been renovated to a boutique hotel. Service was great, as were the room. Bed extremely comfortable and rooms were very quiet. Great location on Charles Street, 2-3 blocks from the inner harbor. Only drawback is the parking fee ($36/night) save yourself a few dollars and park yourself in a public lot 2 blocks away for ($21/night). Restaurant in the hotel (B&O) is quite good.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyeykysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear hyeykysy:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our hotel and restaurant.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your self.

Come back again soon

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for two nights before embarking on a cruise. It was really special. Every day at 5:00, they serve complimentary wine and apple cider in a quiet lounge off the lobby. We met two very nice couples and had some nice chats. All of the staff were very helpful with info about how to get around town and where to go for entertainment and dinner. We didn't get our room made up after the first night but this was a minor inconvenience. We will consider Kimpton hotels in our future travel plans.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badandq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Badandq:

I love when I hear guests talk about how they met other travelers at our wine reception.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 66 in Baltimore
1,094 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing