We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs more adequate management...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs more adequate management...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A very beautiful building located close to the inner harbor but management is to be blamed for a poorly trained staff. Everyone was polite but it was clear that they lacked the knowledge required to maintain the level of service expected.
The day we checked into the room we found peanuts on the floor. We asked to have the room vacuumed. Not only was it not vacuumed, the room was never cleaned until day three of our five day stay. We had to ask the housekeeper to thoroughly dust; the amount of dust in the room at checkin
looked like the room had not been dusted in weeks. Very disappointing.
What was most disturbing was management never responded to our complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sfmrk:

Thank you for your feedback as all feedback assists us in improving our operation.
Sounds like we dropped the ball with your stay and I am truly sorry for that. I know that our Hotel Manager attempted to contact you a couple of times and was unable to catch you.
Please know our goal is to exceed our guests expecation not fall short of them. I would be happy to discuss this further to make it right. I can be contacted at 443-692-6171.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    410
    140
    52
    26
See reviews for
285
626
92
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Booked a room for our 27th Wedding Anniversary

Front desk found out and upgraded our room, Erica at the Front Desk was great and very helpful.

Hotel was very clean, room very nice, valet included in our room rate along with a bottle of wine saved money as a nice package

Easy walk to the inner harbor, and Fells Point.

I highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Jim L:

Happy anniversary!
Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion.
We love to celebrate with our guest.
We hope to see you next year if not sooner.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose to return to the Hotel Monaco Baltimore to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. Had a fabulous experience in June and this return visit lived up to all of our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by all staff members. We found the staff to be extraordinary throughout the weekend. Love the Kimpton "Wine Hour" tradition. Lee Seiler, hotel manager, hosted the Wine Hour. Enjoyed meeting him, talking and relaxing in the "living room lobby". The decor of the lobby and rooms lives up to the grandeur its historic structure. Our corner suite was gorgeous, quiet and sparkling clean. Once again, I was impressed by the twelve foot ceilings, eight foot windows, marble bathroom with fuji spa tub, animal print terry robes, and luxurious bed linens. Much to our surprise, Lee sent a bottle of wine and cheese tray to our room along with a hand written note. The B&O restaurant did not disappoint. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts, drinks and appetizers during our stay. Love the location of this hotel. It is a short walk to the Inner Harbor, but still far enough away from the crowds of tourists. Left our car in the garage all weekend and used the water taxi at the Inner Harbor to visit Fells Point, Canton and Little Italy. At check out, the front desk receptionist told us about call ahead seating at Miss Shirley's Cafe. She made the call and we were on our way. The car valet wished us a happy anniversary...not sure how he knew, but this was another example of Kimpton personalized service. This was our 3rd stay at a Kimpton Hotel, with a 4th trip booked in February at the Hotel Monaco Philadelphia. The big hotel chains can't come close to matching the level of excellence and service that Kimpton provides.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPC2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear LPC2910:

Thank you for your great review!
I was dleighted to hear you had such a great stay and got to enjoy our hotel and the great city of Baltimore. I am sure you will also enjoy our Philly properties. We hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time last weekend and were absolutely thrilled with the accommodations and service. Check-in was extremely fast. We called ahead and the front desk was extremely helpful in making dinner reservations. We are InTouch program members and ALL of our preferences were met and then some. The wine reception was very fun. Met many interesting people from all over the country. Very easy walk to Inner Harbour. Special thanks to Lee Seiler for his hospitality. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enbplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear enbplus3:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I loved to hear that Lee and our team took such great care of you.
Check us out again soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

When a major rainstorm suspended flights from BWI this past Friday, I seized the opportunity to explore yet another Kimpton. Within 20 minutes of catching a cab, I was safely inside Hotel Monaco, a renovation of the landmark B&O Railroad Headquarters with stately marble columns and stairways. Matching the gorgeous interior was a friendly and welcoming staff ready to address my lack of luggage (the overnight supply kit was perfect). Kudos to Simon, Christina, Vijal and Chanelle for transforming my travel adversity into an exceeding pleasant evening (and wishing me a very happy birthday)!

My suite including a living room, huge bath and well-appointed bedroom also offered a lovely view of the downtown area. I might have ordered room service given the expansive menu but opted to visit the on-site restaurant that is excellent. My only regret was booking a flight so early the following day that I did not have a chance to use the fitness center or enjoy the many nearby attractions. Great space; I recommend it highly and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellengallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear ellengallagher:

Sounds like you need to come back real soon so you can check out all we have to offer!
Our team loves to hear feedback like this. Please know I will be sure to share this with all of them.

See you soon,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

As with all Kimpton Hotels, the Monaco Baltimore is the definition of excellence in every way! Starting with the warm greeting, curbside, you enter the historic B&O Railroad building to the distinctive Kimpton smell -- fresh, clean, inviting, memorable! Ms. Erica, assisted us, pre-trip, by sharing the highlights of the city she clearly loves -- she helped us plan a day-by-day itinerary of Baltimore. What a great city to visit! Simon and Christina greeted us at the desk -- it felt like homecoming, though it was our first visit to the Monaco, in Baltimore. The room was immaculate, beautifully designed and luxuriously comfortable! The public rooms in the hotel are gorgeous, and inviting -- don't miss the opportunity to linger by the see-through fireplace. We can't wait to return -- thank you for such an outstanding experience!

Room Tip: All rooms in Kimpton Hotels are outstanding...you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbkatz1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Nbkatz1218:

We can't wait for you to come back either.
Love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to let our team know they made your stay memorable.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DETROIT
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just got back from the Monaco and it was terrific!!!! Staff was great and always had a smile on their faces. The 1 hour Reception was awesome, they served Red & White Wine and Melon wrapped in Proscuitto (scrumptious). I didn't eat at their Restaurant but I heard it was great as well. I don't know if the hotel was packed but it sure didn't feel like it but I know there were two weddings because I saw the brides. If you need a place to stay, I would definite recommend this location, please do not stay at the Radisson around the corner pay extra to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APRILJ716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
MYMYMY70:

Thank you for your great feedback!
Check us out again very soon as our team is always looking for new ways to WOW our guests.

See you soon,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing