We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Baltimore
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
My new favorite art museum.

This place is filled with beautiful, relevant art on multiple floors in multiple buildings. I can't... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
deejaytortuga
,
Chicago, Illinois
My favorite museum in Baltimore!

So much innovation and ingenuity all with great conscience and heart. I love this place. It... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Peace500
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
via mobile
Read all 1,602 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Baltimore
from $27.18
More Info
from $22.03
More Info
from $66.37
More Info
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveler rating
1,155
319
87
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,155
319
87
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop self taught fun house second building three buildings federal hill inner harbor unique experience on display visiting baltimore sculptures outsider sideshow bras mediums wacky genetic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2020

This museum is a credit to one woman with a great vision — co-founder Rebecca Hoffberger who also happens to be a wonderfully warm human being with a heart of gold. To say that the contents of this museum are eclectic would be an understatement — ranging from the bizarre to the incredible. Loved every minute spent there!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank DominicDeBurca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

I'm not usually a fan of art but the unique artists featured here have powerful stories. The art itself can be moving and whimsical. Make sure you check all 3 buildings and the outdoor sculpture garden.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 839tobyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

This small folk art museum has several meaningful exhibits concerning the environment, the Holocaust, humanity. But not a downer by any means! The vibe is colorful, upbeat, and happy. Also included is a sculpture area with fascinating whirligigs and an exhibit about screen art seen only in Baltimore. We thoroughly enjoyed the place, a thought provoking fun day. It’s near the Federal Hill park and neighborhood, good for a walk around.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank travgal0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

This was so weird and so cool. I’m so glad it was suggested to me. It’s not huge and you can get through both building in about 30-45 minutes or so. Definitely very unique and interesting.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank MelissaAO15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

Originally we were skeptical of going to this museum as it seemed like it may be too quirky.

We were pleasantly surprised by the depth of the work and the message of the pieces. The most moving was the exhibit about the holocaust and genocide. We watched the video about the artist which helped to provide the full story about the intricately sewn tapestries describing various parts of her journey as a holocaust survivor. The video and exhibit brought me to tears and I highly recommend it. It is an interesting and personal way to learn about the holocaust.

They also had excellent exhibits about climate change and the environment. The second building had very unique wood pieces that had mechanically moving parts. Overall it was a must see in Baltimore.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank LK229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews