We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my idea of art but a cool building none the less”

American Visionary Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be prepared for the unusual and imaginative at this museum housing works by non-mainstream artists, including the "whirligig", a 55-foot wind-powered sculpture, a 10-foot model of the Lusitania made entirely out of match sticks and a mobile that spans three floors.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not my idea of art but a cool building none the less”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Went here for a wedding which included free access to the museum, a lot of what was in there is questionable at best but there were also some quality pieces that make you think and the design of the building is great

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    902
    266
    75
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sykeville, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AVAM”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We liked everything. This is not your mothers museum. It is unique and very interesting. Mr. Rains Fun House is a great restaurant located at the top.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
407 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Quirky but interesting art”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very unusual art but well displayed and interesting. Spread across several buildings in a nice setting nearby the waterfront.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a treasure”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A visit here is good for anyone from 6 to ? We have had Grands from that age to 13, who marveled at the experience. The gift shop is a real stitch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Quirky”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've done a couple of weddings at the AVAM - and each time, I've made sure I have time to visit the various galleries. Such unusual pieces. One will never be disappointed!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank revangelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Visionary Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Visionary Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing