We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

American Visionary Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 229 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be prepared for the unusual and imaginative at this museum housing works by non-mainstream artists, including the "whirligig", a 55-foot wind-powered sculpture, a 10-foot model of the Lusitania made entirely out of match sticks and a mobile that spans three floors.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I went to this museum when it was free for Bank of America card holders. It is free for bank of america card holders in the first weekend of every month. So if you have bank of america card, it is a very good place to go. and the exibits are excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Feifeirunrunrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    270
    75
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hoodlum95
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, quirky museum”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I always like to see the different exhibits and displays at AVAM. It's a great colorful museum. I don't think it's a good place for kids, but for adults, it's fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hoodlum95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“You've never see art like this before!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Self-trained artist and one-of-a-kind approaches to art are definitely worth seeing. It will inspire the creativity in you. Don't leave without checking out the gift shop! It's as unique as the museum!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne-MarieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic and fun”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to the museum expecting it to be great and we we happy that we thought so too! Even though some of it was closed due to getting a new exhibit, the price was adjusted accordingly and what we saw was fabulous. Fun, folk art, fabulous,fantastic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnS3703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Taking art to a whole new level.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Last march we visited the AVAM. I hadn't really been to a museum like this in quite some time. The people were extremely friendly and the exhibits were amazing. The best part is that most of the artists are self-taught and/or have little to no formalized training. It's amazing to see such great expression of emotions displayed in such beautiful ways. You have got to stop by their restaurant for a glass of their vinedos y bodegas moraudos. (Spanish spelling isn't necessary to enjoy this awesome red)! The gift shop has awesome gifts and unique finds. We are going to the premier of their new exhibit next Friday. It is going to be a wonderful event. Best part is that you can choose to spend a day there and view all three buildings, or you can just stop by again to visit your favorite exhibit. Must see for everyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndBmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Visionary Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Visionary Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing