We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Reviews”

American Visionary Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be prepared for the unusual and imaginative at this museum housing works by non-mainstream artists, including the "whirligig", a 55-foot wind-powered sculpture, a 10-foot model of the Lusitania made entirely out of match sticks and a mobile that spans three floors.
Jackson, NJ
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I really enjoyed this museum but the rest of my family said they could have skipped it. All my daughters did enjoy the great big ball made out of bra's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobaloo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    265
    74
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Insight into Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this museum. It is worlds away from a traditional art museum, which I also enjoy. The layout of the museum is very user-friendly. We were there at a peak time, Saturday afternoon in the summertime, and had no difficulty getting close to any exhibit we wanted to see and spending as much time as we needed to on them. Admission price includes some outbuildings and outdoor art that are worth your time as well. This museum is a beautiful reminder of the hidden talents among us, and that giftedness comes in so many forms. The gift shop is also very cool and very reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Always something to check out. This is the kind of place that makes Baltimore unique. Art of Story Telling is there now. Last year i saw the 100,000 tooth pick wonder! If you like outsider art here it is.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A world away from typical art museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My two teen daughters, husband and I were in Baltimore on a college tour and I had found this place listed on trip advisor. I enjoyed it so much but please don't anticipate typical art (which my family did) -- you have to be open to folk art and unique perspectives! In the rear there is a garden with fountains and a tree house made of branches that is whimsical -- as are many of the things within the museum. In the large building next to the main museum, there are larger- than-life parade float-like objects with two-person vehicles attached. These include an elephant made of cords and fiber products, a giant pink poodle made of tulle and a mad scientist. There are also bicycles with animal heads (possibly paper mache?) mounted on their handle bars and a whole row of tiny mechanical pieces that you push a button and things like a mouse run out from a table while a cat pounces, or a carved man rows a boat (reminded me of German carvings I've seen at Christmas festivals). Inside the museum itself there are pieces in a variety of media such as cut paper, mozaic tile, wood, pen and ink, acrylics, oil and some videos about specific artists. Many of the artists had typical 9-to-5 lives and then retired to make their art 24/7, sometimes selling their fountains or sculptures from their home. Many of the artists suffered from emotional differences and their unique view of the world fostered magnificent imaginative pieces or, in some cases, art that one might expect from a child. Regardless, there is a magic to it all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JStravelerfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsgrove USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is an inspiring and fun museum that the whole family can enjoy. Take your time to read and learn about each display as the fun and intrigue is in the details. Don't forget the outdoor exhibits, like the huge balcony iron bird nest. Nice experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Visionary Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Visionary Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing