We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll laugh...you'll cry...”

American Visionary Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be prepared for the unusual and imaginative at this museum housing works by non-mainstream artists, including the "whirligig", a 55-foot wind-powered sculpture, a 10-foot model of the Lusitania made entirely out of match sticks and a mobile that spans three floors.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“You'll laugh...you'll cry...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Drove up to Baltimore to visit this museum on a sunny Saturday morning in June. Easy couple of turns off BW Parkway, and we found on-street (metered) parking as their website promised. My 14yo daughter and I found the Art of Storytelling exhibit to be thought-provoking and touching, and we found the permanent collection intriguing, quirky, and fun. Beautiful campus, clean restrooms, and a great museum shop. Entrance fee was a bit pricey, but we need to support our visionary artists and learn the stories they tell in their work.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    265
    74
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
235 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Small, jam packed unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This unusual museum may be the hardest to describe yet. It is identified as a collection of “self-taught, intuitive artistry”(quoting from their information sheet at the entrance), so I guess I will go with that. Do not expect names you know but be prepared to be entertained with offerings that range from thought-provoking and heart rending to quirky and laugh out loud pieces. The former, for me, was a collection of crewel work tapestries created by a woman who survived Nazi Germany. Each piece captures details from her family life before and during the occupation. Take your time to work through this history and read the tapestries as you go. Follow it up, around the corner, with the quotes on the wall, and be ready to laugh or smile. I especially like the one by Eleanor Roosevelt on having a rose named for her, but won’t spoil it here. Make sure you visit all 3 buildings so you don’t miss things like screen part (really paintings done on window screens) and the large/ comic vehicular collection in the barn. There is also a great section on wooden mechanical toys that you are free to watch move as you push the buttons. Also, a secret, these are the most entertaining bathrooms yet (especially the 3rd floor (women’s but I hope the same is true for the guys). For kids and not to “snooty” adults. They don’t allow pictures inside, but hopefully the ones I took outside will help give you more of a feel for this great afternoon experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank napalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you are going to visit one art museum here, this is the one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The art is unique and quirky. You can eventually get bogged down by all the different variations of the same thing by more classically trained artists in other museums. This offered such a different perspective and it was far more enjoyable to read about these pieces and their artists. The restaurant was also very good; a bit pricey but worth it. The gift shop was simply amazing. Overall, this was my favorite attraction in Baltimore.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PandemicBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, Creative and Quick (ish)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This museum is populated by eye-popping, visually engaging artwork that will have broad appeal for young and old alike. While the themes informing the work are often "mature" there is little that would scare or startle a child and older visitors will appreciate the creativity on exhibit. The relatively small space makes the museum an easy effort for art education.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaestroMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm so glad we visited. I'm a self-taught artist and it felt like home. It's so gratifying to find a place I related to and wonderful to see all these talented peoples work.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank brainstorm102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Visionary Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Visionary Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing