We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric and Interesting”

American Visionary Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be prepared for the unusual and imaginative at this museum housing works by non-mainstream artists, including the "whirligig", a 55-foot wind-powered sculpture, a 10-foot model of the Lusitania made entirely out of match sticks and a mobile that spans three floors.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Eccentric and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

It's not all fun and games at this fantastic museum. Be ready for hours of fascinating art. Creative and inspiring, I think there is something for everyone here. All ages will enjoy this. Bring the kids or not. Thoughtful and fascinating. Sorry, I know I'm not telling you what you will find here, because it's impossible, just go! And it has the Mother of all gift shops.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank myshorepath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    265
    74
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The creativity in these featured artists was mind boggling. Made me want to think outside the box a lot more in my own day to day life. Inspiring!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeborahT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very interesting artwork here...you never know what you will see and that is what I love about it. We were given the disclaimer "it's kinda weird" before visiting.....it is definitely not your typical art gallery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real favorite that never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the one museum I always try to get to in my travels to Baltimore. The exhibits are always unique, well displayed and thoughtful. Since the works are by artists who have no formal training the medium, subject matter and way the art is displayed is often non traditional. I found the current temporary exhibits to be thought provoking and fascinating. The gift shop is always its own fun and uniquely rewarding time. They offer the opportunity to purchase several one of a kind pieces for those interested in collecting art from artists that often reflects perspectives that are not mainstream. If you are staying in the inner harbor area of Baltimore the museum is an easy walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florida563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun and inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We first visited this museum after a disappointing afternoon of white-on-white, black-on-black at the modern art section of another local museum. It was so much more affirming to see the creativity mostly untaught artists displayed here! My wife and I have been back several times. The exhibits change and naturally not everything has struck us the same way. But we have invariably found beautiful and moving art by people who were obviously moved by deep creative forces within themselves, many of whom labored for years to make the things they did. Often the artists' stories are as interesting as their works. A short walk from the Inner Harbor, it's a lot more interesting than just visiting stores and restaurants.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank adv68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Visionary Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Visionary Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing