We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Ranked #8 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A preeminent Marian shrine and a national center of prayer and pilgrimage, this religious landmark is known for its history, architecture and art.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
257 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Under repair”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Church is going through repairs so you can't go inside except Sat & Sun; and then only if there are no masses. Not mentioned on website. Disappointing. Did see basement area so you could see how the place was constructed, but not what I was hoping for. They should update website to explain that you cannot see actual church

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    93
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
269 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“beautiful and powerful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Truly in inspirational space - transcendent. beautiful art, fine worship, fine music, a place worthy of pilgrimage

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DVE11044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the place is nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

a nice idea to built such a basilica. but to our great sorrow the garden was closed,eventhough according to opening hour it had to be open. we saw it only from far

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nelly065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church in unique style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We cancelled our second visit to the Basilica because it closed a few days before to repair eathquake damage inside. Outside it is still quite beautiful. On our previous visit we toured the church and the crypt. The staff were warm and welcoming and very well informed. The unique style of the church and its furnishings illustrates the federal style of Latrobe and the era of its construction. Parking is difficult. We were 5 minutes over on the meter and had a parking ticket.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jtc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went with our church group, but found it surprisingly interesting.
Watch National Treasure first and let your mind wander...

Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing