We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Traveled in for business. The hotel is well located - walking distance to Inner Harbor, courts, and Mt. Vernon Square. Charm City Connector stops right in front (purple line). Clean rooms, free Internet. Breakfast buffet a little lacking, but the price is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-VilleDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innovativehotels, Manager at Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2010

Thank you so much for posting your recent review of our Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore Hotel. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in the Baltimore area, and that you were able to give us such high rankings in all categories. Our team members always enjoy hearing positive feedback and we will be sure to share this with them. The benefit of our close proximity to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore Aquarium and all of the other great attractions that Baltimore has to offer is something that we hear often from our guests. If your travels bring you back to the Baltimore area, please come back and see us at the Quality Inn Downtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

My friends and I spent one night at the Quality Inn Downtown Batimore because we were attending something at the Convention Center. The hotel said it was .3 miles away, but it was a little further walk. As previously stated, parking is not on-site, but 15.00 a day is reasonable in a major city, you need to carry your belongings a block.
All the staff I encountered were very friendly during our stay. The room was clean but small. We had a room with two queen beds and you could barely move the chair at the desk. The bathroom was a decent size though. The beds were comfortable. The free wi-fi worked fine in our room. The TV on the other hand did not carry ESPN which was not good. Very limited channels on TV. Not too many places to eat directly around the hotel, but you could walk down towards Pratt Street as there are many places down there.
The continental breakfast the next day was bare bones. Toast, cereal, and bagels. It was fine. Overall, the staff was nice, the location was ok, and the room was ok. We stayed at another hotel that weekend (booking issues) and liked it better. I would stay here again, but look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjkcpktrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My son and I were in Baltimore to look at universities and needed an inexpensive place to stay for one night before we were off. Althought the hotel was in walking distance of the inner harbor - it was a healthy walk. Ms. Jackson greeted us at the desk and she was most helpful in helping us get transportation and to give us information about the area and schools. Our room was a bit small but we just used it to sleep. Television was hooked up to a satellite so when a storm came through we couldn't watch tv at night. The free wifi didn't work - we could connect but it wouldn't let us open the internet. A little inconvenient but we made do with the business room that they had. For the price it was great and the service of Ms. Jackson made all of the other quirks palatable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyLJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innovativehotels, Manager at Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore. as you noted, we are in a great location and close proximity to all the colleges and universities in the Baltimore area, as well as the beautiful Inner Harbor area. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and gave us almost perfect ratings despite the few inconveniences during your stay. I'm glad to hear that the terrific service from Ms. Jackson was appreciated; we will be sure to share your feedback with her. Again, we do apologize for the issues with the HSIA and the TV, and hope that these issues won't keep you from coming back to see us at the Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Our first room at this hotel was gross-fingernail clippings on the nightstand, hair of a certain type in the bathroom, burnt matches on the desk. We asked for a room change, which we did receive, and while the second room was cleaner, I wouldn't say it was amazingly better. The rooms are remodeled, but I would rather have an old hotel that is clean than a new one that isn't. The rooms have taken some beatings: I am just guessing that this low-cost hotel is a base for a lot of people who are going out downtown. The breakfast was cereal, yogurt, pre-packaged baked goods, and some hard-boiled eggs. I felt sorry for the foreigners who were using the hotel as their base to explore Baltimore, because I overheard snippets of their unhappiness with the breakfast in general. There is also a club on the first floor, which is something to consider-if you want to go out all night and party, great, but if you want to sleep, stay away from the floors immediately above it! In addition, the service at the front desk was not very helpful, and we overheard a heated exchange between the hotel staff and another guest who was unhappy with their stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotutschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Hotel is just a few blocks from the convention center. Parking was available in a public garage across the street. There were two major problems. When we checked in, the outside temperature was close to 100 deg and the temperature in our room was 92 deg. Air conditioner was not on when we arrived so we went out for a few hours. Upon our return, the temperature had gone done, but only by a half dozen degrees. By the next moring, temperature was still at 82 deg. The second problem is that outside the main entrance is a gathering place for the homeless and/or unemployed. My wife felf very uncomfortable entering or leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cswirski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has been renovated is very modern inside. Our room was very small, but we only had a king, so for two people, there was plenty of room. The hotel is short on "fancier" amenities that you would find at other, more expensive, downtown hotels (ex: no room service, though there is FREE wi-fi), but is clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and in a terrific location. It's about a ten minute walk down St. Paul/Light St to the inner harbor, and maybe 15 minutes to Oriole Park.

Since we only stayed one night, we didn't experience any housekeeping, but check in and out was smooth and the front desk was able to give directions and recommendations for restaurants. Another review commented about loiterers asking for money out front--nobody asked me for money, but, um, it's the city and it's downtown, what do you expect?

Overall, we would (and probably will) definitely stay here again. It's a great place to crash after an O's game, or as a home base for a weekend at the Inner Harbor.

Two major downsides: there is no free parking (the garage a block away was $15 for a 24-hour period); and there is no place to park temporarily in front of the hotel for check in. In front of the hotel, there is a "no stopping zone" until after 7pm. We solved this by leaving my husband pulled over on Lexington while I checked in and got directions to the closest garage. Not a big deal, but something to consider.

Another tip: our "view" was a roof and the three outside walls of the hotel. If we came back, I would request a room with a street view.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h1joly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Was able to get a decent rate for Fri/Sat stay in the Baltimore downtown. Only a couple blocks to the Inner Harbor, so very nice walk in good weather or a cheap (under $5) cab ride. Check in was quick, and the front desk clerks seemed friendly.

It's an older hotel, but in really good shape. The room itself was clean with a decent layout and plenty of room. The bathroom has definately been modernized not too long ago. There was some street noise from traffic, but we were able to sleep well.

There is a business area off the lobby with 3 PCs you can use for free. And they have free continental breakfast.

I will definately look here again when coming back to Baltimore. Great location, and good price for a decent room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostboydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#56 of 67 in Baltimore
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor

Address: 110 Saint Paul St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1704 (Formerly Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range: $86 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Downtown hotel in Baltimore MD near Inner Harbor's National Aquarium. Ideally located in the heart of the city, the Quality Inn® Downtown hotel is close to all the best Baltimore, Maryland offers. Local points of interest like the National Aquarium in Baltimore and the Port Discovery Children's Museum are all just minutes away.Additional area attractions close to this Baltimore, MD hotel include:•Baltimore Convention Center•M&T Bank Stadium, home of the NFL's Baltimore Ravens•The France-Merrick Performing Arts Center•The Walters Art Museum•Lyric Opera HouseThe nearby Harborplace & The Gallery shopping, dining and entertainment district offers something for everyone. Whether you want to stroll along the banks of the Inner Harbor, enjoy a delightful meal or peruse countless shops looking for that must-have item, this venue has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Quality Inn Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing