We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay apart from a few spots”
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
british columbia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great stay apart from a few spots”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This is a great place to stay for those who appreciate something different. For a three star hotel it is both an impressive experience and a wonderful location. Things got off to a slightly rocky start as our room key failed to work. Despite promises from the front desk I think we would still be standing there now waiting for them to open the door had it not been for a very pleasant maid who let us in.

Rooms are all individual and quirky - our heating/cooling system was more than adequate, though in mid summer it might not be the case. The hotel itself is full of character and charm, and everyone who works there has a wonderful helpful approach. The location is perfect for exploring the inner harbor and was a complete surprise for us given that this was our first visit to Baltimore.

My only gripe is this irritating hotel enjoyment tax. As we stayed on a Sat/Sun we were unable to take part in any of the routine weekly events taking advantage of the area and the hotel's heritage. We were still stung for the 'resort' fee - why not just incorporate the stupid thing into the base rate instead of adding it on at the end?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    289
    94
    68
    43
See reviews for
197
547
60
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lock Haven, PA
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I went to the Admiral Fell on recommendation from Johns Hopkins' personnel. Since I was working around appointments, I tried to make a "mini-vacation'"out of my free time. Access to the Water Taxis, Inner Harbor and all the attractions and restaurants made it a wonderful time.

Thanks to all the staff, the shuttle driver and Lou Johnson who made it all possible!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LockHaven_PASasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauraturner510
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Fantastic hotel, the staff was really great- nice and informative especially of parking. They knew about all the local hotspots. The room was very clean and historical with the canopy beds with plenty of room, especially in the bathroom which you don't find in most places! The best part is the location which is right in the heart of fells, you go outside and everything is right there! I went with friends and we had a blast but I would have loved to go with my spouse since I think it would be quite romantic!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraturner510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I stayed at the Admiral Fell In while enjoying a weekend at Historic Fells Point, Inner Harbour, Baltimore Maryland. Wonderful waterfront dinning, shopping and strolling. many excellent historic pubs and taverns with live music. This is a beautiful Historic Hotel very much in vibe with the Fell's Point atmosphere. Excellent location in the Center of Fell's Point. Beautifull historicall appointed rooms. And without a doubt the most personable, accomodating staff I have ever experienced. Assistant Hotel Manager Brett Henry and Registration clerk Jessica made my stay extremely memorable. I would highly recommend a stay here, the staff will make it magical!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thurmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We stayed at the Admiral Fell Inn for my buddy's bacholar party and we had a blast. The service is wonderful and the staff are knowledgable about the area. The ghost tour and other hotel activities offered are alot of fun and add to the atmosphere of the hotel. I would definately stay here again when I come to Baltimore and reccomend it to anyone staying in the area. There is plenty to do in Fells Point and it is also close to all the downtown attrations. Along with the excellent service Admiral Fell Inn is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Ask for an inside room if you are worried about noise on a night when folks might be celebrating. I was there on Halloween and it was an amazing and never to be duplicated, experience but I would not have wanted to be in a front room!
The staff are the most courteous and helpful that I have ever seen and I travel a fair amount.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCCPortland_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2009

This was our first visit to Fell's Point and the Admiral Fell Inn was a perfect home. The location made it very easy to explore the area and the courtesy shuttle allowed us to explore other areas without taking our car out of the garage. The rooms were very nice and the restaurant and room service was very good. The staff was extremely helpful. I look forward to our next visit to the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djf143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
965 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pier 5 Hotel
#13 of 66 in Baltimore
1,160 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,376 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Property: Admiral Fell Inn
Address: 888 S Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231-3486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing