We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best”
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
1 review
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The Fells Point Festival is an annual event for our group (10 - 15). This year we stayed in Fells Point at the Admiral Fell Inn. This hotel was absolutely perfect, location, hospitality and accommodations. The staff was delightful, especially Jessica who catered to our every need and did it with a smile and enthusiam. The rooms were spaceious and very comfortable with a wonderful view of the city as well as the harbor. This is hands down our only choice for the annual trip, we have already made our reservations for next year!

Crystal O, Richnmond, VA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    287
    93
    68
    41
See reviews for
197
541
60
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My husband and I are celebrating our 20th anniversary, and decided to take a quick get-away, our first without the children for 13 years. Based on the historic nature of the building and on the extra "in-house" activities offered, we selected the Admiral Fell Inn.

First, the good news. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we both enjoyed the Jacuzzi.

Before I get to the bad news, I am wondering if a community fair might have affected the service we received. However, since no one thought it was worth mentioning the fair when we booked our room, I have to assume it was not considered a significant issue.

1. The "Valet service" involved driving our own car to a public garage and then schlepping our stuff six blocks to the hotel. For this service, we were charged $29 plus tax. (We later learned that there is a quicker route, which would have involved walking only four blocks.)

2. One of the "in-house" activities which drew us the the AFI, the Tea Party, was cancelled with no notice.

3. The other "in-house" activity which we wanted to attend was the Ghost Tour. It was scheduled from 5-6. At 5:20, we gave up and left. The front desk could not tell us when, or even if, the tour would take place.

4. Our smoke detector was "chirping" at regular intervals (as when the battery is low). We called the front desk and were told that someone would come take care of it. No one ever did.

5. The web site shows a "breaksfast room" and a menu featuring omelettes and quiches. Evidently, this has been discontinued and replaced with a "breakfast buffet". The buffet consists of two chafing dishes, one containing scrambled eggs, the other containing potatoes and bacon. This is generally included in the room fee, but since we booked with AAA discount, we would have been charged $11/person for this meal. (When the front desk manager saw us leaving to go to a diner, he comped our breakfast.)

6. We found our room to be very noisy. We could hear people outside our third floor room at 3am. (It seems there are a number of bars and taverns in the area.) We commented, with no irony or sarcasm, that we've spent much quieter nights at Times Square. Ear plugs helped some.

I would suggest to anyone planning to stay at the AFI to expect a nice room, and to consider anything else they come across to be an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmoDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2009

I was in town for a wedding and stayed at the hotel for a week. Service was wonderful, room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Location is second to none.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My wife and I choose to get away for the Labor Day weekend and luckily we choose to stay at the Admiral Fell Inn. The hotel and it's wonderful staff exceeded our every expectation. Everyone from the front desk staff to the housekeeping made sure we were taken care off and everything was peferfect during our leisure filled and romantic getaway. The location of the hotel is excellent, the local attractions kept us busy, the sights and sounds of Fells Point were enjoyable, and when we wanted to venture a little further away the staff arranged transportation and recommened some local favorite attractions and dinning. The hotel just has a nice historical ambiance to it and it was the pefect spot for the wife and to enjoy some time away from our everday routine. The hotel was very well kept together, the rooms were spacious and clean, all the necessary ammenties were provided and very much appreciated. Usually we like to visit other places when we choose to vacation but there was just something special about our visit to Baltimore and the Admiral Fell that will have us putting those plans on hold and we will sneak in another trip back to the Admiral Fell Inn again next summer. The hotel definitely gets my recommendation and will be getting a return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnflair14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I were in Baltimore for the Red Sox series against the Orioles. Staying at the Admiral Fell in was the best!! The staff was so helpful arranging transportation and restaurant reservation, they truly made our stay a memorable one. They treated us like old acquaintances and when leaving we felt we were leaving friends behind. We hope to return often.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneauMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I just returned from my trip back to Baltimore. This was easily our favorite hotel during our vacation. The staff is absolutely the best. It is difficult to find great customer service today, but this place fits the bill.

From check-in to check-out, we have no complaints. The hotel is not in the middle of the tourist attractions, but it is a short ten minute walk. They also have a shuttle that can transport you to the Inner Harbor within a couple of minutes. Fells Point is a better area than the commercialized Inner Harbor anyway.

Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett_Henry_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Great historical hotel (nice change from "cookie cutter" places). Spent five days here and had a wonderful time. The location, staff, and atmosphere (Fells Point) were all excellent. Appreciated the complimentary wine tasting and ghost tour. So much to see and do in the area --- location made for an easy walk to most everything. Would defintely stay there again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pier 5 Hotel
#10 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Property: Admiral Fell Inn
Address: 888 S Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231-3486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing