We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I’d sure come back”
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I’d sure come back”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I spent four nights at the hotel, spending the day time at the convention centre. If one is used to walking, one can easily go by foot to and fro, through the inner harbor. By cab it is $6-7. I had room 234, not adjoining any street, and remarkably silent, even taking into account that there was little nightlife in November. Everything one needs in the room was present, except for an extra blanket. It was cold at night, and had to put the heater on, whereas I would have preferred a blanket. Staff at the lobby was attentive.

Room Tip: Room 234 was not at the street side, and silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Eibert, thank you for writing a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel.

As you mentioned in your review, our location is very close to many of Baltimore's sights and attractions by foot. We noticed your comments about the lack of an extra blanket in your room. If you ever stay again in the future, please know that we can absolutely bring you things like extra blankets or pillows by calling the front desk. We're here to please!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a kind review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    292
    100
    69
    43
See reviews for
202
557
59
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent one afternoon and night on our way to South Carolina.
We were very disappointed with our room and the lack of interest in our stay.
We did not wish to pay $29.95 for one night valet parking and was told of a open lot about 2 blocks away we could use for $16.00.
We found the on street parking for $2.00 an hour until 8pm, & after 8 is free until 10am. This worked for us,
Our accommodations: The room was very small and we were put at the back of the first floor near the kitchen with no view and the bed and bathroom were all less than one would have expected for the area, . One night was really all we could have taken. Tthe port and area are really beautiful I would love to return, there is a lot to do and see. But I would be much more selective of the place we would stay at. (a cup of coffee in our room was the only "on the go breakfast" .

Room Tip: Before you go check on room location, parking and what you expect for the cost. Most expensive nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Ann C, thank you for leaving your feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We are very unhappy to hear that you were disappointed with your overall experience at our property.

We want to first apologize if any member of our team came across as having a lack of interest in your stay. This is absolutely the opposite of what we want to project to our patrons. This is something that we will address at our next meeting.

Like any city, parking can be difficult. We have acknowledged your comments in regards to parking and plan to ensure that our front desk staff are better educated on all the different parking options available to our patrons.

We have private messaged you on here as we'd like to collect some more information on your stay. We take guest feedback very seriously and hope you'll give us the opportunity to improve by learning more and to also make things right.

Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We held our small (55 person) wedding ceremony,cocktail hour and reception in the ballroom at the Admiral Fell Inn - it's on the top floor, with nearly 360 degree windows, providing a view of most of Baltimore and the harbor. It was PERFECT for a wedding this size (and probably up to about 80 people comfortably). The packages that Harbor Magic offers are inclusive and flexible, and best of all you're provided with a wedding coordinator who went above and beyond to make planning easy and fun. I highly recommend them as a small wedding venue. The hotel itself is lovely, right in the heart of Fells Point (and, depending what side of the Inn you're on, you'll hear all the Fells Point noise) and charming inside, with unique rooms and layout. This is the kind of place you want to stay when you're visiting and really want to get a feel for a city, rather than just another chain hotel experience.

Room Tip: Not sure which rooms tend to be quieter, but you might want to inquire as some right on the street-f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
sarah m, we want to thank you for leaving a fabulous review and we'd also like to thank you for having your wedding event at our property. We couldn't be happier to hear that we were able to be a part of your memorable and spectacular day.

We get numerous comments about the beautiful 360 degree view that our top floor ballroom has. We'll definitely make sure to let everyone here know that they did a fantastic job and we'll also pass along your kind comments to them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Located on a very cute square on the Baltimore waterfront, this historic building was a warm and cozy place on a cool night. I stayed for only one night, but the staff were very helpful and friendly, the wifi worked well, and they let me snag some breakfast on my way out before the breakfast area actually opened. The hotel was very clean, and my room was quite spacious, though my bed was a bit lumpy. Overall an excellent value for the reasonable price I paid and I'd love to go back again, and next time do the ghost tour.

Bonus Tip: Parking's expensive, but if you're just staying one night you can pay for a couple hours in the square right in front of the hotel and then stay all night.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet night ask for a room away from the street - I was in the back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieNYC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
JackieNYC13, thank you for writing a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed an excellent experience at our property.

We noticed you mentioned how spectacular and pleasant members of our team were. We will definitely make sure to let them know of all the kind things you had to say. We are very proud of our hotel which is why we take meticulous measure to ensure that its historic look and feel is kept presentable.

We saw the comments about your bed and plan to have our housekeeping department look into seeing what can be done about this. You absolutely need to come back soon and experience our ghost tour. You'll learn a lot about the history of our hotel and the surrounding area.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Admiral Fell at the tail end of a business trip. Excellent location in Fells Point -- near the water taxis and hustling, bustling square & main streets lined with a cornucopia of restaurants, shops, & pubs. Exceptionally warm and welcoming staff ranging from Hakeem at the front desk, Mario the hotel manager, and Steve the bartender and resident ghost tour guide. Free drink ticket with your ghost tour & Steve is a really fun host. The rooms are clean and roomy, the hotel lounge/bar is lively & full of good conversation & friendly travelers, and the history of the building is fascinating. I didn't experience noise issues described by some, even though my room faced the main st. (Thames). I did hear occasional outside activity up until 11:30pm but nothing out of the ordinary or rude or disturbing. The loudest noises actually came from a few guests running around the hallways on my floor inside the hotel, in the late morning and early afternoon when I checked in. It didn't last long & I think it was a family with kids. All and all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Admiral Fell and would go back to stay if my journeys took to the area again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollisJ_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
hollisJ_dr, we want to thank you for leaving a spectacular review and we'd also like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Baltimore. We're incredibly happy to hear that you had an amazing experience at our hotel.

You wouldn't be the first guest to comment on how prime our location is. Our convenient position makes it easy for our guests to experience Fell's Point at its best. After reading your comments, we saw you mentioned how wonderful members of our staff were. We are extremely lucky to have such thoughtful people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests. We'll definitely make sure to let Hakeem, Mario, Steve and the others of your kind words.

We love the pictures you added to your review! We have some interesting ghost stories that we've heard from past guests about these sites. If you ever come back and visit, you'll have to ask about them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

It was my birthday night and was celebrating in fells point. So we got a room to spend the night, we live in the suburbs of Baltimore, didn't want to start driving back home. Tried to make it a little getaway but it just didn't feel like I was away from home. The room was clean, well kept. We stayed in one of the rooms facing the square on a Saturday night, I would say it remained noisy till very early morning hours, so bad idea if you want to sleep but it was fun watching everything going on in the square at night. Service was good, front desk was helpful. Hakeem was great!
I probably won't stay here again though, it doesn't have a hotel feeling to it. It just depends on personal preferences.

Room Tip: Note your rooms may be facing the square, could remain noisy till early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Jemi B, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your birthday night and, we'd also like to thank you for writing a great review. We are glad to hear that you felt that our accommodations were pleasant and that our staff was personable and helpful.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how you were able to hear some of the sound from the square outside. Being a fellow Baltimorean, we’re sure you know that Fell's Point can certainly be a lively place. We have worked to try and soundproof our windows as much as possible. If you do decide to stay with us again, we can certainly make sure that your room is not overlooking the busy square.

If you're looking for a hotel that feels a bit more like a typical hotel and doesn't have a historic feel, our sister property, The Pier 5 Hotel, may be a great fit! It's located near all of the action in Inner Harbor and the views can't be beat!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding hotel! Excellent location in Fells Point. Great staff! Warm and welcoming facility. Steve the bartender is precious! Free cheese and nut plate in bar every night! Stephen the ghost tour guide is a blast! Free drink ticket at end of ghost tour. Wonderful brunch. And if you're the mayor of the hotel on foursquare, they give you a $50 dining voucher!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Brittany W, we want to thank you for leaving an incredible review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our property.

Our bar is definitely a great place to relax. We agree that the combination of Steve's presence and the free nightly cheese and nut plate make for a very enjoyable experience. We are delighted to hear that you were able to partake in our ghost tour. We always recommend our guests go. You learn a lot about the history of our hotel and the Fell's Point area.

We are indeed on foursquare and like to generously reward our current mayor! Being a historic hotel, we love to mix the old with the new and integrate today's digital and social revolution into the history of our beautiful hotel.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to write a spectacular review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
979 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pier 5 Hotel
#15 of 67 in Baltimore
1,206 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,467 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Property: Admiral Fell Inn
Address: 888 S Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231-3486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing