We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to keep away”
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better to keep away”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Dirty, dusty, musty, old, unsafe - someone worked into my room while I was asleep. The hotel was apologetic but all they had to say in explanation was their computer thought the room was empty so a member of staff came in the room. I wondered if it was staff and what they came to the room to do.
Unfortunately, since the lights were off, I did not get to see who it was or I would have taken it up.

Very unsafe and noisy looking surroundings as well.

Room Tip: Keep away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Business T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    291
    98
    69
    43
See reviews for
199
557
59
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location. Across street from water taxi. Several excellent restaurants within 3 blocks. Many popular bars for those looking for a drink. Parking is valet. Hotel staff is very accommodating. Especially Mario, one of the managers. Older building that has been refurbished. Smallish rooms but everything is clean. Beds could be a little better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgt190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
lgt190, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for writing a great review. We're extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

It's very common for us to hear from patrons how much they love our location. As you mentioned, there is definitely no shortage of restaurants or bars around us, and let's not forget the convenient and quick access that the water taxi offers!

Upon reading your review, we saw you commented how helpful and accommodating our team was. We have some of the best staff around and we're so proud of all that they do. We will make sure to let everyone know of everything you had to say.

We have passed along your feedback about our beds onto our management team. We're always looking to make our guest experience even better. You're comments are very much appreciated.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. Please know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

On the plus side, this hotel does have historic charm. However, because I am not a big fan of visiting historic hotels for the sake of history alone, the negatives *far* outweighed the positives for me. My room was dirty (with hairs in the bathroom, dust on the furniture, and something sticky on the desk chair) and the furnishings/fixtures were dated (everything looked 20-30 years old). The only positive was that at least my room was relatively quiet. The original room I was assigned (I asked to switch right away) was *extraordinarily* noisy -- I could hear every voice and conversation from the street restaurant/bar below. The second room I was assigned did not have this problem.
I would highly recommend selecting a different hotel unless you are a big fan of historic hotels and you can overlook all of the other problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah7038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the AFI over Labor Day weekend (which happened to be Grand Prix Weekend). We were so glad that we stayed in Fells Point vs the Inner Harbor. Fells Point has all the historical charm of Baltimore and there is a lot to do there. AFI has smaller rooms and bathrooms but it's updated and clean. I am a light sleeper and was concerned about the noise comments. I asked for a room not on the street and has no problem with street noise. It's a little pricey for the type of hotel (same as a 4 star chain in the Inner Harbor) but the location is worth it. I wouldn't recommend it for a family with children but if you're a couple or friends who want to hang out. Just book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjacks019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Tjacks019, we want to thank you for leaving a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel over Labor Day weekend. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property.

Fell's Point definitely has a much different look and feel compared to Inner Harbor. If you love history or you’re intrigued by its mystery, you'll love Fell's Point. The area certainly becomes lively at night and a lot of our regular patrons love that.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Enjoyed four days at hotel for a conference. Great location and service. An abundance of entertainment options nearby. Already looking forward to next visit.
They did miss a wakeup call on one day but I was awake anyway so not a biggie.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green4sd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
green4sd4, we want to thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Baltimore for your conference. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property.

We wanted to address the fact that we missed your wakeup call. We are extremely sorry about this. Please know that we have shared this information with our front desk team and have made sure to notify the accountable parties that this cannot happen again.

You're absolutely spot on in regards to the large amount of entertainment options. Fell's Point is definitely a great place and can be fun and lively during the evening.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Pictures look great & deceiving. Room was clean but out dated, location a little iffy at night or early morning- not sure how safe it is. The main problem for me were the towels which were stained and had holes in them. The hall way and elevator floor was extremely filthy. Wouldn't stay here the next time and the ratings are way too high for this place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SoheilD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
SoheilD, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at our property. We are unhappy to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

Upon reading your review, we saw you mentioned how you felt your room was a bit dated. As you may know, our hotel is historic in nature. It's not that our hotel rooms are dated, it's that they are historic and keeping with the theme of our property!

We can assure you that Fell's Point is very safe. The area can get a bit lively at night, but that is no different from any other city.

We have passed along your comments about our towels, hallways and elevator onto our housekeeping team. That is absolutely unacceptable to us. Please know that this will be remedied.

We hope the despite your review, you'll come back and give us another chance.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm going to get right to the problems: There is no minibar or refrigeration in the room so there is no way for diabetics to keep vials of insulin cold and ice packs for the trip home frozen. There is no room service menu. There are directions to Vending, but it's only a soda machine. There was a cheap Cuisinart coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck pods - accompanied by powdered creamer and and very little sweetener. And you can't order coffee. The hotel location is in the gentrified harbor area, and there are no coffee shops that open early (there is one where students hang out) and no Starbucks. There's no gym, no other services. When I drove up, a valet was very slow to take my bag into the lobby. I had to take my bag to my room. And the reverse. At these prices, I expect full service. My room was very nicely appointed with a large bathroom. It had ethernet which kept sticking a hotel page into my browser, meaning they knew what I was doing with my computer. Baltimore taxis are quite expensive.

Room Tip: 419 has a very nice, large outdoor terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanKoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
StanKoven, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We are unhappy to hear that you were somewhat disappointed with your stay at our location.

We have passed along all of your comments to our management team. We are always looking to improve our guest experience and are always welcome to new ideas. Guest feedback is very important to us and we hope that despite your feelings, that you'll come back and give us another try.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
975 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pier 5 Hotel
#15 of 66 in Baltimore
1,183 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,432 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Property: Admiral Fell Inn
Address: 888 S Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231-3486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing