We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaintly overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaintly overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel because of its historical charm and the offer of a $25 gift certificate for dining with the room upgrade to a bottle of wine for $9.95.

The room itself (418): Spacious with newly added hardwood floors. We had some gripes about the state of cleanliness which we reported down to the front desk. The bathroom floor had hair on it, the bed sheets had a yellowed stain (should have never been used by the cleaning lady), and our wine glasses had caked on debris. It seems that the staff is not detail oriented. When my husband went down to the front desk to show him the dirty glasses, the manager there said "Someone is having a bad day" rather than being apologetic.

The cleaning lady sent up to the room was quick and did a good job of remedying the problems with our room.

It took a second complaint to get the upgraded wine package delivered to a separate part of our party in another room.

Complimentary breakfast was literally just muffins, coffee, and Tazo tea bags.

Our stay for one night came to $217 for a Queen with taxes and amenities added.

The courtyard in front of the hotel is overrun with a homeless population in the mornings (10-15 people) that scatter throughout the day and return at night. They are harmless but do congregate near the parking meters.

Metered parking in the area is $2 per hour with a four hour max. Valet parking is $27. Parking in the area is free between 8pm and 10am. We did get a $35 parking ticket at 7:04pm.

Ultimately, I do feel that this hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AcuTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
AcuTraveler, we want to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you felt unsatisfied with your experience at our hotel.

We want to start off by letting you know that we have passed along your comments in regards to the cleanliness of your room to our management team. They plan to bring up your issues with our housekeeping department at our next meeting. We hope you realize that what you experienced was definitely a deviation from the norm at our property.

We have private messaged you on here and hope that you'll give us the opportunity to speak with you further. We truly want to make things right and show you that we really do care.

Thank you, and we look forward to talking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    281
    91
    68
    41
See reviews for
193
534
60
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is quaint and charming and located right in the middle of fells point...we were there on a weekend getaway ...and the beds were every comfy. Also, despite being close to the pubs scene , the room was surprised to find that the room was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Aditi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aditi S, we want to thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time while staying at our location.

Believe it or not, our hotel has a very rich history. If you weren't able to go on our ghost tour during your last visit, you definitely need to next time! You may not see one of our ghosts, but you'll learn a lot of history about our hotel and the surrounding area.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is our favorite weekend getaway spot. The hotel is historic, every room is different, which is fun in itself. The staff is amazing, everyone is friendly, courteous and knowledgeable about the area. Mike and Hakim, at the front desk are always there to help and answer your questions. Andrea moves fast as lightning to make sure everything is in proper order. You walk out the door, and, your choices are endless; food, bars, live music, shopping, water taxi, events in the square, street entertainers, and be sure to try the Charm City Circulator, which is the free bus around town. End your day with a nightcap at the Tavern at the Admiral, a charming, intimate bar downstairs, Paul, the bartender was interesting and entertaining. We've recommended the Admiral to several friends, they've all said the same thing, "it was everything you said it would be, we loved it"! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funperson7866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
funperson7866, we want to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel and we'd also like to thank you for leaving us another fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that you had another exceptional stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how friendly and helpful our staff was. We’re extremely fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. They continually go out of their way to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to let them know of all the kind things you had to say.

You couldn't be more correct about the numerous things to do around Fell's Point. Whether it's looking for a place to eat, grab a drink, or shopping around, there's no limit as to what can be done around our hotel. Hearing that you recommend us to your friends makes us extremely grateful.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I have been staying in the Admiral Fell Inn for several years and we love it! The staff is always very accomodating and friendly. Andrea "cookie" has always been very helpful and always made us feel right at home. We always look forward to seeing her when we stay. The front desk (gabby) employees are also very helpful and friendly. We always tell everyone we know to stay at the Admiral if they visit Baltimore! We stayed this past June and noticed some of the rooms were refurbished, unfortunately, we did not get a renovated room, but I am looking forward to staying in one next year.

Room Tip: quieter room off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Denise C, we want to thank you for writing an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel. We are so very happy to hear that you love staying at our location.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how accommodating and helpful our staff always is. We have a great bunch of people working with us and we couldn't be luckier to have them on our team. We'll definitely let them know of all the kind things you had to say. We are also extremely grateful that you recommend our hotel to others that you know.

We're currently in the process of having our rooms refurbished and renovated. If you come back and visit us again soon, be sure to ask for one of the newly appointed rooms and we'll make sure to properly situate you.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back at The Admiral Fell Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Visited with my wife, son and my parents. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We took the ghost tour (complimentary) which had some good stories and history about the hotel. Excellent location. Steps away from the water taxi and dozens of restaurants and bars. Take the water taxi to inner harbor and then 15 minute walk to Camden Yards. We were there on a Saturday night, and there was a great nightlife atmosphere all throughout the Fell's Point area. Had free Wifi in the rooms. Wish the breakfast had a little more than muffins and pastries and my parents room did have a musty smell. If you are used to high rise, modern hotels this is not for you and you should stay downtown. if you want to experience a smaller, quaint hotel in a great section of Baltimore I recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jersey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
ersey1983, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a nice review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying at our location.

We always recommend our guests go on the ghost tour. It's a lot of fun and people always leave learning something new! We are happy that you enjoyed it. From reading over your review, we can see you commented on how courteous and helpful our team was. We are extremely fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. They constantly strive to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll definitely let them know that their actions helped shape your experience.

We noticed your feedback in regards to our breakfast as well as the issue with your parent's room. We have taken both of these comments and forwarded them along to our management team. We can certainly make sure that our breakfast is appointed with a greater selection of muffins and pastries. We are going to look into your reservation to find the room you parents stayed in and try to alleviate that issue too.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a great review. We hope you realize how much it truly means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you or your family in a future stay at our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see everyone back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Admiral Fell, and it was just as nice! The staff was great- we had a special request before booking the room, that they very graciously honored. We really appreciated this. We also upgraded to the Experience package which again included a nice bottle of red wine in the room along with a $25 gift certificate to a local restaurant. We were a little disappointed that we were unable to check into the room early (before 4pm) like we were able to last time, but understand that the room just wasn't ready. It seemed like a very busy weekend at this hotel. Gabby was excellent at check in. She held our bags for us while we went for lunch and to the Orioles game, and was even nice enough to make sure our bags were waiting for us in our room when we returned from the game. We had a room on the 4th floor with 2 double beds. The room was very spacious and had beautiful hardwood floors. We also appreciated the small fridge and microwave in the room. We absolutely love this location, as it is in walking distance to 2 of our favorite places - Maxx's Taphouse and Bond Street Social. There are also lots of other bars and restaurants in walking distance....and the hotel has a free shuttle which will take you to certain places like the Inner Harbor and the Little Italy area. We will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
stephanie341, we want to thank you for writing a fabulous review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your second stay with us was as pleasurable as your first.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful and kind our staff was. We are very fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. They continually go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to inform Gabby and the others about your kind comments.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just got back from our stay and miss it already! The staff at Admiral Fell Inn is the friendliest staff I have ever come across. You feel welcome from the very first moment you get out of your car!
We chose valet parking so we wouldn't be bothered with having to find parking ourselves and they were very efficient (and if I'm being perfectly candid, the valets weren't too bad to look at. Just sayin'. lol, )
We actually had a room overlooking Thames Street, which everyone warns not to get because of the noise, but I loved it. Yes, there is noise, due mostly to The Admiral's Cup, a bar on the corner across the street, but I personally thought it fit the atmosphere. It's Baltimore. Famous for Edgar Allan Poe and DRINKING. What hotel could be more perfect than one surrounded by bars and right next to the bar Poe was rumored to have had his last drink in? I normally can't sleep if I hear anything, but I slept great all three nights.
The hotel has so much more character than any other hotel we've been in. My daughters and I roamed the halls in search of the Poe room and had a fun time just marveling at the layout.
The location is perfect. You can grab a water taxi right across the street or just stay in the neighborhood. There are so many unique little shops on Thames and Broadway.
I definitely recommend stopping by Kilwin's for delicious homemade chocolate !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CryRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
CryRain, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a spectacular review. We couldn't be happier to hear that you absolutely enjoyed your time at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful and friendly our staff was. We are truly fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. Every day they go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to pass along your gracious comments with everyone here.

You wouldn't be the first guest that has told us they had so much fun just walking around the hotel exploring and trying to find certain historical names on our guest room doors. If you didn't get to this time, you definitely need to go on our ghost tour during your next visit. You'll learn a lot about the rich history of our hotel as well as the Fell's Point area.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pier 5 Hotel
#9 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Property: Admiral Fell Inn
Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing