We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two great nights at this hotel”
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two great nights at this hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two nights this week at this hotel and had a wonderful time. Our room was large, bright and clean. The location in Fells Point can't be beat for night life, but even with our room on the 2nd floor facing Thames St., we didn't hear a thing after going to bed. However, I was most impressed with their friendly and helpful staff. We checked in early, and left our bags in storage, but they called housekeeping to make our room a priority. They were also happy to hold our bags all day at checkout. But most of all, the hotel manager, went out of his way to accomodate safe parking for my motorcycle. He literally came out onto the street, on his own initiative, to direct me where to go. Above and beyond the call of service and he's certainly got my future business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Jack M, we'd like to thank you for writing us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very glad to hear that you and your girlfriend had a wonderful time at our hotel.

From reading over you review, we saw you mentioned how amazing our staff was. We are very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such kind individuals. They truly go out of their way to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We will make sure to share your comments with them. They'll love hearing all you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you and your girlfriend back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    292
    100
    69
    43
See reviews for
202
557
59
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
aliquippa , Pa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

stayed here for three nights for our daughter's law school graduation. The front desk staff was very helpful arranging tickets for water taxi, national aquarium. hotel has a shuttle that services it and two sister hotels and the shuttle was timely and the driver very friendly and informative. The valet parking operated smoothly although it takes a bit longer than other hotels to get your car that just allowed us more time to enjoy conversation with the front desk staff. The hotel could not be more central to Fells point activity. The room was clean and large enough. The hallways are a bit quirky in that your trip to your room may take you around corners and down three stepps then a bit later down four more steps that just adds to the interest in the history of the hotel. had a great stay. Too bad the bar in the basement is not open every night we enjoyed our time spent talking with Steve the bartender, he is a real asset to the hotel as is the front desk and valet staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaSoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
PaSoccer, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your daughter's graduation (please wish her congratulations from us!) and we'd also like to thank you for leaving an incredible review.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how informative and friendly members of our staff were during your visit. We are extremely thankful for all the wonderful people that work at our hotel. We have such a caring group of individuals who continually strive for nothing short of perfection for our guests. We'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to all of them. They'll be very happy to hear your kind words.

We are going to forward your information about the valet taking a little too long to our management team. We'll definitely address this in our next meeting.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

my husband and I booked this hotel to priceline.com. I'm sure what to expect you to the mix reviews...and how much fun did we have! I'm so it's a very small boutique hotel this is true. we had a king size bed and a very small room with a cracked bathroom sink. but this place has CHARM! off the beaten path of touristy Baltimore which can be reached by water taxi that is literally 1000 feet away from your hotel ...the hotel streets are the lined with local shops and restaurants that way better and on the yummy scale.. were above the Inner Harbor with their Hooters and cheese cake factory. Admirals fell Hotel gave us exactly what we needed a very chill spot to find what's good and what's local. self have hotel flaws then again what historical site doesn't? but you are paying for an experience. the staff was kind very friendly and helpful. and at night when you came back from partying all up and down the street romantically you are safely able to get in your back into your hotel with the room key open the main door to the hotel. like I said previously this place has flaws butbut historical building itself the friendly staff and the amazing experience just at the steps of the door and Beyond well worth the trip. we will be returning hopefully next time with our daughter that she can experience just as much fun as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Karla R, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned all the wonderful little shops and restaurants that are near our hotel. Many people love our Inn precisely because of the close proximity we have to these fantastic places.

In your review, you commented on how friendly and helpful our staff was. We are very fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. They truly go above and beyond to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll definitely let them know all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we truly appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I took my boyfriend this past weekend for his birthday. The hotel was a perfect spot - exactly what I was looking for. Unfortunately, that's about all I can say about it. There wasn't any extra caring or welcoming by the staff - checked us in fine; nothing extraordinary about it. We had to make 3 trips from the car to the room - didn't appear to have someone there to help with the luggage. It really was just average. The room was painted with a dark color and when we walked in, we could see how old and used the mattress was. Didn't match any of the rooms that were pictured on the website. When I stepped into the shower, the bottom of the tub felt slimy on the bottom of my feet. The rug seemed grimy. Definitely would have preferred a nicer room, but when I asked about the location of the room at check-in, I was shrugged off. Therefore, I didn't want to make waves to ask for a different room. We were also disappointed that they don't offer the ghost tours every day. There was no reception; there was no mention of the complimentary tea, coffee, and muffins and wouldn't have even known about except that I used the downstairs bathroom before we got in the car to go home. Also, can't understand why we were charged $9.95 amenity fee when we didn't know of or use any amenities. And on our 2nd trip down on check-out day, the desk clerk made it a point to make sure we paid the bill, but never offered to help or find someone to help with the luggage. Not exactly what the website plays it up to be!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp3468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
mp3468, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Even with being Preakness weekend, there is no excuse for not helping our guests with luggage and making them feel extra special.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We left our luggage at the front desk after we checked out, to do some shopping. When we came back in the evening the staff was very prompt and courteous when we asked for our luggage. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Claire B, we'd like to thank you for writing us a fabulous review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your time at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful and friendly our staff was. We are very fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. We couldn't ask for a better team! They are continually go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to them. It will definitely make their day.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, NH
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went searching the Internet for a stay and park place for a recent cruise out of Baltimore. Admiral Fells was one that offered a package that gave you an overnight stay and parking for the car for the duration of the cruise. Includes a continental breakfast and a $25 certificate to one of four or five area restaurants.
The Inn is very good and the Ghost Tour is interesting to attend.
The restaurants in the area are not exactly the best - food is just so-so.
But there are certainly plenty of bars! If yoou want to pub crawl, this is your place.
It was not on our agenda - and the area gets very noisy at night with party-goers. And this was a Thursday night. Heard that on a Friday/Saturday night it gets louder; if it happens to be a holiday weekend even louder.
But that was the only complaint - the Inn itself is very nice. room is decent size and the staff was friendly. Spent some time in the bar downstairs and talked with the barkeep and learned a lot aobut the area and history. Then did the GhostTour and it is interesting. Inn is supposedly haunted - but just hearing the history of the whole area was very interesting.
The shuttle to and from the Inn works very well. They pick you up, deliver you to the cruise port, and bring you back at the end.
I think if I went back to Baltimore, I'd still consider staying there or maybe one of the "sister" hotels.

Room Tip: Ask not to be at the front of the Inn - overlooks the bar area and is very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rccnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
rccnh, thank you for choosing to stay with us before your cruise (hope you had a fabulous time!) and we'd also like to thank you for leaving us a great review. We are extremely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We get a fairly high number of individuals who utilize this stay and park package when going on a cruise. From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned that you went on our ghost tour. We're so glad to hear you did! We always recommend this to our patrons if they have the time. Many people don't realize the very rich history that our hotel and the Fell's Point area has.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a nice review. We hope you realize how much we truly appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I had visited the Tavern at the Admiral Fell Inn many years ago and had promised ourselves a trip that actually included staying in the Inn. Fells Point is a great place to visit on a weekend with a Farmer's Market on Saturday morning and Flea market on Sunday morning--directly across the street from the Inn. The restaurants are fabulous and the bartender at the Tavern was delightful. The lodging experience itself was average. The desk staff was extremely disorganized. Check in was chaotic. When we finally got our room after waiting in the Lobby for some time because the "sheets weren't dry" the staff was very apologetic but we had no towels and when they did arrive were still wet. The room itself was pleasant but an extremely tight space and a king size bed should not have been squeezed into it. As a part of the whole Fell's Point experience, I would recommend staying at the Inn but not as a destination in itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLW2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
NLW2644, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage.

On behalf of our entire team, we'd would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
979 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pier 5 Hotel
#15 of 67 in Baltimore
1,206 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,469 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Property: Admiral Fell Inn
Address: 888 S Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231-3486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing