We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been an annual visitor for years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“Been an annual visitor for years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been an annual visitor for the Privateer Festival held in Fells Point for several years now. I have always come to the Admiral Fell Inn as it is central to everything (and a quick stumble from many fine bars!). They have always been courteous and welcoming to us pirates that invade their fine establishment once a year.

But the reason I write this review today is the amazing service they show to their customers. I had room request, and at first it looked like that would not be possible. However, Joshua in one day made it possible. I thank him for his hard work, and hope to stay at the Admiral as long as the Privateer Festival happens.

PS: they have just opened up a cozy little underground bar that is great for a quiet drink. Might even learn some of Fells Point's privateer history while you are down there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
VDallas, we'd like to thank you for writing us a spectacular review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel. We're delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see you mentioned our great location. We couldn't agree with you more! We feel that we are located conveniently next to so many great things to do and see (and especially eat!) We'll make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to our staff. They're always striving to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We are happy to see that you appreciated the extra effort our team puts in.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    284
    93
    68
    41
See reviews for
196
538
60
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Admiral Fell Inn overnight for the first time. It was a wonderful Inn! We had such a great time. The ghost tour was a lot of fun! It was free for guests staying in the hotel and you also received a complimentary alcoholic beverage and crackers/cheese before the tour which was definitely a bonus! Steve the tour guide was animated with a great sense of humor and knew so much about the history of the building and the town! The bartender in the Inn's tavern (I think his name was Steven too) was great! He was very personable and fun to talk to!
My husband and I felt like the Inn was in a perfect location to walk in Fell's Point. We ended up parking our car in a garage a few blocks away. It said that it would only cost us $12 for 12 hours or more of parking which is great for the city. When we paid we were super stoked because it only cost us $3! Don't know if that was a mistake on the computer's part, but we were very happy!
Finally, I would like to add that the staff at Admiral Fell Inn was absolutely fantastic! The employees at the front desk/check-in was so inviting and generally cared about their guests. We have never felt so "welcomed" at a hotel before! Also, we spoke on many occasions to the Inn's sales manager, Mario, who was a down-to-earth kind of guy and gave us a lot of insight about the area which we appreciated! Greg, the driver of the Harbor Magic Shuttle Bus, which we used, was excellent. He was friendly,quick, and on time!
Overall we were completely satisfied with our trip to the Admiral Fell Inn and Fell's Point. We can't wait to go back and would recommend it to anyone!!! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Kelli M, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your time at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see that you went on our ghost tour. Good choice! Glad that you enjoyed it. We plan on passing along the kind comments you made to our staff. They will definitely appreciate it! We are very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such wonderful people. They really do go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our guests.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us an amazing review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled Baltimore for the weekend as a belated anniversary/birthday getaway. I had found a Groupon that was a great deal - as it included a 2 night stay, bottle of wine in the room, and $25 restaurant gift certificate to 10 restaurants in the area, and a $25 credit for a future stay at the Admiral. What a good value!

The only downside is parking is not included - you could either do valet or park at a parking garage (which was only a few blocks away). We paid $15/night to park, which is not bad for a city. I love that the hotel is pet friendly! We have a puppy but chose not to bring him, although it is nice to have that option. The location of the hotel is fantastic! In walking distance to tons of bars and restaurants, and right across the street is the water taxi (which we took to Inner Harbor). There is a free hotel shuttle by Harbor Magic that will take you certain places. We used it one night to go to the Little Italy area for dinner. We used our gift certificate for La Scala. Our room was very nice - I was a little worried by some reviews, but it was clean, comfortable, and cozy. The king size bed was comfortable. The shower had nice water pressure and had a curved shower rod to allow for more room. In our room was a bottle of Chilean Merlot and 2 wine glasses. The merlot was surprisingly good. There is a ghost tour that you can do of the Admiral Fell Inn (it dates back to the 1770's). If you attend the tour, you get a drink in the bar downstairs along with complimentary cheese & crackers. This was a nice touch. We enjoyed the tour of the hotel with the history and stories. I would recommend this hotel to others and will definitely return if we come back to the Baltimore area!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
stephanie341, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are glad that we were able to make your belated anniversary/birthday getaway even more special. The deal that you purchased on Groupon is definitely popular. It's nice to hear that you felt it had great value.

Because we are located in a city, parking can always be a challenge. We decided to implement valet parking so if our guests chose to, they wouldn't have to worry about finding a place to park their car. From reading over your review we also see that you noticed that we are indeed a pet friendly hotel. We know how hard it can be to leave your furry friend at home and we didn't want to prevent many of our valued guests who have pets from being unable to stay with us. Next time you visit you'll have to bring the puppy along, we'd love to see him/her!

We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your experience. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here the night before we left for a cruise. Our travel agent booked us here and we were pleasantly surprised! VERY nice location in the middle of older Baltimore, lots of shops, eateries, and nice atmosphere all around. The hotel itself is an older building with lots of charm, friendly staff, valet service, and parking for our entire 9-day cruise (an extra fee of course). The room is spacious, has lots of charm, and is comfortable. The only drawback is the hotel is in the midst of "party-town", I guess. Lots of noise (yelling, cars, etc.) in the middle of the night from partying, but if you're into that, its not an issue. It did not disturb us too much, but it was noticeable occasionally.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Michelle C, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Our hotel is nestled in the wonderful Fell's Point area. As you mentioned in your review, this part of Baltimore definitely has a lot of character! Our guests typically have no problem finding any sort of entertainment, whether it be food and drinks or shopping.

A unique aspect of our hotel is the charming nature of all our guest rooms. We're glad to see that you appreciated this. It's fairly common for returning guests to request a room dedicated to a certain historical figure. Edgar Allen Poe's room is quite popular!

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a great review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon! Hope you enjoyed your cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed there on NYE and was ok,staff was nice,helpful but parking is eventful,do the valet parking,its worth it. Could hear the people upstairs moving around. Older hotel,take a fan so you dont hear traffic or people upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
JW75, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during New Year's Eve. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see you mentioned parking at our hotel. Parking can be quite difficult on a regular day, let alone New Year's Eve! You definitely made the right choice to utilize our valet parking. We like offering the option to our guests so they have different alternatives. We also see that you appreciated our very hard-working staff. We're very lucky to work with such wonderful people. They definitely go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We'll make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to them.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

an excellent property in a great location on the historic Fells Point neighborhood plaza. Good costomer service and charming rooms in a fun-to-navigate complex of several attached buildings. Great tapas restaurant next door. Pet friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Adela Tapas for lunch or dinner, and the Cat's Eye Pub for dive bar experience and good music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
ErikViker, we'd like to thank you for writing us a spectacular review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see you mentioned our great location. We couldn't agree with you more! We feel that we are located conveniently next to so many great things to do and see (and especially eat!) We'll make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to our staff. They're always striving to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We are happy to see that you appreciated the extra effort our team puts in. Lastly, we see you made reference to the fact that we're a pet friendly hotel. We love when our guests bring their furry friends. We know it can be difficult to leave them behind when traveling, and that isn't something we want our patrons to have to do.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our 2nd time at the Admiral Fell Inn. This is a vintage hotel with a lot of charm, nothing has changed in 3 years. In fact, we were given the same room we had in Dec. 2009 and it was exactly the same. I had read that they did some room remodeling but I saw none of that. The beds are comfortable, firm mattress but the pillows are not comfortable. Three years ago I thought that the room needed a good "house cleaning" and it is still in need of a good cleaning. The furniture needs a wipe with Murphy's Oil soap. The carpet really needs to be replaced in the room we had. The bathroom has an odd shelf unit and the tub is stained and there was a puddle of standing water at the drain.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and the bars across the street were very noisy well into the night, light sleepers will not sleep well. The halls are narrow with twist and turns, have steps and odd nooks and crannies. The steps from the sidewalk into the building are steep and narrow, there are only like 3-4 steps but I did make a suggestion to a staff member that they should have a carpet on those steps as they were extremely slippery with being wet from the rain.

We attended a Holiday party on the 5th floor, as was the reason we were there in 2009. The banquet room is very nice with beautiful views. However, the room is sort-of small. The buffet dinner was to start at 7 but was served one hour late. The buffet did not have a lot of selections and they ran out of the Roast Beef after only half the people were served. We were disappointed in the buffet.

Room Tip: There are a lot of bars across the street from the hotel on Thames Ave side, very noisy late into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDeePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dee1Dee, we want to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We see that you mentioned that you did not notice some of the changes that have already taken place during our renovations. This would be because may of the things that have been completed to date are not as openly visible.

We are still undergoing planned renovations, but so far we have replaced all the linens in the hotel, and almost all the rooms have received new lamp shades. In addition to this, we had all the windows resealed which was quite a process (being a historic building). In early 2013, our renovation plans include having the carpet replaced in our guest rooms.

We will pass along the great suggestions you made, such as adding carpet to the steps to prevent the steps from becoming slippery.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Property: Admiral Fell Inn
Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing