We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our go-to places for breakfast”

Village Square Cafe
Ranked #348 of 2,075 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Village Square Café is a casual neighborhood café where you can relax and savor simple, delicious food in a warm, inviting setting. Open seven days a week, 7:30 am – 3 pm; until 8 pm Thurs/Fri/Sat.The café is located in the Village of Cross Keys in Roland Park where you’ll find plenty of free parking at all times. We have a friendly and accommodating staff, free WiFi, seasonal outdoor dining, and a full-bar.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We like to eat out for breakfast on the weekends. Village Square Café is one of our favorites. In the spring, there's great outdoor dinning. In the winter the café is cosy (not small, just welcoming). They also offer free Wi-Fi access. The menu offers a good variety and there are always a few specials. We have our favorites, of course. The Early Bird is a great choice. Just be sure to specify how you want your eggs prepared. I also like The Roland Park omelet. They prepare iced coffee (caf and decaf) in advance so it doesn't get diluted when it's poured over the ice. It's those little things that make this a repeat place for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WAOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmore_5705, Owner at Village Square Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Thanks for your detailed review! It really helps us when Trip Advisor readers can get a true sense of the place from other cafe patrons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of my all-time favorite places for breakfast or lunch. The owners are usually there and personally involved in the service and quality of food. Service is top notch even when busy because you don't have to wait for a waitress or waiter to order, just go up to the counter. The prices are good and the food is consistently excellent. All-around, one of Baltimore's best casual cafes, maybe the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmore_5705, Owner at Village Square Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Thanks for your gracious review Stuart. We're glad to be among your favorite places for breakfast & lunch. Come check us our for dinner sometime. We're open 'til 8 pm on Thurs/Fri/Sat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Clean, great staff, good food.

Had eggs and toast and tea. Simple but good.

Will be back to try other menu items.

Thank MaikKubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmore_5705, Owner at Village Square Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Simple is good! We try to keep things simple & fresh. Glad you enjoyed our cafe. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are the best at the Village Square Café.

The Village Square Cafe is a gem and a treasure. The food quality is excellent. Everything is freshly prepared by the Chef.

Daily Featured Dishes are especially good and change everyday.

Dinner is so delicious and comes from the Chef's expert cooking and tasting experiences.

The owners of the Café are at the restaurant everyday and they chat comfortably with their restaurant guests. They make you feel as though you are a guest at their own dinner table.

You can bring your family, conduct a cozy breakfast meeting or business lunch, meet your friends and chat, or go on your own and take in the entire dining experience and bring your ebook reader or the newspaper.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DuPont2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hidden in the central courtyard of the Cross Keys shopping center, we "discovered" (thanks John!) this wonderful Café. An oasis of peace. Here you can get varied, freshly made to order with quality ingredients, tasty and delicious sandwiches at an affordable price. When the sun shines, the terrace is fabulous: is occupies part of the the huge shaded courtyard, filled with bird songs and great looking flower planters. When the weather is not so clement, the inside of the Café is bright and joyful. Great service at all levels.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michel_J_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Square Cafe also viewed

 
Baltimore, MD
Baltimore, MD
 

Been to Village Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing