We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engagement Weekend”
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Personally I had never traveled to Baltimore, however my fiancé has. Unknowingly I was in for an amazing trip. The only glitch was at check-in because the room wasn't ready, but that wasn't a problem because it gave us time to go to the mall and sigh see. We were able to leave our luggage as well. John (my fiancé) had an amazing Harbor Magic Specialist, Joshua Sandkuhler, to assist him in planning a memorable proposal. Everything from the rose petal across the hotel room, to champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, to an amazing dinner at Kali's Court with a limo to and from. The room was beautiful, with an outstanding view of the harbor. I would recommend Pier 5 for any occasion, and I would highly recommend a Harbor Magic Specialist to assist with any and every detail of a special event that you may be planning...and need a little help with the tiny details.

Sincerely,
The Future Mrs. John Pinder

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyLyn002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

JennyLyn002, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a spectacular review. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Baltimore and loved our hotel.

There's definitely no shortage of things to do or see in our lovely city! From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful our harbor magic specialist, Joshua, was. We will certainly let him know how much you appreciated his help. He'll be glad to hear that he was able to help plan your special weekend.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write an amazing review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you both back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was part of a bridal party staying at the hotel the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend 2013. Everything surrounding the wedding was wonderful. The coordinator (Chris) and bridal attendant (Donna) were fabulous and attentive. I was upset though with the cost. When the bride and groom reserved the room block, the rate for Sunday night was $239. After I booked the room at that rate, the hotel company merged with Choice Hotels and the rate decreased to $199 a night. I found out Monday morning that some of the guests were able to reduce their rate to the $199 room rate. When I asked if my rate could be changed, they said it would be difficult for them to do that since I had checked in already. I'm not upset about the $40, I'm more upset that they weren't very accommodating.

Lastly, I had to go back to the hotel Monday afternoon because the bride forgot something sentimental in their room (they were at the airport on their way to the honeymoon). I told the front desk that the bride left something in the closet of her room, and gave them the room number. I waited for 25 minutes for somebody to retrieve the item. This is not a large hotel. It takes 30 seconds to walk from one end to the other. So that was frustrating.

Overall, it was a positive experience, even though it may not sound like it. The bed was comfy, but I really didn't spend much time in the room. It's hard to beat the location. In the inner harbor, walking distance to the stadiums, Little Italy, and parts of Fells Point.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Lindsey B, we want to thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you felt our hotel made the perfect location for the wedding you attended.

Unfortunately, with how our check-in system works, once a guest is listed as checked-in on our system, it can be extremely difficult and eventually lead to registration issues that could affect the rest of the rooms associated with the section of blocked off rooms. We want to apologize for this inconvenience and also thank you for being so patient as our staff located the sentimental item that was left in the bride's room.

If you have any further questions, concerns or comments, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Still love this hotel with a few glitches this time around. Initially was put in the wrong room without a balcony. Was graciously moved. Hotel key gave us trouble, but was replaced. Wrong charges on my bill on checkout, but was fixed. Staff is amazing. Love the location. Had a harbor view room with a balcony, a must for me because I love sitting outside looking at the water. Took advantage of the free shuttle service to Fell's point. The driver was so nice. Room was clean and like the modern decor. I do think some of the carpet could use some updating (not in my room, it was fine). Love the restaurants connected to the hotel. Take advantage of the gift cards you can purchase for some of the local restaurants. Spend $40 get a $50 gift card.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

lovetotravel46, we want to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel and we'd also like to thank you for writing us a great review. We are happy to hear that overall, you enjoyed your time at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw that you had a few glitches during your stay. We want to apologize for this and also thank you for being so extremely patient and understanding. We're glad that our team was able to remedy everything and provide you with another lovely getaway.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back at The Pier 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in May on a mini trip. The location of this place is perfect. It is quite charming - we enjoyed the lobby area etc. however, the rooms were just ok (yes they have balconies, and they are no usable! They have bars on the outside). The room was perpetually stuff/musty. The bed was ok, not great... Also, I know it's not a guarantee but we checked in at 4:00 on a Friday and they still couldn't get a rollaway bed for our young son.

I was extremely disappointed in the nickel and dime tactic this 'upscale' hotel uses. Self park is not in and out... Ok so that means you need to use valet. That was ~$43 per day. Ouch. We've been to inner harbor a million times and not encountered hotel parking so steep. Usually it's 10-15 cheaper per day. Also, $10/day resort fee is mandatory... That's fine. But the amenities state water, etc is included in the room. Not so. We started our stay with an already opened bottle of water... We called for a replacement... Each replacement cost $5. No thank you.

I was very disappointed in the amount of extra fees we were charged for a room that wAsnt inexpensive. We had $100 added to a two night stay in extra fees only for parking and resort fees (what resort?). I wouldn't stay again-we've stayed in far nicer hotels with friendlier guest policies.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Jen B, we'd like to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that you were unsatisfied with your experience at our hotel.

We have taken the information from your review and plan on passing it along to our management team. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just got back from a weekend at the Pier 5 Hotel with my husband. Terrific experience. This is a cool boutique hotel in the Inner Harbor. Since it was Saturday they had a Chocolate tasting with champagne which was free. A nice way to start our overnight. Then I noticed for $20 you could upgrade which included a bottle of wine, continental breakfast, and $25 gift card for the next visit, so we took advantage of it. Room was good sized with a French Balcony. They have a shuttle which takes you over to their sister properties, the Admiral Fell Inn and Henderson's Wharf in Fell's Point, our other 2 favorite places to stay in Baltimore. Hotel also has a McCormick & Schmick and Ruth's Chris. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room includes a bathrobe for use.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

ripmiss, we want to thank you for leaving us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very happy to hear that you and your husband fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw that you mentioned our Chocolate event. We always have very good turnout for it. Who doesn't love chocolate?! Next time you visit you'll have to attend our Crabby Hour. You won't be disappointed!

We're delighted to hear that you purchased our experience upgrade and felt it had great value. It's actually one of our most purchased packages and for good reason, it includes a lot of great stuff!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a great review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you.

Thank you, and we hope to see you and your husband back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have always walked past this hotel and thought it looked nice from the outside. We always wanted to stay here. After finally getting the chance to, it was VERY disappointing. The hotel is in dire need of renovations. We did book with Expedia and I am not sure if that is why we were given the first room we were in, but it was awful. The room we stayed in on the first night looked directly at a brick wall and another guest room. We found garbage in the room, stains on the carpet and peeling wall paper. It was very dusty and dirty. We asked to be moved on our second night which they were able to do, but the second room was still dated and dirty. Hopefully the hotel is updating because this location is perfect for visiting the Inner Harbor. I must say that the staff was friendly and did try to help. It isn't their fault that the hotel needs many improvements. We will not stay again nor recommend unless the renovations take place. Not sure if many other people would want to either if they are expecting a nice, new, modern hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Amy K, we want to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your most recent visit to our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear that you were unsatisfied with your experience at our hotel. Please know that we have passed along your comments to our management team.

We have private messaged you on here in order to speak with you in greater detail about your visit. We look forward to talking with you.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#9 of 67 in Baltimore
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $170 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing