We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Showers Lessens the Charm of Charm City's Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelling International - Baltimore
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have visited many hostels in the U.S. and elsewhere and typically (these days) get a private room- for savings and a nice place to stay with a special, international community atmosphere. Despite the friendly staff, I reluctantly have to say this has been one of my least favorite hostels. The biggest issue was cold showers. The water got tepid at best. Add to that the fact that the private room is right off the kitchen- which is always a problem in terms of potential noise. I was fortunate, but I think I checked out just in time, as a huge group of high school or college age students poured in the day I left. Another resident reported a mouse in her room at night, checking out someone's potato chips. There was a fight in the kitchen. The staff on site handled it deftly, but it's the first time I've felt uneasy. The private room was a small room with 2 bunk beds and a bathroom. The hooks on the bathroom wall also detached when I attempted to hang a few things. If you don't mind taking your chances with hostel adventures, the location is nice, right off Charles Street- a nice street to walk down to the Harbor and Convention Center area. Charles Street feels safe at night and has lots of dining and ethnic restaurant choices. The staff was also universally friendly, accessible and helpful.

Room Tip: Be aware that the private room is right off the kitchen...there are quiet hours, but there will like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgaltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here when I came in for the Yankees/Orioles game. It's a beautiful building in downtown, across the street from the Basilica (which is beautiful on the outside, but was closed for renovations). Within walking distance to Lexington Marketplace and Camden Yards, but I wouldn't do that walk in the dark.

You share a room with 12 other people, dorm style, which is a flashback to the college years. I was leery about leaving my stuff at first, but nothing was taken. One nasty roommate ticked us all off, but that's not the Hostel's fault.

Great place to stay if you're on a budget. Wifi works well, and there are coin washers and dryers available. Very nice and helpful staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabrinaFair101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Neighborhood is totally sketchy so stay inside. The natives are always jaywalking in the darkness from the liquor stores expecting drivers to stop. Good luck for half the people are DUI with stolen cars yacking on their cells phones. Especially during the Raven's tailgates for evening games.

The kitchen is huge and modern and I like to hanging around the dining room tables to work on my Apple MBA. They are trying to be Green and it's very clean inside. Even the lockers seem to work so bring a padlock. Free parking on the street as long as you move it by 7:30 a.m.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CafeConCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

It's a quite nice hostel. It is located in a old building so it's not very fancy but it's clean and you don't have to worry about unpleasant guest like bed bugs during the sleep. The staff seems to be nice and helpful and the price is great too. Only bad thing is the free breakfast, some awful pancakes. Just pretend they don't exist and don't try to eat them. Overall, I recommend this place, it's really great if you're only looking for a cheap sleep and nothing more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartosz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at the HI hostel for about six nights with a 10mth old infant and it was a really nice experience. We stayed in room 5, next to the kitchen.

We booked a private room, but instead we've got a private bunk-room: 2 bunkbeds and a big shower. That was great. They changed the towels and emptied the garbage bins regularly, so no complaints about that!

The hostel is very friendly, relaxed and there's a lot going on: pasta meals, bbq, movies etc. The staff is very helpful en friendly.

The hostel has everything a hostel should have: nice kitchen, nice common area, tv-room, WiFi and a great location in mount Vernon.

Baltimore is a fun city with plenty of attractions: Mount Vernon, Inner Harbor, Fells Point, Visionary Arts museum, Orioles... definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The staff at this hostel were very good and helpful. The hostel itself is located downtown right next door to the first cathedral built in the United States. The main common area is super spacious and very nice. The kitchen was also nice and clean. For me however I just could not stomach the room. I believe I stayed in room #2. It is a large room with bunk beds surrounding the perimeter of the room. I'd say there were at least about 10 - 12 bunk beds or about 20 to 24 people sleeping in that room. The room itself felt very, very dirty. There was a lot of stuff on the floor (i.e. i had an old sock, various pieces of paper, etc under my bed), the carpet felt dirty and the air was stuffy. However, worse than all that was that within the large door room there was a door that opened to a single washroom. So, the washroom is essentially in the main dorm room (i.e. like an en-suite in a master bedroom). I opened that door and the washroom was filthy. On the shower floor there were at least 20 used bottles of various shampoos from previous guests that just sat there and more bottles/personal toiletries in and around the sink. I could not tell when the last time was that it was cleaned. I luckily was only staying there for a night so decided against showering or even using the washroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed in Hostels in Boston (Great) and NYC (Good) before staying here (Average).

First of all, the service seemed to be pretty good. The front desk person was very nice and helpful.

Otherwise, here are some things that you might notice about this hostel.

1. The lockers are not large enough to accommodate a full sized backpack or duffle. This seems kind of strange for a *hostel*. I literally had to wrestle the locker each time to take my back out or put it back in.

2. There are by my count 2 hallway showers and 1 bathroom per room. The showers are separated from the toilets, which may or may not be a plus.

3. It's old. That doesn't have to be a negative, but a mouse did run across my feet this morning.

4. No alcohol allowed. I think it's a little bit of a strict rule for travelers who aren't driving. I can understand this one though, and I have no problem finding another place to drink.

Other than that, I slept pretty well. The showers had hot water and the place was as clean as you can probably make it.

Stay here if you can't get a place in D.C. It's only a 20 or 30 minute walk to the It's only 7 dollars on the MARC line to D.C. and maybe 30 minutes or so.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,553 reviews
Hilton Baltimore
#28 of 67 in Baltimore
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Baltimore

Address: 17 W Mulberry St, Baltimore, MD 21201-4440
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Baltimore
Price Range: $27 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Baltimore 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltimore is making waves as an up-and-coming city with a vibrant arts community, a growing craft beer scene and as DC’s quirky northern neighbor, and HI Baltimore hostel is a great place to stay while you enjoy everything this city has to offer. Though not at the top of many traveler’s itineraries, Baltimore is an East Coast gem that’s not to be missed. If you crave fresh seafood, live for local festivals or simply love meeting new people, Baltimore is the destination for you. Known for Artscape, the largest free arts festival in America, Baltimore also boasts museums such as the Walters Art Gallery and the Baltimore Museum of Art, both of which are free, and the American Visionary Art Museum. Walk down to the Inner Harbor and spend a day at the Aquarium or take in the view from historic Federal Hill. If you love baseball, see an Orioles game for as low as $7 and enjoy our city’s throwback stadium, Camden Yards. With free daily pancake breakfast, free WiFi and free weekly events such as dinners, pub crawls, movie nights and city tours, Baltimore is a great place to explore on a budget. Relax at the end of a long day of sightseeing in the hostel’s common room, outdoor patio or game room or join fellow travelers in the communal kitchen to cook a meal. HI Baltimore has everything you need to make your stay in Charm City feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International - Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing