We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Baltimore
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Place for a Wedding

The venue is just splendid and is perfect for a wedding. Kelly did a fantastic job working with us... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2019
lookinforlinks
,
Rockville, Maryland
Interesting and in depth

Interesting museum with lots of different exhibits and information only downside is that the... read more

Reviewed August 10, 2019
Jmartin2202
Read all 299 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Baltimore
from $15.00
More Info
from $22.03
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
176
96
24
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
176
96
24
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews print shop industrial history machine shop printing press guided tour bethlehem steel inner harbor wonderful history interesting place local history great exhibits great view of the harbor self guided all ages free admission industries canning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 299 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Interesting museum with lots of different exhibits and information only downside is that the printing and clothing areas have limited boards and you require the tour I guess to understand them.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jmartin2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairemullins, Guest Relations Manager at Baltimore Museum of Industry, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Thanks for visiting. You're right about the the print gallery and garment loft, and we're actively working to add signage to both very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

The Baltimore Museum of Industry is not just a static museum, but has numerous events. Recently have attended a new photo exhibit detailing the human and environmental effects of the closing of Bethlehem Steel as well as the Saturday farmers market. We reserved a table for viewing the Baltimore Harbor annual 4th of July annual fireworks display. Parking was organized and orderly. Tables were set up inside and out, and though one was guaranteed a table by making a reservation, the actual location was first come, first served. Because of rain threats we chose inside, and with the harbor facing wall floor to ceiling windows we could see everything up until the actual fireworks when everyone walked outside. To pass the time from 6pm arrival until 9.30 fireworks, people enjoyed the picnics they had brought. We also walked through the museum and were happy to see docents on duty providing brief talks and explanations. Looking forward to more special events

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 703BillB703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairemullins, Guest Relations Manager at Baltimore Museum of Industry, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Glad you enjoyed the museum and our July 4th event. Be sure to follow us on social media or check our website for upcoming events such as lectures, film screening,s beer tastings, and several FREE days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019 via mobile

Found on the bAltimore 4th of July things to do page. The museum was open late for the 4th so people could enjoy fireworks on the inner harbor. The museum was really interesting with a ton of Baltimore history - a pharmacy, auto transportation, canning. The whole family enjoyed. A great visit!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank SmallTownTravelRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

Visited with a large group of teens. We were assigned 2 tour guides. They did a great job of explaining the industrial history of Baltimore and demonstrating the exhibits which include some "working" machinery. Informational and educational.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairemullins, Guest Relations Manager at Baltimore Museum of Industry, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Gail--thanks for visiting and for taking time to share your thoughts. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

After walking the docks to see the 1906 steam powered tugboat, "Baltimore", we entered this 1865 L.B Platt Oyster Cannery, paying $9 each(senior). The large entry hall's steam roller, 1914 delivery truck, and seaplane were opposite to the 'Gallery' of famous products; I focused on Black and Decker(1910 air compressor and 1916 hand drill) while my wife read about Kirk Silver(Repousse' dining ware). We passed by Noxzema, Bendix, and Crown Cork to enter a succession of industrial halls, many with instructional volunteers. Especially intriguing was the print shop's Linotype demonstrating before walking through the historical halls; machine shop, pharmacy with soda fountain, suit making loft, communications, gas station, and cannery of fruit, oysters and meat products.
We noted the small exhibits on famous McCormick Spices and Old Bay Seasoning before exiting to the free parking next to the active Saturday Farmers’ Market. We had enjoyed our immersion into the wonderful historical display of regional industry, located just south of the Inner Harbor.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Gene R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews