We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel for Otakon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Baltimore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Baltimore
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best hotel for Otakon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed here for the Otakon anime convention. We selected the Hilton because of the connected walkway to the convention center, which was great. Also, many of the convention events took place in the Hilton's conference rooms. Check in was super fast with the kiosk in the lobby. Self parking was $26 a day. Steep, but on par for other hotels in the area. Nice room. Good room service. Nice HD TV with HD programming, but it kept cutting out now and then with the satellite reception. The pool and hot tub and spa were clean and very nice. Room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Check out on the TV, no problems. Great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atthecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Baltimore on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable visit. We are fortunate to be a host hotel for the Otakon convention and appreciate the loyalty the convention has had to the City of Baltimore.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    806
    433
    161
    92
See reviews for
450
448
104
1,131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Baltimore Hilton for two nights during the giant Anime convention Otakon and could not have asked for anything more convenient as the Hilton connects directly to the huge convention center next door with a nice air conditioned & carpeted skyway which was great for avoiding the summer heat. The convenience alone was worth the price as it mad it so easy to run back to the room and drop off our shopping hauls ☺

The hotel itself is very nice, the lobby is especially lovely. Our room was a bit small (to be expected I guess in the downtown section of a large city) but very comfortable, great beds, nice large desk & well appointed bathroom with Crabtree & Evelyn soaps/shampoo etc. Air conditioner worked great. The view was of the “green” roof garden below which I think is a great idea, much nicer than looking at heating ducts.
We had breakfast both mornings at their restaurant the Diamonds Tavern which offers a great buffet, it’s a bit pricey (around $18) but worth it, especially as they have a n awesome chef who will custom make you great omelettes, she can even do “the flip” perfectly and says that since she puts so much love into her cooking it will make you sexy ☺

All of the staff (especially in the restaurant) were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We really enjoyed our stay & have already made reservations to return to this hotel again.

Only downside – parking is expensive, as is the internet (no free wifi) but that seems to be the issue with any “better” hotel these days while the cheaper ones offer these services free. (And again, the city location probably accounts for the high parking rates of $24/day)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sistinas138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, August 7, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Baltimore on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate the level of detail you provided on your review and have shared this with our team.

We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the experience you had with our team (we will be sure not to change our recipe for our omelettes as well :) ).

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for the Otakon convention....or sooner.

Regards,

Hilton Baltimore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed at the Hilton Baltimore July 26 & 27, 2010 and loved it. We got lucky; we booked online and got this as a top secret hotel - so instead of $249 per night, we paid $99, and it was like we hit the jacpot. 12th floor, with a perfect view of the ballpark. Lovely big king-sized room. Parking in the hotel was just $26 for the two nights.

Walking to the Inner Harbopur was just five minutes and had great restaurants.

If there is a real downside to the hotel is that there is no free wi-fi, not even in the room or lobby. Its $6.95 for an hour. And breakfast is too expensive: $18 for eggs, and thats in the restaurant and not room service, so yes, a costly breakfast.

We will come back here again this year, a great hotel in a great locale, and even if we can't get the same great price on the room, we loved it. Room 1229 was our room with a perfect ballpark view.

A word of warning for parents, and its nothing to do with the hotel: the Aquarium is a great day out with the kids, but the admission is insane. $28 for adults, which is coslty, but kids were $25, and that's any aged kids. So if you are a family of four its too expensive for what it has to offer. Your kids will love it, but your wallet won't.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmq24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Baltimore on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you had an overall positive visit and we will share your feedback with the rest of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Baltimore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Hilton is overrated. They charge you an arm and a leg for everything. Who charges for wi-fi in this day and age!? The hotel itself was nice -- clean, modern. The location was great. But the service and what you get for the money are certainly lacking. We booked a room with a ballpark view and paid extra to get that. When we checked in, we got a room with only partial view. What a dissapointment. The service was also impersonal. We were supposed to get free breakfast with the room, but no one gave us the tickets for it. We had to ask for them afterwards. One of the reasons I booked this hotel was to get a pool and sauna. The pool was on the cold side, the sauna was out of order, and their hot tub had barely luke warm water. The gym was nice -- had a great view of Camden Yards and lots of eqipment. They also have a nice little terrace next to the gym with the park view. Those were probably the best features. But other than that, underwhelming for the money. Next time, we'll stay at a smaller hotel where the service is a bit more personal

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ojensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Baltimore on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for the areas in which we have opportunity for improvement, specifically the miscommunication in not receiving your breakfast vouchers upon check in, our sauna out of order and the partial view of Oriole Park.

Our pool is set at 80 degrees and our jacuzzi is set at 105 degrees. We will continue to monitor and solicit guest feedback on these temperatures. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, our sauna was out of order during the weekend you stayed with us and has since been repaired.

Our internet pricing is comparable to local area full service hotels and consistent with Hilton branded full service hotels. Hilton Worldwide is currently working on rolling out a program in which all HHonors Gold and Diamond status members will receive complimentary internet access while staying at Hilton branded full service hotels. We encourage you to become a HHonors member so you may enjoy the many travel benefits that come with being a member, including complimentary internet at the Gold and Diamond status levels.

Thank you again for your feedback and do hope you try us again on future visits to Baltimore.

Regards,

Hilton Baltimore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Hotel was in a prime location. The room we stayed in was nice except for some hair that wasn't ours on the bathroom floor. Overlooking Camden yards was nice also. We stayed on the 4th floor on a saturday night and I heard some nightclub music that keep me up until 3 am so maybe the walls were a little thin. Overall me and my family were pretty happy here and would stay here again. Paying for internet service was ludacris though. I have never had to pay for internet at any hotel before.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alechia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hilton Baltimore on TripAdvisor.

While we are pleased your overall visit was a pleasant one, we apologize for areas that have opportunity for improvement. We will certainly share your feedback with our team and make neccessary improvements.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Hilton Baltimore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

We booked the Hilton through a discount site online and saved on rate. Alas, this gets you little else. Weather was hot as hell, and my back kept going out so walking wasnt in the plans.

NUMBER ONE TIP when going to Baltimore: Parking in this city will soak you. After careful research I discovered that it is MOST ECONOMICAL to park in Long term parking at BWI Airport and take the Light Rail into Baltimore which will drop you you right at Camden Yards or the Convention Center at Pratt St. The City controls all the parking so it is high everywhere. $36 per day versus $14.95 for 2 days (at PreFlight) plus $1.90 fare each way on Light Rail. Do the Math.

The Hilton overall is clean, staff is efficient: front desk and bellhops were very kind and accomodating. There was NO early check-in. Being baseball season, the hotel books up and, although we are not Orioles or baseball enthusiasts, it would have been nice to get a room with a better view then overlooking Pratt Street. Camden Yards is beautiful and the history of baseball is right there. We did have a view of the Bromo Seltzer Tower and Maryland Medical Center.

We had to check our bags and we went to The Aquarium (make a reservation!) as we got into the city around noon. Aquarium was fascinating but not incredible. If you have to wait for entrance to Aquarium, they send you over to Barnes and Noble or ESPN Zone -- more traps.

Having never been to Baltimore, we had to cross-check many of the city maps. Getting around safely is essential and thankfully, Baltimore is very accomodating now with the NEW Circulation Bus which is FREE (stops service at 9pm). And using the water taxi at $10/ day is great for getting back from distant piers aorund the harbor (by 11pm). They come every 10-20 minutes.

Don't get sucked into the Inner Harbor tourist trap for food and sites. We ate at the Tra Na Nog Irish restuarant at first but it was a big ticket for nothing special. They couldn't even wow-up Fish and Chips or a basic Reuben sandwhich. Pier 6 near the Marriott is cleaner, safer and close to Little Italy. Alas this was furthest from Hilton.

We had lunch at Bertha's in Fell's Point. This was a Rachel Ray recommendation. Yea, the mussels were good, but they should try to clean that place once in awhile -- every area was sticky with grime.

Know where you are going in this town: turning any corner and you may get assailed by vagrants. We were fore-warned about the Lexington Market. It may have once been fun, but it is surrounded by bad neighborhoods.

We did see the Basillica. Very cool if you like churches.
Little Italy is a must for the best food in town. We did Mo's Pasta and Seafood. They actually picked us up and brought us back to the hotel. Nice! Food portions were HUGE. Stuffed Salmon and Shellfish Alfredo. The upstairs dining room kind of smells and the waiters dress in street clothes but food was great.

No special amenities at hotel: the beds are snuggly but too soft; the LED TV has a remote "no signal" problem, but if you just channel up, you can fix that. Coffee machine is a joke and turns off before making a full cup of coffee which tastes like the bleached pod paper. Granite counter in bathroom -- big deal. A jacuzzi tub would have been nice, but we got one of the cheap rooms, seemed like a mile walk from the elevator.

We were going to try out Diamonds Tavern for dinner one night, but VP Biden was in town -- there was secret service and cops everywhere plus some VIP event in the banquet hall, thus they closed the crosswalk from within the hotel and blocked the street outside the hotel. Couldnt easily access the place. Game attendees had to walk entirely around the hotel to get to the yards. So we went elsewhere. Besides we heard it was pricey and more foo-foo than food. We ended up splurging at Della Notte, a very upscale Tuscan restuarant. IT was costly, but the service and the food was memorable with great portions.

Forget about room service at Hilton: you will pay another half the original cost in tip and fees. The gym is well-appointed except for the rinky-dink pool Not everyone does laps, some poeple like to just float or free-style swim. The gym DOES have a great view of Camden Yards.

Some other tips/ reminders about Baltimore: they rate high in food inspection statistically. Park at the airport. Study the maps. There is more than the Inner Harbor. The Hilton is a good deal but far from the action unless you love baseball.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hilton Baltimore as well as the City of Baltimore on TripAdvisor with such detail.

We are pleased to inform you of the Charm City Circulator which you may not have experienced during your visit to Baltimore. It is a complimentary, eco - friendly shuttle provided by the City of Baltimore which runs approximately every 10 minutes to the Inner Harbor and other great locations around Baltimore. We are fortunate to have a stop located right in front of the Hilton Baltimore (stop #218). Many of our guests have communicated to us how wonderful this service is in connecting them even closer to great area attractions and restaurants from our hotel.

It appears that you were not able to experience some of the many wonderful attractions Baltimore has to offer and encourage you to contact Visit Baltimore to plan your future visits. We know they will provide great recommendations in planning a wonderful visit.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Hilton Baltimore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel is about 4 blocks from the Inner Harbor, which makes for a nice walk. We took taxis quite a bit as my husband has a bad knee and it was very hot during our stay. I asked about a shuttle and was told it wasn't available. The bellman was very friendly and helpful. I was disappointed that parking was $26 a day with valet parking being $36 a day. The room was immaculate there is a great view into the ballpark from the 4 th floor. My husband was disappointed in the pool as it was very narrow and meant for lap-swimming, apparently. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet very much and it had a great variety. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and we were greeted in a nice manner by all we encountered. The only sour note was on check-out. My husband was told we owed money on the breakfast buffet which we had free vouchers for.We were told we had eaten at 2:30 in the afternoon! The desk clerk left while my husband was talking to her with no explanation and she did not come back for 15 minutes. In that time he stood there trying to find out what happened and get help from another clerk. I guess she went on break.....who knows. Our acoount was finally zeroed out by a clerk and then we left. Too bad to end the stay on such a sour note.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moodyluvah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the recent experience you had at the Hilton Baltimore on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that your overall experience was a pleasant one but do recognize we had opportunities to do better. We will certainly address those based on your feedback.

Thank you for the level of detail you provided in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Baltimore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baltimore

Property: Hilton Baltimore
Address: 401 West Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21201-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Hilton Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing