We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun day will be had by all!”
Review of The Maryland Zoo

The Maryland Zoo
Ranked #24 of 233 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors meet more than 1,500 animals including chimpanzees, elephants, leopards and warthogs as they journey on an African safari, groom goats in the Farmyard, explore the winding trails through the Lyn P. Myerhoff Maryland Wilderness and watch the polar bears swim next to you at the underwater viewing window. Plus, don't miss the new, award winning Penguin Coast exhibit featuring the most successful breeding colony of endangered African penguins in North America.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fun day will be had by all!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

There were so many exhibits! It was wonderful. It has improved greatly in the last ten years. I'm glad I went.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    194
    96
    39
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Good Way to Spend a Morning”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a small zoo but very nice. The volunteers are very knowledgable and helpful. The paths are smooth and easily navigated if you walk or are pushing a stroller. The Children's Zoo is very interactive with the kids and allows them to get up close and personal with the animals. There is a narrated train ride which is short but fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillAllntownPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Decent but not amazing”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our first time at the Maryland Zoo. A good chunk of the park is cordoned off for construction of a new penguin exhibit, which should be great once it opens up (and probably raise my rating to Very Good). Do not bother with the Children's Museum - very few animals through much of the walk, except for average farm animals at the very end (you can probably access this from the exit side of the area). The giraffes, rhinos, ostriches, zebras, and elephants were great (one elephant playing in the water hole with a big red ball).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elitefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, but not TOTALLY disappointing”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

It was a hot day. A lot of animal exhibits/habitats being moved. What I realized was a good portion of the animals were nocturnal, so I didn't get to see quite a few of them. Food was overpriced. The exhibits we were able to see and walk through were interesting, no doubt. Overall, I wasn't "wowed" by much. I expected a bit more...but what they DID have was interesting!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bradymatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Shady nature walk”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice medium sized zoo with lots of shady walking trails. Tram available to get to main animal area. Lots of helpful staff. Animals looked well taken care of. Cute penguin exhibit and HUGE new penguin exhibit under construction, due in 2015. Good zoo for tots and small kids, lots of activities. (Maybe not the best zoo for pre-teens and teens.) I enjoyed our three hour visit very much. Entrance fees are high and there is an extra charge for the train and the carousel... but it's a zoo- they need the money... I consider it a donation...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank THELUCKYCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maryland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Maryland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing