We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maryland Zoo

The Maryland Zoo
Ranked #21 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors meet more than 1,500 animals including chimpanzees, elephants, leopards and warthogs as they journey on an African safari, groom goats in the Farmyard, explore the winding trails through the Lyn P. Myerhoff Maryland Wilderness and watch the polar bears swim next to you at the underwater viewing window. Plus, don't miss the new, award winning Penguin Coast exhibit featuring the most successful breeding colony of endangered African penguins in North America.
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was slightly suspect about the Baltimore zoo. I grew up near DC and have been many times to the National zoo and always enjoyed it. We read the reviews on tripadvisor and decided to go for my daughter's first birthday. We LOVED it! What a great zoo :) It was small enough to be ultra manageable for small kids, but designed so that you are very close to the animals and we saw every animal except the lions. The park was clean. The staff was happy, friendly, and helpful. There are places to buy food, drinks, and snacks. There are facilities if you bring your own food. There was a pretty little playground for young kids to play on. It does cost around $18 per adult, but you can buy season passes and check with your work for discounts. We will be back! Do not hesitate to go to this zoo, we felt very safe and had a great experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    181
    93
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington Twp, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Zoo was very clean and the animals looked well taken care of. The staff was able to answer ever question about the animals. Take the tram into the zoo if you have kids and strollers!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenJenC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment for us and the animals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This zoo has seen better days. The grounds are unkempt, worn out and tired looking and the majority of the animal displays are like that also! However, there were a couple of animal visits that were manned by very enthusiastic and knowledgeable workers. Just beware that if you purchase refreshments at the snack counters and use cash, you will not get a receipt as the employees we encountered rang up a $0.00 transaction and pocketed the cash in their tip jar.

PS: The bathrooms are some of the nastiest I have seen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MiltonMan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timm B, Manager at The Maryland Zoo, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review MiltonMan007. We appreciate your support of our non-profit Zoo with your visit. We're sorry to hear your experience left you feeling less than enthusiastic about the wildlife and facilities here at the Zoo. We trust that you'll continue to show support to other AZA accredited facilities of your choosing. Housing a living collection of diverse and threatened animal species is a role we take seriously and a privilege that every staff member feels passionately about. Thanks again for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The zoo is perfect for younger children . Not as expansive as the National Zoo, so they will be more in tune with the animals. Free parking and less crowded , our grandson had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite place to go with the kids. This is our "go to" outing location. I haven't been to many zoo's but what I immediately liked about the Baltimore Zoo is that the animals are so close, you can actually see them and feel like you can reach out to them. So, my suggestions are, if you want to make it a whole day trip, you can see the entire zoo and enjoy it. If you only have half day, the zoo opens at 10am, then go to the African Safari where the rhinos, zebras, ostriches, leopards, cheetas, giraffes, elephants, penguins, monkeys and chimps and others are housed. Just a note, those chimps are mishevious and like to scare the kids sometimes, especially around feeding time. they'll walk or swin by and then bang on the glass. Many kids laugh but the sensitive ones tend to cry. You can bring a picnic and sit on benches or if its crowded or you just feel like it, pick any of the grassy spots and enjoy lunch. There are bathroom well placed throughout the zoo for your convenience.

If you're doing the whole day adventure, after the African Safari, go to the Bog which is cool in a different way. There's a bit more spacing, you get to see different types of ducks in a natural type habitat, the kids can jump on man made Lilly pads like frogs- it's fun, you can do it too. After you make the fist rounds, don't head back out the way you came, there's more, like otters, red fixes, snakes in a dark cave enclosed in glass displays and in the same cave, steps up a ladder that leads to a huge tree slide which the children will enjoy. Good luck prying them away from that. If the cave is too scary, you can walk around and get to the slide form the other side. Did I mention the rope bridge on the way to the slide?! Awesome! Then you get to the farm animals pigs, chickens, cows and you get to brush the goats- fun! There are fun rides like a red train that takes you through the back side of the zoo by the African Safari, merry to round and other fun things you get to pay for additionally. It really is a blast! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GiselleAlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maryland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Maryland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing