We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good visit”
Review of The Maryland Zoo

The Maryland Zoo
Ranked #21 of 229 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors meet more than 1,500 animals including chimpanzees, elephants, leopards and warthogs as they journey on an African safari, groom goats in the Farmyard, explore the winding trails through the Lyn P. Myerhoff Maryland Wilderness and watch the polar bears swim next to you at the underwater viewing window. Plus, don't miss the new, award winning Penguin Coast exhibit featuring the most successful breeding colony of endangered African penguins in North America.
Maryland!
Level Contributor
209 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A good visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went on the last day of "after hours with the animals" for 50% off-- we felt like we had the zoo to ourselves, which was awesome, but it also highlighted a bit of the downtrodden aspects of this zoo. They are undergoing renovations and redesign, so that may have played a big role. But I found some part of the current layout a bit depressing. Nevertheless, the animals were all out and fun to watch, and seemed well taken care of. Both the lion and the jaguar seemed to be having GI issues when we were there, so we got to hear lots of roaring. Good and bad. It was late afternoon so apparently the giraffes weren't interested in eating, hence the feeding option wasn't there.

Overall, a nice visit, but definitely looking forward to whatever improvements they plan on making! For now, I will likely just go to the national zoo and make the trek. Wasn't impressed enough to get a membership.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marylandmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    187
    96
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great Zoo in Baltimore”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Maryland Zoo is just 10 minutes from downtown's Inner Harbor, located in Druid Hill Park. As you twist around roads to get there, all you see are trees and you wonder how there could be a zoo tucked back there -- well, there is and it feels like you're somewhere deep in the wooded hill country instead of smack in the middle of a big city. I think that's pretty cool!

Even though it was a cloudy, rainy-looking day, the grassy parking lot seemed to be filling up as we arrived at the zoo around 11 am (on a Saturday the last weekend in August). Even so, we didn't feel like the zoo was crowded at all. Admission prices were $16.50 for adults and $11.50 for children ages 2-11 yrs. I thought the prices were steep, but it didn't cost us a penny since we have an annual pass that covers over 150 zoos all over the country (check out www.ncacquariums.com and click on "membership" to purchase an annual Family pass for $60).

There is a free Tram not far from the entrance that you can ride to get closer to the animals. We didn't notice the Tram when we came in, so we walked the considerable distance around through the woods to get to the animal exhibits. Even though it was about a half-mile walk, it was a wide street-type path that went through tall trees with ravines and hills. We honestly felt like we were in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Most of the path was on level elevation.

Once we arrived where the animals reside, we went through the kids area, which is quite large and has some really neat animals in there, including a dark cave and a swinging bridge and a cool slide. There were giraffes, several elephants, two rhinos, a number of zebras, some great monkeys that were quite active, and lots of random animals as well. There is a large penguin area with about two dozen cute, little penguins. We got to see them being fed the fish and heard an interesting talk about them.

There are a couple of polar bears in a large, interesting area and my but they are bit. The tiger and cheetah moved around, but the female lion we saw was being lazy. She was close to the window, however, and we saw some nice movement from her. The prairie dogs were adorable and we watched them enjoying a hearty snack outside their holes.

The zoo is compact enough that you don't kill yourself getting around, but it is large enough that there is really a lot to see. It is also on fairly level ground with only an occasional bit of elevation. There are nice plantings around as well to make it attractive. There are bathrooms near the entrance and also near the Farm exhibit about mid-way through the park.

We really enjoyed the zoo in Baltimore and spent exactly two hours there (without children). We could have spent longer, but kind of breezed through a few of the areas - like the farm animals and parts of the kid's exhibits. If you wish to be more thorough and see everything without rushing, you could easily spend three hours there. For us, the two hours was perfect. It's a great zoo!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyfulWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I love zoo's and was not disapointed with this one. Loved the penguins and snow owl. Even though it was winter and all animals couldn't come out loved the ones I saw.

Helpful?
Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“B'more's Best Secret”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

What a wonderful zoo! I love the children's zoo - do not miss taking your kids through this section! It is an interactive zoo with slides and tunnels. The staff are great and the food was really impressive for zoo food. We cannot wait to go back! Hopefully they can one day reopen the front section, which is why you ride a tram to the middle. The front section has the old Victorian cages, which they had filled with dirt and trees and had small animals in, but the next section was a wicked bad hill. They have bypassed all that with the tram, but this is just a great place. You would never know you are in the middle of the city. whatever you do - don't miss the tree slide!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun at the Zoo”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We went to the zoo with my 16 year old daughter. The zoo is not overly big (we are used to the Bronx Zoo). What I liked was that the zoo is sort of built in a circle, so that you get to see almost everything. As a handicapped person, I appreciated the free tram that brought my family close to the exhibits. I really enjoyed my visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rotnkid_1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maryland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Maryland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing