We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we got in free”
Review of The Maryland Zoo

The Maryland Zoo
Ranked #22 of 230 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors meet more than 1,500 animals including chimpanzees, elephants, leopards and warthogs as they journey on an African safari, groom goats in the Farmyard, explore the winding trails through the Lyn P. Myerhoff Maryland Wilderness and watch the polar bears swim next to you at the underwater viewing window. Plus, don't miss the new, award winning Penguin Coast exhibit featuring the most successful breeding colony of endangered African penguins in North America.
Wooster, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Glad we got in free”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I am a member at the Cleveland zoo and while on a trip to Maryland we decided to go to the zoo because it would be free. Big mistake. I don't know if it was just the time of day, time of year, or some other unexplained reason but most of the animals were off exhibit, sleeping, or hidden amongst overgrown foliage. We have been to many zoos over the years and I sadly have to name this the worst.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    189
    96
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Outstanding experience for young children and parents, grandparents, guardians together.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

There is quite a bit of walking involved, so would recommend strollers for young children, but give them the opportunity to get out and walk around as they experience this exciting natural habitat for unique animals.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LindaB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the time, but wear comfortable shoes!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Spent a few hours at The Maryland Zoo over Labor Day weekend. Thank you to previous advisors who mentioned taking the Tram. For a smaller zoo, it does entail a large amount of walking on some circuitous paths which are not always well marked. Even after Hurricane Irene, the grounds were well maintained. The animals are in modern surrounding with the exception of the giraffe house. There is a well thought out Maryland area featuring local species, an African area, a polar bear area and a Children's Farm. Our six year old was very happy and we would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank TMEmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“One of my favorite places!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Maryland Zoo has always been one of my favorite places. However, it's clear from the differences in the reviews that this zoo is not for everyone. I love the history and old mature trees and the "rundown" look some people refer to only adds to the character of the zoo. It's a good size for a day trip and they have a nice variety of animals. The African section has more of the big exotic animals. The children's zoo has smaller animals but is also more interactive. If your looking for modernization, rides, bells and whistles then go to an amusement park!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We took our children to the zoo, they are 6 and 2. Our 2 year old enjoyed herself, but she's easy! The exhibits are so far apart, it's really a hike getting around this place. The rides are a good idea, but our 6 year old felt he was too big to ride them. Not really worth the trip, Philly Zoo is much better.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 1blessedmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maryland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Maryland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing