We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss”

Baltimore Museum of Art
Ranked #6 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Founded in 1914 with a single painting, the BMA today has 90,000 works of art-including the largest holding of works by Henri Matisse in the world.* The museum is currently undergoing an unprecedented $28 million renovation to provide visitors with a more welcoming environment and more imaginative and inspiring encounters with art. The BMA is remaining open throughout the multi-year project so that visitors can enjoy its outstanding selection of European and American painting and sculpture from the 17th through 20th centuries and the newly reinstalled Contemporary Wing with 14 galleries showcasing the art of our time. Two beautifully landscaped gardens display an array of 20th-century sculpture that is an oasis in the city. The museum's 100th anniversary will be celebrated in November 2014 with the reopening of the grand historic entrance designed by John Russell Pope and a beautiful new presentation of the museum's distinguished collection of American art. Subsequent reopenings include expanded galleries for the African and Asian art collections and a new learning and creativity center that will open in 2015. Since 2006, the BMA has eliminated general admission fees so that everyone can enjoy the power of art. * Many of the BMA's works by Matisse are part of a special exhibition traveling to museums in Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and San Antonio in 2013 and 2014. If you are visiting to see a specific artwork, please call the BMA Box Office to make sure it will be on view.
Ossining
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wasn't going to stop there since some of the collection is on loan while they renovate the building, but glad I did. There is a free bus service that stops a half block away and the museum itself is also free - but I wouldn't have minded if they had charged the $20 something fee I pay at most NYC museums because they had some great pieces and small number of people viewing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank H U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    162
    25
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

A beautiful museum with a restaurant on site with outdoor seating overlooking the sculpture garden. The museum has a great variety of art works from around the world plus a new modern art wing. It is within a block or two of Johns Hopkins University with many restaurants, bars, and small shops,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAMACITA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We came from DC only for this museum - and it was worthy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went to this museum mostly because our son told us about many Matisses. Only a few were exposed; looking at the catalogue, my impression is - for Matisse, go to Moscow! Pushkin Museum's collection is far better.
But the Baltimore museum surprised us because, besides some Matisses exposed, it has also a lot of good art.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrPSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Diverse and interesting collections”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Both my daughter and I really enjoyed the galleries. Much renovation was in progress but we saw enough for one trip and look forward to a return summer trip when the gardens are in bloom and reno's completed. Lunch next door at Gertrude's too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great museum with lots to see! Unfortunately parts of the museum were under renovation when I was there but there was still lots to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing