We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“activities”

Baltimore Museum of Art
Ranked #6 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Founded in 1914 with a single painting, the BMA today has 90,000 works of art-including the largest holding of works by Henri Matisse in the world.* The museum is currently undergoing an unprecedented $28 million renovation to provide visitors with a more welcoming environment and more imaginative and inspiring encounters with art. The BMA is remaining open throughout the multi-year project so that visitors can enjoy its outstanding selection of European and American painting and sculpture from the 17th through 20th centuries and the newly reinstalled Contemporary Wing with 14 galleries showcasing the art of our time. Two beautifully landscaped gardens display an array of 20th-century sculpture that is an oasis in the city. The museum's 100th anniversary will be celebrated in November 2014 with the reopening of the grand historic entrance designed by John Russell Pope and a beautiful new presentation of the museum's distinguished collection of American art. Subsequent reopenings include expanded galleries for the African and Asian art collections and a new learning and creativity center that will open in 2015. Since 2006, the BMA has eliminated general admission fees so that everyone can enjoy the power of art. * Many of the BMA's works by Matisse are part of a special exhibition traveling to museums in Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and San Antonio in 2013 and 2014. If you are visiting to see a specific artwork, please call the BMA Box Office to make sure it will be on view.
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“activities”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Like the rare pieces of art.
It was a little further than I estimated. Travel against traffic so you don't get caught up in traffic

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deedee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    162
    25
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mars Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a museum with a welcoming atmosphere -friendly staff and volunteers. Even though some areas are closed for remodeling, we spent 4 hours in the galleries which were open. Loved the Matisse sections. The section featuring the Cone sisters who were patrons of Matisse was fascinating. And we loved that the museum had a number of "old masters" as well as more contemporary pieces. Even though some of the modern "art" is not my cup of tea, I found those areas interesting and in some cases eye opening. We had planned to visit a couple of more museums but spent so much time at the BMA that no time was left. We will return to this museum when visiting Baltimore.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank msburddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Cone collection”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Definitely worth visiting the museum and to see the Cone collection which includes paintings of Monet and Matisse that cannot be seen elsewhere in the world. They have very creative children's programs on Sundays also.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Collection”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great little museum on the backside of Johns Hopkins campus. I used to have a membership and go often. Harder now as a new mom. Plus they have a cute little cafe inside with GREAT food.

Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WHAT AN AWESOME EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I took my son here just two weeks ago and we loved every bit of the museum... very kid friendly, and lots of things to look and talk about, the only downfall was their security of older staff memeber a gentlemen was pretty rude in trying to push us out an hr early before it closed... I wont let his bad attitude though stop me from rating this a great place.. I say get rid of the older guy and keep it the way it is... perfect treasure in baltimore

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mzr6mo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing