We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got "egged!"”

Baltimore Museum of Art
Ranked #7 of 244 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Founded in 1914 with a single painting, the BMA today has 90,000 works of art-including the largest holding of works by Henri Matisse in the world.* The museum is currently undergoing an unprecedented $28 million renovation to provide visitors with a more welcoming environment and more imaginative and inspiring encounters with art. The BMA is remaining open throughout the multi-year project so that visitors can enjoy its outstanding selection of European and American painting and sculpture from the 17th through 20th centuries and the newly reinstalled Contemporary Wing with 14 galleries showcasing the art of our time. Two beautifully landscaped gardens display an array of 20th-century sculpture that is an oasis in the city. The museum's 100th anniversary will be celebrated in November 2014 with the reopening of the grand historic entrance designed by John Russell Pope and a beautiful new presentation of the museum's distinguished collection of American art. Subsequent reopenings include expanded galleries for the African and Asian art collections and a new learning and creativity center that will open in 2015. Since 2006, the BMA has eliminated general admission fees so that everyone can enjoy the power of art. * Many of the BMA's works by Matisse are part of a special exhibition traveling to museums in Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and San Antonio in 2013 and 2014. If you are visiting to see a specific artwork, please call the BMA Box Office to make sure it will be on view.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were lured to this museum with the promise of seeing Fabrege eggs, but unfortunately there were only 2 spectacular ones on display. The Egyptian displays were fascinating and well displayed. A nice touch was offering multiple places for vchildren to participate by maing crafts.

Thank kyacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 597 of 698 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

You have to go because they have a great collection that will make you a smarter, better person after viewing.

Thank bmcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Do not make an extra trip to go for dinner at the Museum of Art. I chose this location because reviews said food was good and you could see sculpture while you eat. Well, was was disappoitning and there are no spot lightts in the garden at night, so you can't see anything but black. In addition, the seating is cramped so you are always part of your neighbor's conversation. We tried both the crab cake on the regular menu, as well as the special, and they were both bland. I made a 6:00pm reservation - which is not late in my book for DINNER - but apparently it is for planning purposes, because they ran out of bread. We were given corn bread, which was another disappointment, because the hush-puppies tasted the same way. All in all the pairing of food was poor in it's selection and I was not impressed with quantity or our meals' flavor.

1  Thank pixann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a must see museum when you visit Baltimore. There is a small but nice collection of 19 century French paintings. The museum is not large and it takes less than one hour to see everything. The food in the cafe is better than average museum food.

Thank Farhad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I visited this museum on a trip to Balt. last week and it is a wonderful respite from the tourist traps in Inner Harbor. The Cone sisters exhibit is not to be missed! Also enjoyed the sculpture garden. The museum is free and not crowded. Ate lunch at Gertrudes and it was wonderful. Very upscale and not the usual cafe at most museums. It was a lovely day with world class art!

Thank frugalmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing