We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Art Experience”

Baltimore Museum of Art
Ranked #6 of 243 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Founded in 1914 with a single painting, the BMA today has 90,000 works of art-including the largest holding of works by Henri Matisse in the world.* The museum is currently undergoing an unprecedented $28 million renovation to provide visitors with a more welcoming environment and more imaginative and inspiring encounters with art. The BMA is remaining open throughout the multi-year project so that visitors can enjoy its outstanding selection of European and American painting and sculpture from the 17th through 20th centuries and the newly reinstalled Contemporary Wing with 14 galleries showcasing the art of our time. Two beautifully landscaped gardens display an array of 20th-century sculpture that is an oasis in the city. The museum's 100th anniversary will be celebrated in November 2014 with the reopening of the grand historic entrance designed by John Russell Pope and a beautiful new presentation of the museum's distinguished collection of American art. Subsequent reopenings include expanded galleries for the African and Asian art collections and a new learning and creativity center that will open in 2015. Since 2006, the BMA has eliminated general admission fees so that everyone can enjoy the power of art. * Many of the BMA's works by Matisse are part of a special exhibition traveling to museums in Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and San Antonio in 2013 and 2014. If you are visiting to see a specific artwork, please call the BMA Box Office to make sure it will be on view.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had heard about the Baltimore Art Museum because of the well known Cohn collection of impressionists mostly Matisses. The museum was a wonderful visit. On Sunday there was a children's art project starting at two which engaged the young children (lots of paste and construction paper). The miniature rooms were wonderful and the American collectoin, while not huge was excellent and well displayed. The Cohn collection and the Saidie May collection of post impressionists was wonderful. The restaurant was excellent, good service and good food (I couldnt resist another crab lump cake). It is a bit away from the tourist center, ie Mount vernon area or inner harbor but the cab was not expensive, and the front desk called a cab for us. For a bonus, we asked our driver to tour the Johns Hopkins University campus which abuts the museum (the university sold them the land for $1.

2  Thank RJKStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 632 of 688 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Baltimore Museum of Art is a great place to increase ones knowledge of the world of art! Parking in their lot, which was $6 all day, was convenient and the museum is free. This museum has a wonderful 2 acre sculpture garden adjacent to a very good white table cloth restaurant. The service was excellent and their was a live jazz performance on the Sunday we were there. The sculpture garden has Rodins and other famous sculptures.

The museum is broad based in its collection. It has one of the world’s largest Matisse painting collections (Cone Sisters collection) and many beautiful impressionists and paintings from the Renaissance period. We spent 4-5 hours here and undoubtedly will go back again! A nice bonus is that the museum is right next to Johns Hopkins University, which has a beautiful, wooded campus.

4  Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I loved strolling in the sculpture garden and often bought gifts from their gift shop while a student at Hopkins. The museum is bright and welcoming as well as free. I remember enjoying Hopkins a cappella performances held there as well.

Thank Sarahfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We went to the Andy Warhol exhibition in its waning days at the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA). Both the exhibition and the museum were excellent.

We had joined the BMA on a family membership so there were good benefits. The exhibition and the recorded tour equipment were free. We got a 10% discount at the gift shop and a $2 discount on the parking. Had we had lunch in their restaurant we would have also received a discount.

We live close to Washington and so frequent the National Gallery of Art, one of the world's finest art museums. But the BMA has the advantage of intimacy. We highly recommend a visit.

Thank WashingtonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We (grandparents, parents, and kids age 12 down to 7) had a tremendously good time in this museum for about 3 hours. My advice is to check in your coat and pick up the audio guide. This is quite a large museum. Our highlight was the bronze statue of the little ballet dancer by Degas, since we had previously watched a DVD on the artist.

The museum cafe looks very upscale and had quite a lot of people.

Overall, the size and quality of the museum plus the free admission makes it a must-see in Baltimore.

This museum allows photography without flash. I had some nice pictures of my 2nd grader listening to his audio guide and looking intently at a nightmarish painting of a figure with a bug for a nose.

2  Thank battacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing