We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for all steam buffs”

Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum
Ranked #8 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the site of the oldest railroad station in America, this museum traces the development of trains and features a huge collection of railroad memorabilia, a model railroad and an operating replica of the very first locomotive, The Tom Thumb, which was built here.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must for all steam buffs”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited here in April. Amazing amount of things to see. Historic and huge steam engines. The staff were very knowledgable and friendly. Pointed out other things to see in Baltimore as well which was appreciated.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SundreamerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    179
    35
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It could be excellent not just good”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Generally speaking we loved this place and I could wax lyrical about all the things we liked. However, could I just critic 3 aspects - all of which could be improved with very little effort (I think). 1 The train ride is a good idea and very reasonably priced but the line needs cleaning up - get some of the area cleared up - too much trash and litter around. The UK has heritage lines and they are kept spotless.
2 The gift shop is missing a trick...or 5! We came all the way from the UK to see this museum. We wanted to buy souvenirs and basically there are none - a man's T-shirt in grey or navy with a somewhat boring logo and no women's T's at all. I wish I could volunteer and sort out the buying for this little shop - there is plenty of stuff for kids but very little for the proper train enthusiast.
3 The snack bar - very limited menu and they don't actually have much of that anyway. It could extend out into the grounds and serve coffee and cakes (home-made would be good). Again just wish I could volunteer.
Finally - the staff are lovely, do a wonderful job and I would imagine many of them are volunteers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Museum and B&O”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The museum was nice but not worth it for younger kids. While they had a nice play area with blocks and toy trains, this was not worth the price of admission. The train ride was depressing. The scenery consisted of barbed wire encircled shopping areas, tagged buildings and old railroad equipment as well as a lot of litter. We went with the Easter bunny which the kids enjoyed but we saw the bunny for all of 45 seconds. Do the museum with older kids and skip the train ride.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainymomsjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good museum”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Loved the history and the amount of exhibits. Very well done. The history and progression and expanse of the museum was very good. Loved the outside train area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VickiA206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
462 reviews
289 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Excellent and historical museum”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

There's a lot to see at the B&O. I highly recommend it to families and railfans, but most people would probably have a fun afternoon here. There is an admission fee, but it's also a Smithsonian museum and they have a lot of nice stuff. The roundhouse is beautiful, and several times a year there are demonstrations of it's workings. A few of the trains are open to be explored inside and out. There are also outdoor and indoor areas to visit, and a great little miniature train exhibit that is reflective of Baltimore's downtown. They run short train rides on weekends, and while there isn't much to see, it is a fun experience. I liked this place enough to be a member.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank primerstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing