We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whether railroad buff or not . . .”

Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum
Ranked #8 of 229 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the site of the oldest railroad station in America, this museum traces the development of trains and features a huge collection of railroad memorabilia, a model railroad and an operating replica of the very first locomotive, The Tom Thumb, which was built here.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Whether railroad buff or not . . .”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

. . .you'll enjoy both the informative exhibits, the beauty of the locomotives in the roundhouse, and the fun ride down a stretch of track. A winner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blaise122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    183
    35
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting, but ...”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wonderful exhibits, etc. but getting there from Inner Harbor area can be a bit confusing and it islocated in an area off the beaten path.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A fun place at Christmas!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were able to visit this really well organized and managed museum during the holidays. It is very family friendly for all aged. Our granddaughter loves the merry go round! It is full of history but also fun!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCJim397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
951 reviews
270 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Good stop- for the architecture and the trains”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Its very hard to believe that there is a train museum so large in a city- and I think it would not have remained in a healthier city with higher real estate costs. But apparently this was the station and yards for a long time, and it was not given over to condos as in some places.
We visited on the day after Christmas and I feared the worst, kid wise. And as we went into the logjam of the front door I continued worrying. But once we got inside, the place is so large that even with model trains set up everywhere, there was never a crowded feeling.
First off we had lunch. Surprise again. I saw all the fried foods (kid foods) and wondered if a hotdog would suffice, but the counter person made me a nice fresh tuna sandwich. It was expensive of course, but surprisingly good.
Next stop was a large layout (G gauge?) in the courtyard, then a visit to the North Car shop to look at the old engines and cars. There are also some cars open to visit in the courtyard under awnings- a dining car and a permanent model railroad display.
Inside the roundhouse, which is interesting in and of itself (and was rebuilt not long ago as the roof had caved in during a snowstorm), there is a ring of engines and cars of various types. I liked one of the earliest passenger cars which was essentially a stagecoach on wheels.
We also were treated to layouts from several clubs- N and O gauge.
We stayed probably an hour and a half with lunch, and did not take the train ride.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool museum!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

great trains. Fun time. Kids will love it. The train ride could be skipped but the kids might enjoy that,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattybaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing